Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug Unity Hub 3.4.1 can't sign in

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by islamagdy111, Jan 16, 2023.

  1. islamagdy111

    islamagdy111

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Posts:
    25
    Hi there,
    I wanted to install Unity Hub on a new labtop (so neither Unity editor nor Visual Studio is installed too).
    It keeps saying "Something went wrong. Please sign in again.", and opens a blank page on the internet browser: (api.unity.com/v1/oauth2/authorize?cid=bf5079e5-c309-4796-8b75-d48163b0bc3b00af&event=nezt)

    I tryied to re-download and re-install it.
    I created a new acount.
    I searched the internet for hours.
    And no luck to make it wark normally,
    Besides I wonder if it worked, are we going to stuck again when installing Unity editor??
    Thats really annoying and should be easy to solve. we still have a lot things we should bother inside our projects and we don't even started to sign in Unity Hub.

    Please, need help from unity team as soon as possible.
    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

    jacek_unity63 and vivek_d like this.
  2. vivek_d

    vivek_d

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue here, been stuck in this for a week.
     
    GlahadTitan4real and Quwane like this.
  3. islamagdy111

    islamagdy111

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Posts:
    25
    Anyone?
    Please Help...
     
    Quwane likes this.
  4. jacek_unity63

    jacek_unity63

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Ping, facing the same issue with 3.4.1
     
    Quwane likes this.
  5. ALEXWARELLC

    ALEXWARELLC

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2022
    Posts:
    40
    This could possibly mean the API is having issues. Dont know how to solve an API issue.
     
  6. islamagdy111

    islamagdy111

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Posts:
    25
    Thank you for your effort.
     
    GlahadTitan4real likes this.
  7. islamagdy111

    islamagdy111

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Posts:
    25
    Anyone please?
    Still can't figure it out...
     
    Quwane likes this.
  8. quistinie

    quistinie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    When clicking sign in, it opens a blank chrome page and nothing happens
     
  9. CaptnCra

    CaptnCra

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2022
    Posts:
    11
    jaydenchoe likes this.
  10. LinaHTextil

    LinaHTextil

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Been having the same issue for like two weeks now. I also tried reporting it as a bug through troubleshooting but not even that works, it just says that something went wrong and to retry.
    Been all over the internet trying out the solutions I've come across, since this seems to be a common issue apparently, but none of them works for me. Been checking the infolog and it's impossible to get through or to even understand what the problem is.
    I'll be happy to try out more solutions if anyone got them!
     
  11. LeandraL

    LeandraL

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same problem. I had 3.3.0 before and logged out (for unrelated reasons) tried logging in again, but it did not work. I have deinstalled the Hub and downloaded the newest version 3.4.1 -> same problem
     
  12. jakobskygames

    jakobskygames

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2023
    Posts:
    3
    EASY SOLUTION//:

    I have found an EASY SOLUTION for the 'SIGN IN' and 'CREATE ACCOUNT' buttons not working in Unity hub versions 3.0.0 and above.

    1. First go to your search bar on your computer and search 'Default apps'. Click it.

    2. Then you'll see a list on the right hand side with around 6 default apps: Email, Maps, Music Player, Photo Viewer, Video Player and Web browser.

    3. Replace the first app (EMAIL) with any browser whether it be Chrome, Firefox, Edge,etc by left mouse clicking on the default 'Email' app and selecting the replacement browser from the alternates list presented.

    4. Once this is done you may close unity hub, then re-open unity hub and then the SIGN IN and CREATE ACCOUNT feature will work and a working website should pop up.

    I don't know why this works but it worked for me. I set Firefox as my first default (email) app and Microsoft Edge was the default app for the web browser slot. I then closed unity hub and opened it again and when i clicked sign in, it worked. it still used Edge to open up the website which I thought was odd since all I changed was the 'email' slot but if it works I don't question it. I hope this can help anyone else.
     
    mina-hill, doom0479, Jetdarc and 2 others like this.
  13. islamagdy111

    islamagdy111

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Posts:
    25

















    Sadly. I tryed this but didn't work.
    Thank you anyway.
     
  14. scr08212

    scr08212

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I solved it.
    Just re-install unityhub in default directory.
     
  15. OverTakers_Manager

    OverTakers_Manager

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    I always install it in default directory but it doesn't work
     
  16. CaptnCra

    CaptnCra

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2022
    Posts:
    11
    I had this thread linked in my last post but apparently no one was clicking it. Here are the details and how to get 3.4.0 working, albeit not the most secure way possible.

    What we have found is our corporate proxy solution is inspecting SSL traffic and Node/NPM behind the scenes is failing despite trying to set the caFile or the environment variable NODE_EXTRA_CA_CERTS pointing to our proxy certificate (the cert file is valid as I add this to java keystore for many solutions and it works)

    The work around for us has been to introduce the environment variable NODE_TLS_REJECT_UNAUTHORIZED with a value of 0 Not ideal as it disables security but it works.

    Our launcher batch follows the Unity documentation for setting proxy at user launch and has been listed in other forum posts. I have been installing unity into a root directory as I'm tired of toggling my admin creds to edit items in Program Files.

    @echo off
    set http_proxy=http://ip_or_url:port
    set https_proxy=http://ip_or_url:port
    set NODE_TLS_REJECT_UNAUTHORIZED=0
    start "" "C:\Unity\Unity Hub\Unity Hub.exe"
     
  17. shuebtcbuyanytime

    shuebtcbuyanytime

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    Do the developers of the engine care about this at all? hundreds of people on dozens of sites are complaining about this problem, they are losing customers every day, their ass is on fire that they are not fixing the problem.
     
    jaydenchoe likes this.
  18. jwarner0915

    jwarner0915

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    None of these solutions worked for me.
     
    jaydenchoe likes this.
  19. lesnombreswoods

    lesnombreswoods

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    if you want to set a browser easily download opera gx when you log in and your in home page go to the right corner a tab will show and go all the way down. This will show a message like "set opera GX as your main browser" (am french sorry if bad engish) then normally if you click on sign in with the unity hub app it will open opera gx and you will be able to log on.
     
  20. mhss1392

    mhss1392

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    I tried all solutions suggested before but none of them worked for me.
    Please help !
     
  21. firmanfirzauza

    firmanfirzauza

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    try this solution, its work for me
     
  22. mukesh_2000

    mukesh_2000

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    When I click on the "Sign In" button in Unity Hub, it opens a browser window showing a popup when i click Open Unity Hub, Unity Hub opens but I am still not logged in. The login process does not seem to be completing successfully but I successfully log in to my assets store and unity dashboard.

    Steps Taken:

    1. Verified internet connection stability.
    2. Updated Unity Hub to the latest version.
    3. Checked and ensured that both Unity Hub and Unity Editor are allowed through the Windows Defender Firewall (both "Private" and "Public" settings).
    4. Temporarily disabled Windows Defender.
    5. Ran Unity Hub as an administrator.
    6. Checked system's date and time settings.
    7. Attempted to log in using an incognito/private browsing window.
    8. Restarted the computer.
    Despite these attempts, I am still unable to log in to Unity Editor through Unity Hub.
    System Information:

    • Operating System: Windows 10
    • Unity Hub Version: [3.4.2]
    • Unity Editor Version: [2020.3.36f1]
     
  23. lemapp

    lemapp

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2020
    Posts:
    35
    My Mac shut down during a power outage this morning. The Unity Hub software doesn't connect. The opening screen appears and a revolving circle spinning endlessly. I've restarted the mac twice, re-installed the Hub twice. It still just spins. Other software is working fine. The WiFi and Ethernet are working properly. Its extremely confusing. Not sure what to0 do next.
     
  24. Xelonath

    Xelonath

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    I updated to 3.5 unity hub and it seemed to fix it
     
  25. osama2o1ooo

    osama2o1ooo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2021
    Posts:
    1
  26. bhoram

    bhoram

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    I tried all solutions suggested but nothing worked for me.
    When I click on the "Sign In" button in Unity Hub, it opens a browser window but blank.
    Unity Hub says "Something went wrong. Please sign in again."

    • Operating System: Windows 11
    • Unity Hub Version: [3.5. 2]
    • Unity Editor Version: [2021.3.22f1]
     
  27. andyvitus

    andyvitus

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having a similar problem where I can't log in to either the asset store or Unity Hub.
    • Mac OS Sonoma 14.0
    • Unity Hub Version 3.5.2
    Error message: Query parameter is invalid. Failed to get current clientId unity_hub
     
  28. judesidloski

    judesidloski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 12, 2022
    Posts:
    95
    @andyvitus There was a server issue yesterday for about an hour which caused that issue. It is resolved now.

    For everyone getting a blank screen: Yesterday we deployed hub 3.6.0-beta.1 which will now reregister the unity-hub protocol handler on app start and hopefully solve this issue in the majority of cases. Can everyone who is stuck on this try updating the hub (by switching to beta channel in preferences) and see if it resolves the issue ?

    Edit: If anyone still encounters the issue after updating the hub -- are you on firefox ? Does it work if you change your default browser to something else?
     
  29. domsse

    domsse

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi @judesidloski

    I think I am unfortunately also affected by this error. Yesterday I also downloaded the beta version of Unity Hub and tried it. But with this version I also have the problem.

    On my PC I have tried several browsers. Normal and in private mode. Also everywhere my cookies and website data deleted and also all extensions in the browser disabled but unfortunately without success.

    Currently must write here via smartphone. Here the login works fine on my smartphone. On my PC I also tried to reinstall the browsers and clear my DNS cache with ipconfig /renew And ipconfig /flushdns in cmd. In my firewall I have allowed everything for all services of Unity. PC restart has also brought nothing.

    I always get an error message in the browser:
    Chrome: This page is not working. id.unity.com has not sent any data. ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE
    Firefox: Error: Secured connection failed. The web page cannot be displayed because the authenticity of the data received could not be verified.

    I can't start any projects via Unity Hub at the moment because I'm stuck in the login and can't update/refresh my license.

    I would be happy if you have a solution for this. :(


    Edited: Something else I forgot to mention. Also, when I go to the unity.com website normally and want to log in at the top right corner, I also get the error messages mentioned.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2023
  30. judesidloski

    judesidloski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 12, 2022
    Posts:
    95
    @domsee That seems like a bit of a different issue.. It sounds to me like an issue with HTTPS. In chrome you can click on the lock button next to the refresh button and see some information about the certificate. Does it say that it is trusted?

    I'm a dev, so I'll check back here on occasion, but be sure to open a bug report for this somewhere so you can get in touch with the customer QA team who can report a bug if there is one and give you more dedicated support than I can.

    Be sure to update your browsers to latest versions
     
  31. Wrakyz

    Wrakyz

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Posts:
    12
    0- Download Unity Hub, (if you don't have the installation program)
    1- Uninstall the installed Unity Hub in your PC (the old one)
    2- Clear all your browsing history data from the default browser and temp, cache recent etc. files
    3- Go to C:\Users\YOUR ACCOUNT\AppData\Roaming ... Then delete (UnityHub) folder
    4- Restart your PC
    5- Re-install Unity Hub
    6- Open it and you will find that you are logged-in automatically

    That's all
     
  32. dansav

    dansav

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    510
    Must be something to do with my wifi router, if I switch to the wifi on my iphone and it logs right in. But if I hadn't figured this out accidently I would be stuck with no access to my assets.
     
  33. Nightshade_231

    Nightshade_231

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    It seems to be an issue in the UnityHub appdata folder.

    %appdata%\UnityHub -> clear out everything, then open Unity Hub. logs right in no problem afterwards in 3.6.0.
     
  34. feyyd

    feyyd

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Same on 3.6.1, FFS Unity just gets worse literally every second that passes.
     
  35. ghostradiogames

    ghostradiogames

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    In my case I had a couple issues.

    First, I'd installed Unity before, so when I tried to launch the new hub, existing hub data messed things up. I clicked "Sign In" and a window popped up and disappeared so quickly, I couldn't see what it was. It did this every time no matter what. Reinstalling didn't help so.

    I uninstalled any existing Unity Hub and Unity clients. Deleted existing appdata Unity and Unity Hub directories. This means appdata -> local and roaming. Then deleted regedit keys, all for unity technologies under Software for both hkey_current_user and hkey_local_machine. Then deleted any Unity or Unity Hub folders in ProgramData.

    Afterwards I installed UnityHub, clicked Sign in and the popup opened in Firefox. It asked me to open the app, I clicked it and it opened to "Something went wrong..." I went to AppData/Roaming/UnityHub/logs and opened "info-log.json" in a text editor. One error showed:
    {"timestamp":"2023-11-19T04:11:23.984Z","level":"warn","moduleName":"AutoUpdater","message":"[ 'Failed to check for updates:  Error: net::ERR_NETWORK_ACCESS_DENIED\\n


    And so I went to BitDefender, disabled the Firewall temporarily, and then tried again and it connected. There was also:
    {"timestamp":"2023-11-19T04:11:34.247Z","level":"warn","moduleName":"Authentification Service","message":"[\n  'Could not authenticate user',\n  AxiosError:


    which was a much longer line, with an errno: -4092, which I assume means it couldn't connect, which would make sense due to the above, but I didn't research that one any further.

    Hope this helps someone.
     
  36. ahumellihuk

    ahumellihuk

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue I'm facing I think - can't access My Assets in package manager, Sign In wants me to install Unity Hub, which is already installed. Unity Hub 3.6.1 Unity 2022.3.13f1 macOS 13.6.1 Intel.

    Any solutions?
     
    BigToe likes this.
  37. BigToe

    BigToe

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Same problem here.
     
  38. BigToe

    BigToe

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    I was able to resolve this by going removing the UnityHub folder from user/Library/ApplicationSupport/UnityHub.

    When I relaunched it said it had a problem with my license, but I was able to click on refresh license and things seem to work...So far.
     
  39. cf-ie

    cf-ie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    There's definitely some state issue w/ how sign-in works. I'm on Windows, Unity Hub 3.6.1. When I click on Sign-In, my browser window launches to the authorization page. Since I'm already signed into Unity, it says it will launch Unity Hub. The already opened Unity Hub does NOT respond at all.

    What seems to work for me is to fully quit the Unity Hub instance, then refresh the authorization page to force a new instance of Unity Hub to open.
     
  40. judesidloski

    judesidloski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 12, 2022
    Posts:
    95

    After signing in does it stay signed in between sessions ? When you sign in and get stuck at the browser page can you press ctrl+shift+i (or whatever command opens dev tools for your browser) and check if there is anything being logged?
     
  41. cf-ie

    cf-ie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    I do stay signed in between sessions. I attempted to repro the issue to try to grab logs, but of course, it's now working as expected.

    Today isn't the first time that the issue happened to me, so it's not an isolated event. I believe it happened just a couple days ago and I was on the same version of Unity Hub (3.6.1).

    If it happens again, I'll grab my browser logs.
     
    judesidloski likes this.
  42. kirkgamesllc

    kirkgamesllc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2023
    Posts:
    30
    I'm having this same problem with a new install of Unity Hub on my windows 10 machine.

    My web login is working, but Unity HUB continues to say Sign In, and won't let me proceed...
    If I go to unity3d.com I'm signed in to my unity account in the browser.

    Relaunching Unity HUB and clicking Sign In button with account already signed does same thing, tries to refer me to a url...
     
  43. judesidloski

    judesidloski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 12, 2022
    Posts:
    95
    @kirkgamesllc

    When you sign in and get stuck at the browser page can you press ctrl+shift+i (or whatever command opens dev tools for your browser) and check if there is anything being logged?

    Is the browser page you are stuck on the one with the unity hub logo ? "Launching Unity Hub..."
     
  44. kirkgamesllc

    kirkgamesllc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2023
    Posts:
    30
    @judesidloski
    yes, it's that page.

    Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 403 ()
    authorize:1 Launched external handler for 'unityhub://login/?code=nDzzkHXy3EdwRVJhRWq5Hw002f&locale=en&session_state=60714189ae5b064980737f33585c1b00b8127c93e811d6675620694b4c4f9c02.KThIW7bHO0GMg4DvV2IaPg019f'.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2023
  45. judesidloski

    judesidloski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 12, 2022
    Posts:
    95
    Okay no problem there. You can check your registry editor to see where the handler for unityhub is pointing, and check if it is pointing to where the hub is actually installed.

    Mine looks like this:
    upload_2023-12-4_9-30-30.png

    Notice the path at the top `Computer\HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\unityhub\shell\open\command`
     
  46. kirkgamesllc

    kirkgamesllc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2023
    Posts:
    30
    I did, it is there.
     
  47. kirkgamesllc

    kirkgamesllc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2023
    Posts:
    30
  48. kirkgamesllc

    kirkgamesllc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2023
    Posts:
    30
    I think the problem may have to do with this being a BootCamp partition on a MacBook Pro that had/has Parallels installed. I think it's confused with the Mac version of Unity Hub.
    When the dialog on the sign-in webpage opens asking if it's the Web Hub (Mac). The original entry had \Unity Hub (Mac).exe and I changed it to Unity Hub.exe

    Either way I don't know how to fix this
     
  49. kirkgamesllc

    kirkgamesllc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2023
    Posts:
    30
  50. kirkgamesllc

    kirkgamesllc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2023
    Posts:
    30