Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We are updating our Terms of Service for all Unity subscription plans, effective October 13, 2022, to create a more streamlined, user-friendly set of terms. Please review them here: unity.com/legal/terms-of-service.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Unity Hub 3.0 fails to open

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Michael-Ryan, Jan 14, 2022.

  1. Michael-Ryan

    Michael-Ryan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    184
    I recently installed Unity Hub 3.0, and have been unable to launch the application ever since.

    The application immediately crashes, and an error prompt appears:

    2022-01-14 12꞉17꞉15 Unity_Hub.png

    The above three options appear to do nothing. The panel simply closes. "Restart" doesn't restart the application and "Quit" doesn't appear to close any of the Hub-related processes in Task Manager.

    After receiving the error prompt, later attempts open the app just show a black empty window:

    2022-01-14 12꞉17꞉49 Unity_Hub.png

    Killing the Hub process in Task Manager and running the application will again present the error prompt shown above.

    The following errors are near the bottom of the
    info-log.json
    :

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. {"level":"error","message":"[\n  'Failed to start Unity Hub, reason: Error: no parsers registered for: \"]\\\\Lun\"'\n]","moduleName":"App","timestamp":"2022-01-14T21:05:48.468Z"}
    2. {"level":"error","message":"[\n  'Error: no parsers registered for: \"]\\\\Lun\"\\n' +\n    '    at parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\snapdragon\\\\lib\\\\parser.js:473:15)\\n' +\n    '    at Parser.parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\snapdragon\\\\lib\\\\parser.js:477:24)\\n' +\n    '    at Snapdragon.parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\snapdragon\\\\index.js:122:28)\\n' +\n    '    at Snapdragon.<anonymous> (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\lib\\\\braces.js:40:45)\\n' +\n    '    at Braces.parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\lib\\\\braces.js:66:26)\\n' +\n    '    at Braces.expand (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\lib\\\\braces.js:87:18)\\n' +\n    '    at create (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:142:15)\\n' +\n    '    at memoize (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:298:13)\\n' +\n    '    at Function.braces.create (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:165:10)\\n' +\n    '    at Function.braces.expand (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:81:17)'\n]","moduleName":"App","timestamp":"2022-01-14T21:05:48.469Z"}
    3. {"level":"error","message":"[\n  'no parsers registered for: \"]\\\\Lun\"\\n' +\n    'Error: no parsers registered for: \"]\\\\Lun\"\\n' +\n    '    at parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\snapdragon\\\\lib\\\\parser.js:473:15)\\n' +\n    '    at Parser.parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\snapdragon\\\\lib\\\\parser.js:477:24)\\n' +\n    '    at Snapdragon.parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\snapdragon\\\\index.js:122:28)\\n' +\n    '    at Snapdragon.<anonymous> (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\lib\\\\braces.js:40:45)\\n' +\n    '    at Braces.parse (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\lib\\\\braces.js:66:26)\\n' +\n    '    at Braces.expand (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\lib\\\\braces.js:87:18)\\n' +\n    '    at create (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:142:15)\\n' +\n    '    at memoize (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:298:13)\\n' +\n    '    at Function.braces.create (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:165:10)\\n' +\n    '    at Function.braces.expand (C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Unity Hub\\\\resources\\\\app.asar\\\\node_modules\\\\braces\\\\index.js:81:17)'\n]","moduleName":"ErrorBox","timestamp":"2022-01-14T21:05:48.469Z"}
    I'll send the full log file, if that will help.

    I've uninstalled and reinstalled Unity Hub multiple times in an attempt to fix this issue.

    I renamed the
    %APPDATA%\UnityHub
    folder between installs, so that it would create a clean install, but that didn't help. The same error prompt appears when first run and the black window on each consecutive run.
     
  2. eduard1

    eduard1

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    Hi! i have the same problem in my unity Hub. I followed this tutorial:
    and it says that you have to uninstall your current version of visual studio and instal the 2015 version. Although it didn't work for me, it maybe work for you coz i read in the comments that it actually works. I have now your same issue that as Unity Hub open it don't shows nothing.
     
  3. JacquesJ

    JacquesJ

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    I am having the exact same issue as @Michael-Ryan. I am using Windows 10 on a new machine.

    I've tried multiple uninstalls, restarts, reinstalls, deleted all the data related to Unity in AppData/Roaming and I am still getting the same error each time. Currently unable to work on anything as there is no way to revert back to version 2.4.5 of the Unity Hub...
     
  4. Michael-Ryan

    Michael-Ryan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    184
    I gave up on 3.0.0 and downloaded the previous version (2.4.5) and installed that. Everything is working again.

    I grabbed copies from Wayback Machine, which took snapshots of those files a few times since release.

    Unity Hub Setup 2.4.5 for Windows (from a 2021-11-05 snapshot):

    Unity Hub Setup 2.4.5 for Mac (from a 2021-11-07 snapshot):

    Visiting the page directly in my Windows web browsers failed to download the file. I'm not sure why. However, using
    wget
    in WSL (Windows Subsystem for Linux) the files downloaded fine.

    Also, the 2.4.5 copy that @SammmZ posted in another thread was a binary match to the version I downloaded, so if you're looking for a copy for Windows, that should work for you. https://forum.unity.com/threads/old-version-of-unity-hub.620128/#post-7810056

    Normally, I wouldn't install files hosted by strangers in Dropbox and Google Drive, but it did seem okay given that it was a binary match.
     
  5. JacquesJ

    JacquesJ

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Thank you @Michael-Ryan for the links, I'm back up and running with the 2.4.5 version.
     
    Michael-Ryan likes this.
  6. silvio_HARDlight

    silvio_HARDlight

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Same here, I might downgrade then, my colleagues had no trouble though.
     
  7. silvio_HARDlight

    silvio_HARDlight

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    3.0.1 is out today and it fixed the issue for me.
     
    Michael-Ryan likes this.
  8. Monkeylust

    Monkeylust

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    similar problem
     
  9. Monkeylust

    Monkeylust

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Man thanks
     
    Michael-Ryan likes this.
  10. pahe

    pahe

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    529
    Interesting. I've run 3.0.0 without any problems and was "forced" to update to 3.0.1 (is there any way to deactivate auto update in the hub?) and now the hub is broken for me.
     
  11. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    7,844
    not tested but there is config file in
    C:\Users\USERNAMEHERE\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub
    hubConfig.json

    that has: "hubDisableAutoUpdate":false
     
  12. TheGamery

    TheGamery

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    87
    Just got the update today and now broken, thanks Unity... you'd think they'd test stuff before hand...
     
  13. vbjack72

    vbjack72

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you so much, this seems to have fixed the issues for me with Hub 3.0 and Win 11
     
  14. rasterX

    rasterX

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I was getting a similar error in info-log.json

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. {..."App","message":"[\n  'Failed to start Unity Hub, reason: Error: no parsers registered for: \"]\\\\Clo\"'\n]"}
    2. {..."App","message":"[\n  'Error: no parsers registered for: \"]\\\\Clo\"\\n' +\n    '    at parse... }
    3. {..."ErrorBox","message":"[\n  'no parsers registered for: \"]\\\\Clo\"\\n' +\n    'Error: no parsers registered ...}
    My project began with the word "Cloud", so it looked like a path problem. After much trial and error, I found that Hub 3.x cannot handle Project paths that have square brackets.

    Something like this would always crash:
    D:\Projects\New Unity Project [1]
    D:\Projects\New Unity Project [a]
    D:\Projects [A]\New Unity Project


    Yet these are okay:
    D:\Projects\New Unity Project []
    D:\Projects\New Unity Project [aa]
    D:\Projects [ABC]\New Unity Project


    I tried other escaped characters that are legal in Windows filenames, .^$+(){}, and they seem to be fine. There may be other non-Basic Latin characters that cause the same problem however.

    I had many projects that had square brackets, so I thought deleting "%username%\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub" would clear out the Hub's Project list. No luck, it appears Hub stores the Project paths as values in the registry key:

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Unity Technologies\Unity Editor 5.x\RecentlyUsedProjectPaths-0_h1234567890
    (where 1234567890 is a ten-digit incrementing number)

    So this is what I think is happening. On startup, Hub validates paths stored in the RecentlyUsedProjectPaths* keys. If the path does not exist, it won't show in the Projects list, nor will it delete it from the registry. If any path contains a "bad" string, in my case "[L]", and the path exists, Hub will crash with the Critical Error dialog.

    What I did was
    1. rename Project folder names (and parent path if needed).
    2. edit the registry RecentlyUsedProjectPaths* keys to match the new paths

    Note - If you don't care about the existing Project list in Hub, you could just delete all the RecentlyUsedProjectPaths* keys

    If you have MANY projects in Hub and you don't want to manually re-add them, you could make a registry script in this format:

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    2.  
    3. [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Unity Technologies\Unity Editor 5.x]
    4. "RecentlyUsedProjectPaths-0_h1085040554"=hex:44,3A,5C,50,72,6F,6A,65,63,74,73,5C,4E,65,77,20,55,6E,69,74,79,20,50,72,6F,6A,65,63,74,20,28,31,29,00
    The above would define the first project as:
    D:\Projects\New Unity Project (1)
    Note - don't forget the terminating 00.

    This page is useful for converting text to comma-delimited ascii hex
    https://www.rapidtables.com/convert/number/ascii-to-hex.html

    Summary
    Unity Hub 3.x does not like the string "[c]", where "c" is any character, in a Project path.

    Environment
    OS: Windows 10.0.19043.1526
    Unity Hub: 3.1.0-beta.1
    Unity Editor: 2021.2.10f1
     
  15. kyubuns

    kyubuns

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    88
    I am using windows 10 and after updating to 3.1.0-beta.2 I encountered the same problem and could not start Unity Hub.
    I downgraded to Unity Hub 3.0.1 and it started fine.
     
  16. Michael-Ryan

    Michael-Ryan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    184
    This brackets issue is quite likely the cause of the crashes I was seeing, because brackets are being used in many project folder names. Hopefully Unity fixes this issue.
     
  17. HashBakshish

    HashBakshish

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks a lot. This fixed the issue for me
     
  18. k-latte

    k-latte

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    OMG thank you! Never would have thought that adding [M] to a project would do this, especially when [Mobile] was perfectly fine.

    BTW on mac I just renamed the project folder and it's working, although I also regenerated the project files for good measure.
     
  19. Michael-Ryan

    Michael-Ryan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    184
    Until today, I was still running Unity Hub 2.4.5 on Windows, however having just installed 3.2.0, I can confirm the crash I previously reported seems to have been fixed.

    Earlier this morning, I noticed that the 3.2.0 release notes mention a fix that seems related:

    While the text of the bug fix appears to focus on project creation, in my case, I already had existing project paths that ended with "[x]", and I believe those paths were the cause of the crash I originally reported.

    So far 3.2.0 seems to be running well for me. My thanks to everyone who shared their experiences and helped track down the cause of the issue.
     
  20. henriqueweed

    henriqueweed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks @Michael-Ryan i spend all day on this :T and only this version 2.4.5 worked for me. god bless you man
     
unityunity