Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Hub 2.2.1 - Unity will not launch

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Plumpman, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. Plumpman

    Plumpman

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    My Unity Hub just updated to 2.2.1, and now none of my projects will launch.
    Unity pops up for a second, then the Unity Hub pops up again, no messages or errors.

    When the Unity Hub 2.2.1 first updated, it asked me to renew my license for some reason also.
     
    Rickman-Roedavan likes this.
  2. Plumpman

    Plumpman

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    I uninstalled hub and unity, then reinstalled. Still the same error.
     
    Rickman-Roedavan likes this.
  3. Plumpman

    Plumpman

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    I attempted to return license and get new license. Same problem
    I also tried to launch Unity directly, and it pops up a window "Please install Unity Hub".

    What is happening it was working fine before!
     
    Rickman-Roedavan likes this.
  4. safaGH

    safaGH

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Posts:
    224
    Hello @Plumpman, can you log an error through the bug reporter accessible from the tray menu ? There are some recurrent errors with the new hub update on windows... we are sorry for the inconvenience :/
     
  5. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    657
    The new Hub broke a looot of things. This, people can't open it, I can't install or uninstall any version of the Editor.
     
    mdrunk and Rickman-Roedavan like this.
  6. Rickman-Roedavan

    Rickman-Roedavan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I've got the same issue here. Unity Hub 2.2.1 is disaster. Is there a way to switch back to previous version?
     
  7. rricamar

    rricamar

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Same here, after installation of 2.2.1 the hub doesn't launch :eek:
     
    Tux1965 likes this.
  8. basilo

    basilo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    I just updated to v2.2.1 and it can't connect no longer if behind a proxy.
    v2.2.0 did work OK.
    I did have problems with the Unity Package Manager, but it was working.
    Now nothing is.
     
  9. rricamar

    rricamar

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Posts:
    11
  10. basilo

    basilo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Unity Hub version: v2.2.1
    Unity versions: 2019.2.0 and 2019.2.9

    I tried installing the files suggested in the link with no luck because I already had installed the VC 2017 redistributables.
    I found the latest VC++ redistributables https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/2977003/the-latest-supported-visual-c-downloads and installed them both and still the hub doesn't connect to the server for the license and for logging in and when I try opening any project it briefly displays an error message and the refreshes the window and nothing.

    Even tried opening Unity without using the Hub and it tells me I must have an active license (I have manually activated it too) and all I can do is "Install" and "Quit Unity"

    Is there any way I could revert back to v2.2.0???


    Update: after a bit that the Hub is open an error "The server is currently unresponsive" pops up and after a bit it disappears.

    Update 2: I just deleted all the files in the AppData\Roaming and restarted the Hub. Old projects still can't be opened. If I create a new one Unity gets opened, but once I close it I can't open again!

    Update 3: I also opening directly a scene: it opened, but after that the project can't be opened from the Hub.
    I also tried deleting the license file and going at it again. Still nothing.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  11. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    657
    Unity support said in an email that they are aware of the issue and it's caused by a lot of changes in the backend. The new unity hub version landing some time this week will sort things out.
     
  12. Tux1965

    Tux1965

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Same, I will double click the icon on desktop and the cursor will spin for a bit then stop like everything is fine however, it willl not launch. Even going into the source older and trying to launch it that way will not work. If I open up Task Manager it will say I have opened it and is running the hub in the background.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  13. ashikns

    ashikns

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    Any news on this? Can we expect a fix before vacation starts?
     
  14. kkqqpp

    kkqqpp

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Why Unity always published something buggy? Where is their QA team?
    I'm so mad about this. Every time I update Unity there will be new bugs.
     
  15. AskCarol

    AskCarol

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Posts:
    239
    @ashkins
    Have you tried any of the solutions above?
    Most people resolved their Hub issue by downloading Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015.
    You can download it here.
     
  16. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    657
    I have it installed but my issues haven't gone yet.
    Support has said that they are aware of the issue and 2.3 fixes mine.
     
    AskCarol likes this.
  17. AskCarol

    AskCarol

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Posts:
    239
    Thank you for your patience! Please update to the latest Hub 2.2.2 release. This should resolve many of these issues.
     
  18. Hardev

    Hardev

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Just updated to 2.2.2. I still can't open my project from the Hub and need to bypass it by navigating to a Scene via Windows Explorer. (Thanks to @TheWarper for reminding me of this approach, after being used for so long to just use the Hub :p)

    I experienced this behaviour randomly here and there in previous versions as well, when I was just not able to click on a project to start it. Usually, this went away after a while when restarting the Hub or restarting my machine. But now, it's pretty permanent with no chance of opening a project it seems. No clicks registered.

    My Editor path in Preferences seems also empty and I can not set it. Seemingly the Save button doesn't work. Don't know if this could be related. After leaving the Preferences window, going back to the Projects window and then back to the Preferences window, the path seems lost. Don't know if it ever was like this before. Never needed to check.

    I do not have any problems with my license.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2019
  19. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    657
    2.2.2 fixed my issue with not being able to install the editor.
     
  20. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    155
    Hi @Hardev ,
    Sorry for the inconveniences, your issue is not known to us at the moment, as the behavior you descript does not match our current known issues. When you next encounter the issue, I would like to kindly ask you reporting a bug using the bug reporter under Hub's tray menu. This will helps us to understand the issue happy.
    Thanks for your patient
     
unityunity