Search Unity

Unity Hub 2.2.0 Doesn't Start (log inside)

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Moritz5thPlanet, Nov 28, 2019.

  1. Moritz5thPlanet

    Moritz5thPlanet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    73
    I just installed a squeaky clean Windows 10 Pro x64 on a new laptop machine and was setting up my dev tools.

    I have the same problem; in the log file, it says this for each launch:

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. {"level":"error","message":"Unhandled promise rejection, reason: The specified module could not be found.\r\n\\\\?\\C:\\Unity\\Hub\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar.unpacked\\node_modules\\@unityhub\\unity-editor-license\\build\\Release\\license.node\n\tstack Error: The specified module could not be found.\r\n\\\\?\\C:\\Unity\\Hub\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar.unpacked\\node_modules\\@unityhub\\unity-editor-license\\build\\Release\\license.node\n    at process.func [as dlopen] (electron/js2c/asar.js:138:31)\n    at Object.Module._extensions..node (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:881:18)\n    at Object.func [as .node] (electron/js2c/asar.js:147:18)\n    at Module.load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:701:32)\n    at tryModuleLoad (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:633:12)\n    at Function.Module._load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:625:3)\n    at Module.require (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:739:19)\n    at require (internal/modules/cjs/helpers.js:14:16)\n    at Object.<anonymous> (C:\\Unity\\Hub\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar\\node_modules\\@unityhub\\unity-editor-license\\license.js:1:15)\n    at Module._compile (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:839:30)","timestamp":"2019-11-28T17:32:16.545Z"}
    Things I tried:
    - different network connections, including no network connection
    - different Locales (my default Locale is English (Germany), but I tried German (Germany) and English (United States)
    - running as admin
    - installing as admin
    - new download
    - changing install location
    - verify system clock is properly synced and time zone correct
    - reboots
    - Windows defender exclusion, and turning it all off
    - turning windows firewall on and off

    The Hub seems to spawn 2 tasks and 1 Log Line as quoted above every time I launch it:
    - 1 Unity Hub task at ~30ish MiB of Memory
    - 1 Unity Hub task at ~10ish MiB of Memory

    No discernible CPU activity for many minutes.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2019
    TreyH likes this.
  2. Moritz5thPlanet

    Moritz5thPlanet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    73
    There seems to be a considerable disparity between this install and the previous install on a similar laptop:

    BAD install
    Code (CSharp):
    1. chrome_100_percent.pak
    2. chrome_200_percent.pak
    3. d3dcompiler_47.dll*
    4. ffmpeg.dll*
    5. icudtl.dat
    6. libEGL.dll*
    7. libGLESv2.dll*
    8. LICENSE.electron.txt
    9. LICENSES.chromium.html
    10. locales/
    11. natives_blob.bin
    12. resources/
    13. resources.pak
    14. snapshot_blob.bin
    15. swiftshader/
    16. Uninstall Unity Hub.exe*
    17. Unity Hub.exe*
    18. v8_context_snapshot.bin
    19.  
    OKAY install
    Code (CSharp):
    1. api-ms-win-core-console-l1-1-0.dll*
    2. api-ms-win-core-datetime-l1-1-0.dll*
    3. api-ms-win-core-debug-l1-1-0.dll*
    4. api-ms-win-core-errorhandling-l1-1-0.dll*
    5. api-ms-win-core-file-l1-1-0.dll*
    6. api-ms-win-core-file-l1-2-0.dll*
    7. api-ms-win-core-file-l2-1-0.dll*
    8. api-ms-win-core-handle-l1-1-0.dll*
    9. api-ms-win-core-heap-l1-1-0.dll*
    10. api-ms-win-core-interlocked-l1-1-0.dll*
    11. api-ms-win-core-libraryloader-l1-1-0.dll*
    12. api-ms-win-core-localization-l1-2-0.dll*
    13. api-ms-win-core-memory-l1-1-0.dll*
    14. api-ms-win-core-namedpipe-l1-1-0.dll*
    15. api-ms-win-core-processenvironment-l1-1-0.dll*
    16. api-ms-win-core-processthreads-l1-1-0.dll*
    17. api-ms-win-core-processthreads-l1-1-1.dll*
    18. api-ms-win-core-profile-l1-1-0.dll*
    19. api-ms-win-core-rtlsupport-l1-1-0.dll*
    20. api-ms-win-core-string-l1-1-0.dll*
    21. api-ms-win-core-synch-l1-1-0.dll*
    22. api-ms-win-core-synch-l1-2-0.dll*
    23. api-ms-win-core-sysinfo-l1-1-0.dll*
    24. api-ms-win-core-timezone-l1-1-0.dll*
    25. api-ms-win-core-util-l1-1-0.dll*
    26. api-ms-win-crt-conio-l1-1-0.dll*
    27. api-ms-win-crt-convert-l1-1-0.dll*
    28. api-ms-win-crt-environment-l1-1-0.dll*
    29. api-ms-win-crt-filesystem-l1-1-0.dll*
    30. api-ms-win-crt-heap-l1-1-0.dll*
    31. api-ms-win-crt-locale-l1-1-0.dll*
    32. api-ms-win-crt-math-l1-1-0.dll*
    33. api-ms-win-crt-multibyte-l1-1-0.dll*
    34. api-ms-win-crt-private-l1-1-0.dll*
    35. api-ms-win-crt-process-l1-1-0.dll*
    36. api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll*
    37. api-ms-win-crt-stdio-l1-1-0.dll*
    38. api-ms-win-crt-string-l1-1-0.dll*
    39. api-ms-win-crt-time-l1-1-0.dll*
    40. api-ms-win-crt-utility-l1-1-0.dll*
    41. blink_image_resources_200_percent.pak
    42. chrome_100_percent.pak
    43. chrome_200_percent.pak
    44. content_resources_200_percent.pak
    45. content_shell.pak
    46. d3dcompiler_47.dll*
    47. ffmpeg.dll*
    48. icudtl.dat
    49. libEGL.dll*
    50. libGLESv2.dll*
    51. LICENSE.electron.txt
    52. LICENSES.chromium.html
    53. locales/
    54. msvcp140.dll*
    55. natives_blob.bin
    56. node.dll*
    57. pdf_viewer_resources.pak
    58. resources/
    59. resources.pak
    60. snapshot_blob.bin
    61. swiftshader/
    62. ucrtbase.dll*
    63. ui_resources_200_percent.pak
    64. Uninstall Unity Hub.exe*
    65. Unity Hub.exe*
    66. v8_context_snapshot.bin
    67. vcruntime140.dll*
    68. views_resources_200_percent.pak
    69.  
     
  3. Tindajii

    Tindajii

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I am having the exact same issue as OP. In fact everything he has posted I was going to post, 2 tasks running, etc.
    Also, I have two /UnityHub/ directories in /Roaming/. Only one of them has a log file in it.

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. {"level":"error","message":"Unhandled promise rejection, reason: The specified module could not be found.\r\n\\\\?\\C:\\Program Files\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar.unpacked\\node_modules\\@unityhub\\unity-editor-license\\build\\Release\\license.node\n\tstack Error: The specified module could not be found.\r\n\\\\?\\C:\\Program Files\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar.unpacked\\node_modules\\@unityhub\\unity-editor-license\\build\\Release\\license.node\n    at process.func [as dlopen] (electron/js2c/asar.js:138:31)\n    at Object.Module._extensions..node (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:881:18)\n    at Object.func [as .node] (electron/js2c/asar.js:147:18)\n    at Module.load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:701:32)\n    at tryModuleLoad (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:633:12)\n    at Function.Module._load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:625:3)\n    at Module.require (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:739:19)\n    at require (internal/modules/cjs/helpers.js:14:16)\n    at Object.<anonymous> (C:\\Program Files\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar\\node_modules\\@unityhub\\unity-editor-license\\license.js:1:15)\n    at Module._compile (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:839:30)","timestamp":"2019-11-29T02:55:48.294Z"}
    2.  
    I am also on a fresh install of Windows (I was getting the blank error Bug when creating any Scripts (even on new projects). My last resort was to reinstall Windows and hope for the best.
     
  4. Moritz5thPlanet

    Moritz5thPlanet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    73
    By copying another 2.2.0 install from another machine over the directory, I was able to get it to run, of course that can't be the long term solution.
     
  5. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    334
    Hi,
    Sorry for the inconvenience.
    Would you please try to remove/backup the license file and try again?
    C:\Program Data\Unity\license.ulf

    Thanks,
    Afshin
     
  6. StanislavAtmo

    StanislavAtmo

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same problem. I deleted Unity and license.ulf but it didn't work.
     
  7. hanaray

    hanaray

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    binhtdnd likes this.
  8. Saikodan

    Saikodan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    7
  9. binhtdnd

    binhtdnd

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Posts:
    1
  10. Moritz5thPlanet

    Moritz5thPlanet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    73
    No editor of Unity was installed on this machine, and I never got to the point to log into Unity Hub or activate any liccenses.

    This is a brand new Windows 10 install.


    Unity Hub 2.2.1 seems to install okay but I can't verify this isn't my previous fix (by manually copying the missing packages) still working for me.
     
  11. Benjamintrout3d

    Benjamintrout3d

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Posts:
    1
  12. tosealg

    tosealg

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Posts:
    1
  13. Miguel_TagaiArts

    Miguel_TagaiArts

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    This didn't fix it for me, unfortunately. Have the exact same issue of the Hub spawning 2 tasks and 1 Log Line as quoted above:
    - 1 Unity Hub task at ~30ish MiB of Memory
    - 1 Unity Hub task at ~10ish MiB of Memory

    Using Unity Hub 2.2.1 on a Windows 7 SP1 machine. I've attached the log.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. hanaray

    hanaray

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Have you installed the correct version for your operating system?

    vc_redist.x64.exe : 64 bit
    vc_redist.x86.exe : 32 bit