Search Unity

  1. Tune in to get all the latest Unity news live from Berlin on June 19, 6pm CEST. Set up a YouTube reminder!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.1 has arrived! Read about it here
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Scriptable Render Pipeline improvements, Texture Mipmap Streaming, and more! Check out what we have in store for you in the 2018.2 Beta.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Hub (0.17.1) doesn't remember opened projects.

Discussion in 'Unity Hub Preview' started by sand_lantern, Jun 5, 2018.

  1. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Due to the nature of how I have things organized, I have several locations where project folders are stored. Unity Hub lists all projects within a certain default folder, however, the project I am currently working on is in another location. Every time I want to open it, I need to click Open, and then find the project in my file browser. I don't need to do this when just launching the project from unity, it seems to remember these locations just fine. My folder structures look like this:

    Listed Project Locations in Unity Hub:

    D:\Projects\Unity\<ProjectFolder>

    Wanted Project Locations that I need to browse for to open:

    D:\Projects\DifferentOrganization\<OrganizingProjectFolder>\<ProjectFolder>

    Is this a configuration issue on my end, or a problem with Unity Hub?
     
  2. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    104
    Hi there,

    Hub remembers the location of the last project that you opened through the hub. So, if you open a project in folder ABC\AAA, the next time you click on the open, it should open the file browser in ABC\AAA, again.

    I just realized the unity editor is landing to ABC instead of ABC\AAA. We will fix in our side to be similar to the editor.

    Thanks for reporting this inconsistency. Stay tuned for the updates.
     
    sand_lantern likes this.
  3. batate

    batate

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Hi folks... can I suggest a few of things to improve Unit Hub...

    1. Make the components you select for a download "sticky"... so that if, for example, you select WebGL component for an install. that this selection remains when you next do an install unless you untick it. Its easy otherwise to forget a component you usually have present, e.g. for one of the optional build targets.

    2. Under the … menu of options available for each project that has been opened can you add a "Remove from list" option to allow the list of projects to be tidied up. I usually keep previous versions of projects in a separate folder and I therefore see these older versions as they were last opened. That's fine if you want it,. and probably a good default. Bu having the "Remove from List" will allow those of us who prefer just to see the latest or a few specific versions to show.

    3. There does not seem to be an installed/uninstall entry in the Windows (10 Pro 1803) "programs and features" control panel.
     
    sand_lantern likes this.
  4. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    104
    Hi Batate,

    Thank you for your feedback. The good news is all of your suggestions are planned to be developed already.

    Stay tuned for future updates, and keep sending us your valuable suggestions.

    Thanks,
    Afshin
     
  5. batate

    batate

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Excellent… another thing I spotted... when you open a project in a new (later) version and save it.. Unity Hib shows the last version against the project name unless you quit the hub and restart it.. then it refreshes the versions in use for each project So its not updating after projects are used/updated to later versions.

    One more suggestion... for versions that a user has installed on their own system... if there is an "update" to that system and the user wants to replace the old version with that rather than install the later extra version... maybe some indication that an update is available to the installed version would be useful.. and perhaps a menu selection to install that?
     
  6. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    104
    First of all, I suggest creating a new thread for your great suggestions.

    Regarding the open project, are you referring to opening a recent project (from project list) or opening a new project (from the header)? I will check both cases to see what the problem is.

    Regarding the update, I suggest a new thread where I can share the link to our product team.

    Best,
    Afshin