Search Unity

Unity HDRP or UE5 LUMEN for Realtime Non Baked CINEMATICS only

Discussion in 'Virtual Production' started by morfevs, Sep 18, 2022.

1. morfevs

morfevs

Hi all,

I have been using Unity for many years. I always found it to be usable and most important - allowed me in the fastest way - to achieve results be from aid from the asset store, to implemented solutions in the engine.

I use Unity mostly to create cut scenes, then capture them with Recorder. So I have no need for framerate. With recorder it captures frame by frame and it does not matter if it barely runs.

Nowadays I am reading in various places about UE and LUMEN GI. So my questions is this:

- Will Lumen look better than the current Real Time GI found in Unity2020 or later? or its very similar? What is Unity counter to Lumen?

- In UE does it capture frame by frame independently from how "smooth" it runs on play?

- I need to animate simple mechanical parts, like a robotic arm. I use Pivot and hierarchies to do this in Unity. I assume that UE has a similar way?

- I do not need or have the time for baking so I use real time only to create cutscenes.

Thanks for your input :eek:)

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Unity's equivalent is HDRP, which uses raytracing hardware. This is a valid, and genuine equivalent. Lumen is a different approach. I would say it is more inaccurate than Unity's but probably more optimised overall for performance.

Unity's is more about accuracy and ground truth, it uses RT hardware to perform these calculations, but does require more setup.

You'll want to ask these questions on the Unreal forum. Unreal does have a lot of temporal reliance so it will likely require tweaking Lumen until it's functionally slower but less temporal. At the time of writing, there's a few hacks they use like disabling and enabling meshes to force an update. This behaviour will probably change in future.