Search Unity

Unity Glossary of Terms

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Andy, Jan 9, 2007.

1. Andy

Andy

I am new to programming but am making progress with JavaScript. There are some words which I and perhaps others would like to get a better understanding of. I invite those with more knowledge to help us out by filling in the definitions. Thanks, Andy

Method-
    Runtime Classes-
    MonoBehaviour-
    Enumerations-
    Inherited from-
    Member Variables-
    Global Variables-
    Private-
    Public-
    derives from-
    Class-
    Class Member-
    Class Functions-
    Class Variables-
    Constructors-

2. NCarter

NCarter

Here's my attempt, scribbling out some thoughts on my lunch break. My use of terminology might not be totally consistent because different languages use different words to describe the same things. For example, functions, methods and events are essentially the same thing. Variables and properties are conceptually the same thing (even though they work differently internally).

I should probably define one other term I use: object. An object isn't (necessarily) a GameObject in this case - rather it's a particular instance of a class or script. If you create a GameObject which has a special Missile script on it, the Missile script is a separate object in its own right, and if you create multiple missiles, you have multiple Missile script objects.

Method - a function attached to an object of a class. This function has access to any of the other methods and member variables of the class. All of your functions in Javascript in Unity are methods as you can't create standalone functions in Unity.

Runtime classes - I guess this means classes which are relevant to the game rather than to the editor. It's not a term that means something specific to me.