Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Bug Unity gives me a bunch of package errors after i change Editor version

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by rainbowclaws24, May 6, 2024.

  1. rainbowclaws24

    rainbowclaws24

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    Since i moved my project to a different computer & then upgraded the editor version to 6000.0, Every time I open my Unity project, it gives me this message,
    upload_2024-5-5_19-6-14.png
    "An error occurred while resolving packages:
    One or more packages could not be added to the local file system:
    X Converting circular structure to JSON
    --> starting at object with constructor 'Error'
    --- property 'error' closes the circle"
    For multiple packages,
    Burst,
    Cinemachine
    Collections
    InputSystem, etc

    it also appears in the log as a single error I cannot clear

    I tried to Re-import everything, restarted my computer, I updated my visual studio, I am not sure what to do.
    Can anybody who has had this issue help me find out what's causing it & what to do?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6,896
    Try deleting the package cache folder with all editors closed. Then try again. This will redownload any packages in case they have become corrupt for some reason.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/upm-cache.html

    Make sure you have at least 20+ GB free disk space on OS and project drives.

    If this doesn't fix it try creating a new project to see if the issue occurs there as well.
     
  3. rainbowclaws24

    rainbowclaws24

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    upload_2024-5-6_8-29-30.png

    It still seems to be happening, even when I creaed a new projct. I have my project & unity installed on a secondary Drive inside my computer with 128gb of space left. & I deleted the package cache
     
  4. tsibiski

    tsibiski

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    614
    Did you try removing com.unity.ai.navigation and re-adding it in the package manager?
     
  5. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6,896
    Hmmm "could not be added to the local file system" could also hint at a permission issue.

    Note that free disk space should also be aplenty on the OS drive, since that's where the package cache is located and also the TEMP folder and swap file.
     
  6. rainbowclaws24

    rainbowclaws24

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    No... It seems that Clearing up at least 25 GB of space, & reinstalling Unity to the main C: OS drive did not work either.
     
  7. rainbowclaws24

    rainbowclaws24

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    Okay, it has now been 3 Days since this has been happening & I still can't get Unity to work.
    I even switched back to an older Unity editor using the original project. & Now when I try to install a Package it tells me:

    Manager Window] Error adding package: Converting circular structure to JSON --> starting at object with constructor 'Error' --- property 'error' closes the circle
     
  8. tsibiski

    tsibiski

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Posts:
    614
    Did you also delete the Library folder entirely? That often fixes issues.
     
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,735
    Can you copy paste your Packages/manifest.json contents into this thread?
     
  10. rainbowclaws24

    rainbowclaws24

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    I did, & that didn't seem quite to work either. It would just Recreate itself & the same problem would persist.
     
  11. rainbowclaws24

    rainbowclaws24

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    Sure thing!

    {
    "dependencies": {
    "com.unity.2d.sprite": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.cinemachine": "2.10.0",
    "com.unity.collab-proxy": "2.3.1",
    "com.unity.feature.development": "1.0.1",
    "com.unity.ide.rider": "3.0.28",
    "com.unity.ide.visualstudio": "2.0.22",
    "com.unity.ide.vscode": "1.2.5",
    "com.unity.inputsystem": "1.7.0",
    "com.unity.jobs": "0.70.0-preview.7",
    "com.unity.learn.iet-framework": "3.1.3",
    "com.unity.probuilder": "5.2.2",
    "com.unity.render-pipelines.universal": "14.0.11",
    "com.unity.test-framework": "1.1.33",
    "com.unity.textmeshpro": "3.0.6",
    "com.unity.timeline": "1.7.6",
    "com.unity.ugui": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.visualeffectgraph": "14.0.11",
    "com.unity.visualscripting": "1.9.4",
    "com.unity.modules.ai": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.androidjni": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.animation": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.assetbundle": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.audio": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.cloth": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.director": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.imageconversion": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.imgui": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.jsonserialize": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.particlesystem": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.physics": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.physics2d": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.screencapture": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.terrain": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.terrainphysics": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.tilemap": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.ui": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.uielements": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.umbra": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unityanalytics": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequest": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestassetbundle": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestaudio": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequesttexture": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestwww": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.vehicles": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.video": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.vr": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.wind": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.xr": "1.0.0"
    }
    }
    Although, some packages are missing.
     
  12. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,735
    supita_unity likes this.
  13. maximeb_unity

    maximeb_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Posts:
    583
    Hi!

    I also want to say that when we fixed this issue, it was caused by an underlying misconfiguration in the environment which was an incorrect ComSpec environment variable (Windows-only), which is normally set to C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe (if Windows is installed in C:\Windows) but it was set to an incorrect value, possibly by some other software installer changing that environment variable (there are many questions about wrong values in that environment variable on the Web).

    If you need to use older Editor versions that are running into this issue, you might want to verify that the ComSpec environment variable is properly set in case that's the root cause.
     
    supita_unity likes this.
  14. rainbowclaws24

    rainbowclaws24

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    Alright! the problem has been fixed. I deleted my library folder, & upgraded to a slightly newer release