Search Unity

Unity game lagging on android device.

Discussion in 'Android' started by abhinavsingh153, Aug 13, 2019.

1. abhinavsingh153

abhinavsingh153

Hi everyone. I am new to game development. I have been following a udemy course for unity game development. I have built a game which was a part of the course. The game is working fine and running smoothly on Windows and Webgl format but the game is lagging so much on android device. I have tried to set the quality under project settings (Edit>Project settings > quality) to very low for android, tried to set the frame rate to 60 fps then 30 fps by using Application.targetFrameRate = 30 in the Start() method of the escripts associated with the gameObjects. I have tried to search online for a solution also but didn't find the solution yet. Any kind of help will be greatly appreciated.

2. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

What hardware is it running on?

It could just be that your game is not optimised enough for mobile phones. Are you using mobile shaders etc?
    Do you have vsync on?

Turn vsync off if its on, and change your shaders to mobile compatible + optimised ones for the mobile build. Then try and test that and come back and let us know if it helped.

Generally a game for pc wont just build for android with perfect perf unless you optimise it. Such as proper shaders, lightmap baking, occlusion culling etc etc

Profile it if you want to know why. Run the profiler, as well as frame debugger, memory profiler and youll know pretty quickly what is taking up resources. But my guess is its just too heavy for android if you just built it for it without optimising for mobile.

Ryiah and Joe-Censored like this.
  3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Use the profiler to see what is slowing it down. Otherwise you're just guessing.

4. SamohtVII

SamohtVII