Search Unity

Unity Game Developer Contest 2016

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Aurore, Nov 30, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,165
    You can't submit to the Windows Store with that checkbox unchecked.

    I'd suggest using a profiler to find out what's causing the spikes. Last time I investigated such issue it turned out to be the case of very liberal use of reflection.
     
  2. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Really? I heard that all it did was enable something like IL2CPP aka. it uses native code rather than IL... :(
    And where on earth would I be using reflection in my game?

    On that note, perhaps it's time to finally ditch 5.2.x and go 5.3. (I've been putting off upgrading for as long as I could, since 5.3 was riddled with bugs first-release!)
     
  3. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,165
    It might be a different issue, I don't know. I just shared what I had seen before. The only sure way to finding out what's making it stutter is to use a profiler.
     
  4. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Well, oddly, I re-enabled .NET native... and it works fine now. Obviously, there was something VS was stuffing up until I turned that off the first time. :/ (A lighting bug also came back when i re-enabled that option... that's easy to fix up)
     
  5. MaciejKrzykwa

    MaciejKrzykwa

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    51
  6. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Thank you sir, it worked. But wont it affect or change anything?
    One more thing, is it too late to enter the competition now?
     
  7. Plattinator

    Plattinator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    If you can get past certification before February 10th, then you should be fine.
     
  8. MrGky93

    MrGky93

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Posts:
    280
    hi how many days it needs to publish it in Windows Store ??
    Also a question is for mobile games or for all windows (windows 7 etc...10)??
     
  9. Plattinator

    Plattinator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    That depends on how many times it is rejected and you have to fix things. This is the reason that the deadline for submitting to the store was January 27th, so you have time to fix things and submit again if something is wrong.
     
  10. GARA

    GARA

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    I want to enter in the contest but, I have one question for now.

    1.Can I enter the contest as company or it has to be sole individual?, because the game that I created is under the name of the company that I established.
     
  11. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Another question for all; why are IL2CPP builds 12.6GB apiece?
    I'm close to submitting now... :) (And most of the bugs in my entry are fixed too)

    EDIT: One more thing too; I noticed that in all of my builds, there's a small black box in the main window before the game starts proper... would it be legal (aka. not against Unity's EULA) if I changed this? I ask because I found what looks like the exact same box inside the "assets" folder of by built VS solution.
     
  12. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,165
    You can change whatever assets you want in your VS solution.
     
  13. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Can you run your game in vs? because i cant when built with IL2CPP. It doesnt show the debug/master/release. It only says "attach.."

    EDIT: Nevermind i fixed it xD
     
  14. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Ok... Fair enough, start screen fix, here we come. :)

    Heh... I didn't even bother continuing the IL2CPP build process, I got impatient when the size kept climbing to 1... 2.. 6... 8... then I just shut off the unity process and started over with the normal backend. :D
     
  15. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Ok guys, ALL MY CONTENT'S DONE. I just have to toss a couple more things in, and I have a submission in my hands! :)
     
  16. Darkcoder

    Darkcoder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,833
    Is it me or are the 'Windows Phone Tiles and Logos' in the player settings messed up when building? I painstakingly made every one for each size and when I look at the .appxmanifest it seems to have mixed the small and medium ones together, it only fills in the 100% scale ones, and even though in Unity I have to specify 4 scales for each tile, in the manifest I only have to set 3.
     
  17. Plattinator

    Plattinator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    You can assign those in the appxmanifest in Visual Studio and it seems to work just fine. Also keep in mind that when you make a build in the same folder as an existing build, Unity doesn't overwrite the built Visual Studio solution or other files in it if you've made changes to those files manually.
     
  18. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    happens to me too, i usually delete it all then re-write it to avoid any mistake.
     
  19. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Mine kept NOT exporting them! I ended up manually replacing the files in my solution when Unity kept putting the default logos into the assets folder. One thing I noticed too is that once I did that, unity FINALLY started putting the files in. :/

    ...

    Automatic WSA icon generation anyone? :D
     
    mechangel likes this.
  20. mechangel

    mechangel

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    73
    WHELP I tried anything I can think of, my point and spotlights turn into flat shapes no matter what I try. Tried Forward, and Deferred, made sure I only have direct3D11 api, turned shadows off, changed specular shader on the floor to normal standard shader..but I know it worked before so I'm giving in and downloading old patches of 5.3 to see if I can roll back to a working light build scenario. C'mon light, work dangit!
    Edit: I tried every version between 5.2.3p2 and Latest. I am going to submit a bug report with only the car on a plane with it's light on. (Even though I know that won't be answered in time for this contest, but the contest was never really the point anyway - I just needed some motivation. )
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2016
  21. AVOlight

    AVOlight

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Posts:
    403
    @FuzzyQuills if you use svg for your logo Vector is a great app for generating the assets fast

    just open the windows store app and search for Vector

    and definitely set up the logo assets in Visual Studio rather than in Unity,
    in Visual Studio if the name of the assets are right (which Vector does for you) it automatically picks the rest of the scales for a particular png resolution
    e.g.
    StoreLogo.scale-100.png
    StoreLogo.scale-125.png
    StoreLogo.scale-150.png
    etc
     
  22. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Heh heh... Sounds like an awful lot of trouble for ONE light! :D I've run into similar bugs in the past before.
    Anyways, good luck with solving it. :)

    EDIT: I'll admit too that the contest was possibly the only way I was getting something out there... I've been experimenting and programming various games for a good 3-5 years since I caught onto unity, with some efforts failing, some successful, and others giving me useful assets and knowledge I reused in future projects. I also released a unity asset during that time. :) (It's still in my sig, although Unity 5 changed how useful it was. ;))

    Anyway, good to see that someone else is in my boat! :D And on that note, time to upload my app packages... I've finished!!! :p

    Looks like someone has the same impatience problems as me, and solved it for themselves... ;) Definitely looking into using this for a future title. the funny part is, I was actually considering writing my own tool from scratch for this, so... instant life (and time) saver! :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2016
  23. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    I have now submitted my game! :) I'm currently waiting on certification. :)
     
    mechangel likes this.
  24. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    How many times can you update a submission? I want to update again, just to add a little more content to it but i'm unsure if it'll be rejected or not.

    Here's mine https://www.microsoft.com/store/apps/9NBLGGH1Z9KF

    I keep removing it but going to keep it up now
     
  25. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Bro, i downloaded your game and i dont even know how to play. You should show hints for keyboard too not just the controller
     
  26. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    Yeah unfortunately I haven't finished the tutorial/introduction to the game. I'm aware the keyboard needs support too. I just don't have enough time to get these finished and put in before the end of the competition. It's a survival game, you run and reach the end of the level without dying,basically.
     
  27. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    If i were you, id put the keyboard tut before, because i think its better for this competition. Everyone has a keyboard, not a controller.
     
  28. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Im trying to build a package so i can upload it to the windows store, but im getting this error.
    Anyone knows how to fix it?
     

    Attached Files:

  29. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    I know, thanks for the feedback. I will try to get the keyboard support in there.

    Limit: Each entrant may enter the Contest ten (10) times during the Contest Period. Each Submission you submit must be substantially unique and different. Closely similar Submissions that have minor changes (i.e., color, language) but have been submitted as separate Submissions will be disqualified and only the first Submission submitted under that Submission type will be eligible. Submissions received from any person or email address in excess of the stated limit will be void.

    Does this mean you can update your submission 10 times max? or does it mean you can submit it into the contest 10 times max? Can we have an infinite number of updates to our submission inside the windows store? The link windows store provides you remains the same throughout updating, so would this mean the game has entered the competition once, regardless of the updates to that submission?
     
  30. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    ofc during the contest only, you can make as much updates as you want later on.
    I dont know why they put that in their rules, seems pointless to me.
     
  31. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Wow... my app passed certs on the spot! I didn't expect that. Anyone had similar experiences?
     
  32. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Welp... one update, and mine's good, I just noticed a glaring flaw in the entire game, and need to upload a fix! :D

    EDIT:
    @Huseyin.aslan: what about glaring-flaw-type bug fixing?
     
  33. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Can you be more specific? I dont know what you mean about that :p
     
  34. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    This means you can enter 10 different games into the competition.

    You can update your game on the Windows Store as much as you want. But I'd get your final update submitted/accepted to the store before the deadline (Feb 10) or they may be judging your submission based on an older entry.
     
    Rickywild likes this.
  35. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Huh, so that's what they mean, they should be more clear.

    Like... no game over screen? Through all the chaos where I am, I forgot to add one...
     
  36. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Ok, one more thing; although the game itself works fine... I appear to have a bug in my windows store version.
    It doesn't seem to show the Unity Personal splash screen anymore... every time I start the game, my windows app splash shows up, (i.e. the image I set in the folder marked "assets" in my solution) then normally, the unity splash screen appears.

    Since upgrading to 5.3 however, now all that appears is a white screen after my splash... I'm actually concerned, since I don't have Unity Pro, and this could potentially be a legal issue. Is this a bug in Unity 5.3.2?
     
  37. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    When i first submitted, i noticed a few things were missing and not fully functioning. I think it may be something to do with the ~It will take up to 16 hours for your changes to be visible to all of your customers, email that you receive. You may notice over time the splash screen will return. However it could be something else? What have you entered into the competition? Jet Rat Speedway?
     
  38. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    *shrug* It seemed pretty clear to me. :) But maybe that's because at the time I read it, I didn't realize that the Windows Store certification process referred to your uploads as "submissions" so I just figured it meant max 10 submissions (entries/games) to the contest.


    Anyone know if you can update your Windows Store info (like description, screenshots, features, etc.) without having to upload a new version of the game itself? That would be nice.
     
  39. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Nope... :D Some people did ask if I entered that game though. And for the record, I'll be resuming work on it once I finish up with my entry. :) And who knows? Maybe it will get a windows store version as well, since that game primarily targets android. ;)

    As for my windows store game... it hasn't quite lived up to this post, (and I accidentally posted in the support section instead of WIP... @hippocoder could you move it please? :D) but this will give you a good idea of what I did. (NOTE: The game no longer uses a Mode7 shading style, so disregard any references to this)
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/track-ideas-for-a-racing-game-anyone.375715/
     
  40. slaczky

    slaczky

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Today I got an email from Unity that I'm not submited my game to the contest, but I'm already did that.
    "You submitted the 1st form in order to receive a Windows Developer account token, but have not yet entered your game into the contest. This email is a gentle reminder that you will need to complete the final submission form below in order to enter the contest."
    When I try to resubmit my game, I get this error: "E-mail has already been taken"
    Now I don't know is my game entered the contest or not
     
    ex_mi likes this.
  41. ex_mi

    ex_mi

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    similarly!!!
     
    slaczky likes this.
  42. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Hopefully I don't run into this trouble... :D
     
    slaczky likes this.
  43. slaczky

    slaczky

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    and I have a confirmation email that I got earlier with this text
    "Thank you for submitting your entry to the Unity Game Developer Contest. This email is confirmation that we have successfully received your entry..."
    I think the subbmisions are ok, there must be an error on their server
     
  44. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Probably is, someone's probably set it up to send them out automatically regardless if you submitted or not. I wouldn't be surprised if this is why you got that email... ;)
     
  45. slaczky

    slaczky

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    I hope you are right :cool:
     
  46. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    I have a question.
    I submitted my game but i want it to be for mobile only, not desktop. How do i manage to do that?
     
  47. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    You can find the options for setting that under, Pricing and availability under your submission. There are two check boxes under Windows 10 device families, Desktop and Mobile. I've checked only desktop,however my app seems to have been downloaded on mobiles regardless, resulting in a crash more than most likely. Hope that helps
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2016
  48. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Just exclude desktop devices form the app in the dashboard. :) atm, I'm uploading a package, so I can't check where that is... :D

    EDIT: WildLogicGames beat me to it. :p
     
    Rickywild likes this.
  49. wonderkid

    wonderkid

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    Anyone know how to fix this error : "The project requires user input .Object reference not set to an instance of an object."
    I'm trying to load Windows 10 Universal build on Visual Studio. Here is the ss
     

    Attached Files:

  50. mechangel

    mechangel

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    73
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity