Search Unity

  1. New Unity Live Help updates. Check them out here!

    Dismiss Notice

Unity Game Developer Contest 2016

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Aurore, Nov 30, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Is there a chance NuGet was throwing that error in VS? (If that's what you were using?) I get a whole lot more errors, yet my project builds fine. I think it's doing that due to the package restore process doing something weird...
     
  2. slaczky

    slaczky

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Update your visual studio. I got a lot errors with nuget, after I installed updates the errors was gone.
     
  3. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    No it wasn't Visual Studio. It was a Unity Editor error that only surfaced while trying to build the VS files used to make a UWP build. Switching from .NET to IL2CPP fixed the issue for me. (Thanks again @AVOlight!)
     
  4. sockman

    sockman

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    It's actually a fairly good process. If you have a problem there are lots of forum posts and documentation by microsoft. You don't even need a windows device except for a pc with windows 10. If you have pro you can use phone emulators, but they're not necessary.
    Sorry if this is too late...
     
  5. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    It's 7:55AM, Jan 27th 2016 and I've just done submitting my game (http://www.citylines-game.com) to Windows Dev Cente.

    I hope I can still make it in time?? :(
     
  6. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    For some people, it took a week, for others it took something like 3 days, so they're quite fast getting stuff published! :)
     
    phong-genix likes this.
  7. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    I got this mail ~1 hour after submission.

    But the link doesn't work yet. How long is it typically to see the game live on store?
     
  8. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    On my end the link works. :) Obviously, it's up now.
     
  9. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Woopsss... It's live now. Unfortunately it's the Submission 1 which was submitted yesterday's noon, and which is like a "draft" submission :'(
    I hope Submission 2 will go live soon tonight >_<
     
  10. Seguame

    Seguame

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    My second submission is in review since yesterday, hope is on time u.u
     
  11. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    An update? :D
     
  12. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    I just got my submission in! I submitted it just to make sure it will work. But I already know I'm going to need to make an updated Submission 2, since I didn't have any of the (oddly specific) artwork required for the Store listing.

    Art is not my strong point...
     
  13. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    @phong.genix I see you have IAP in your entry. Others here would be interested in hearing how you accomplished that. :)
     
  14. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Except me. :p Not a fan of IAP much... :D
     
  15. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    The game uses Unity IAP with .NET backend and it just works :eek:
     
  16. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    The free contents of this game are pretty satisfying (1000+ levels) so I think you'll like it :p

    Actually I want it to have Async Multiplayer which is a big and very competitive feature. Unfortunately I can't make it in time for the contest so no Multiplayer for now. This Multiplayer feature is almost done for Android version. I use Parse as a backend for that.
     
  17. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Speaking of late... :D I would say now though that although having a windows device isn't required (Heck, I don't have one to use! ;)) it is recommended to test certain things such as how well it would run on another device, and device-specific bugs that may crop up.
     
  18. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Async Multiplayer? Sounds interesting, since I've only ever heard the word "async" and "level load" in the same sentence. ;)

    Speaking of which, I ended up having to ditch multi-player for mine due to the deadline, I currently have a pop-up box as a placeholder instead. ;)
     
  19. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Btw, one weird/interesting thing I notice about the store:

    The store listing for my game is still showing metadata of Submission 1 (default Unity icon, only 1 screenshot,....)
    while actually the binary is already the new one of Submission 2. So it's like the binary goes live sooner than the metadata (??!!)
     
  20. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Huh, the windows store sounds a bit sloppy as in... it updates things one at a time. A bit inconvenient... specifically why I'm holding off releasing for a couple more days while I get my starting content in. ;)
     
  21. phong-genix

    phong-genix

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Posts:
    114
  22. AVOlight

    AVOlight

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Posts:
    403
    :) -> so much competition -> :(
     
  23. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Ok, last time; would it be allowed to make a WIP thread of a potential entry?
     
  24. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    A lot of people's thoughts... But I don't care, I'm entering for the hell of it! :D (I guess I'm also entering to try and get something out as well!)
     
  25. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    My game failed certification with the following error:
    Any tips on how to fix this? Is this because I included full PDB symbols files during the package creation process?
     
  26. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    I don't see why you wouldn't be allowed to make a WIP thread of pretty much anything you want. As long as it's related to Unity. :)
     
  27. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,190
    Switch to master configuration. Unity uses this debugging interface enable D3D debug layer when using D3D12 in debug and release configurations. Unity does not call this function in master configuration.
     
  28. Plattinator

    Plattinator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Posts:
    17
  29. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
  30. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    I was more saying; "is the contest entry meant to be super-top-secret, or can I reveal stuff?" :p

    Anyway, probably will post something in the coming days. :)
     
  31. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    There's a lot of Windows Phone entries here, I wonder how many are targeted at Windows 10 PC only?
     
  32. mechangel

    mechangel

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    73
    Unless cross-platform input is pure Magic, I will probably be using windows 10 only. This is kind of funny b/c until this contest it was an Android game bound for the Play store; where it's been stagnating in private Beta for over a year now b/c I'm trigger shy and prone to feature creep.
     
  33. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    Have you got it up on the Store? I haven't targeted multiple platforms, little concerned I haven't now ha
     
  34. mechangel

    mechangel

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    73
    Not yet. For some reason my builds totally nuke my spotlights and point lights, I'm considering just turning them off and submitting to make sure I don't have any red tape problems getting approved and submitting an update the moment it goes live.
     
  35. Phong

    Phong

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Posts:
    1,629
    I found the spotlights with realtime illumination look very different in Windows Store versus Windows Standalone. I had to make my spotlights static in the Windows Store version.
     
  36. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    I strongly recommend doing that!

    I'm on my third attempt at passing certification, hoping everything goes through this time.
     
  37. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Well, you don't have to, but doing so contributes to your technical excellence rating, from what I have heard. :)
     
  38. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    I'm having a trouble building my game on unity for Windows 10 universal, it says "error building player compiler script error" and it leads me to my saving script. Apparently, windows uses different library than android and iOS to save the game and i have no idea how to solve it. Anyone can help?
     
  39. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Screenshots (or even another thread) could help here... :D
     
  40. Huseyin-aslan

    Huseyin-aslan

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    This is whats written in the console: "Assets\Scripts\Managers\save.cs(4,36): error CS0234: The type or namespace name 'Formatters' does not exist in the namespace 'System.Runtime.Serialization' (are you missing an assembly reference?)"
     
  41. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    I think that's in .NET 4.6 or something like that, which isn't being used in the VS Windows App Store Builds, I think, I can't remember now.

    I was using System.Runtime.Serialization.Formatters.Binary; to save and encrypt my game data. In the end I just commented this code out
     
  42. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    I have you tried setting them to "Baked"? I think that calculates the lighting before hand, may have less of an impact on your game loop? Not sure, my lights need optimizing. I've been looking into the magic of shader code but there's no chance i'll have something working before the end of this competition.
     
  43. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    I wonder how much of this sentence contributes to the overall 20%? ~Is your game so fast, fluid and optimized that others will appreciate your craftsmanship skills? I'm only going to receive 0% i reckon. All of my code can be done so much better, I just didn't want to go down the path of premature optimization, as the game isn't finished.
     
  44. mechangel

    mechangel

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Posts:
    73
    The issue is I'm using them as headlights on a "toy" car, which is my player! It's confusing b/c it works great on Mac and in editor but looks absolutely horrible in my Windows build, with a solid shape following me around lightsbug.jpg .
     
  45. Rickywild

    Rickywild

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    Yeah I see what you mean, that's weird. It looks like the intensity has been turned right up! Or maybe it's not culling. I have no idea tbh I've had a few weird things happen when building to win app,non of them lighting though sorry wish I could help!
     
  46. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    652
    Switch to IL2CPP if you can. That's what I did, because I also use Formatters to save my data.
     
  47. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    My submission's in a similar boat... in the Graphics department. :p
    At the very least, I optimized my shader framework to compensate!

    On top of that, the standalone build runs at full frame-rate at all times, whereas WSA has a habit of suddenly dropping frames then coming back; is this a unity bug, or does the WSA app container limit the GPU thread?
     
  48. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    ...

    VERTEX LIGHTING. that's your problem. :) That's the type of horrible lighting you get when shining a spotlight onto a low-poly surface. (and the light's set to per-vertex)

    If your light settings are correct... go to the player settings, UNCHECK automatic graphics API, and make sure ONLY D3D11 backend is in there. (i.e. atm, Direct3D12's real buggy, and I wouldn't be surprised if using D3D12 gives you that as a spotlight!)
     
    Rickywild likes this.
  49. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    It looks like her app's somehow overriding the pixel lighting and using only per-vertex...
     
  50. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    Another question/heads-up; I was experiencing lag in my game. I was initially thinking it was my graphics framework, but to no avail, no level of tweaking could fix it...

    ...and that was when I found out that Unity 5.2.4 seemed to have some performance regressions in WSA... or so I thought; running the build in "release" instead of master revealed the best performance I'd seen my game run at in a looooong time!

    That was when I decided to try something; because the ONLY difference between all the configs was the fact that the master config was using the Net native toolchain, I unticked this in master config, just to see what it would do...

    The result: A FULL 60fps. :) So for those on 5.2.4 still, try this if you're encountering some performance issues. A note as well that I started the download of 5.3.x as it apparently fixed some WSA-specific bugs, right before I found this out... (DARN IT!)

    EDIT: Ignore the above part; it fixes the problem, but apparently, windows app certs fail if it doesn't use it. (Good one Microsoft...)
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity