Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Unity Forma Challenge

Discussion in 'Unity Forma' started by nick_davis, Feb 19, 2021.

  1. nick_davis

    nick_davis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10


    Welcome to the official Unity Forma Challenge thread!

    The Unity Forma Challenge is a global skills-based contest in which you can compete for the chance to win a Volkswagen ID.4 EV and other prizes.*

    Please use this space to ask for help with using Unity Forma, questions about contest rules, and anything else you wish to share.

    Good luck! We can't wait to see what you create.

    Resources
    What to submit: To create an entry, you must create an interactive, real-time 3D product configurator (e.g., car, bike, furniture, purse, watch).

    An entry must include the following:
    • Project Title (Maximum 10 words)
    • A Project Summary which explains your project (Maximum 250 words)
    • An interactive, real-time 3D product configurator application (Unity build executable files for Mac, Windows or Linux, submitted in a .zip; max. size 15GB)
    Any submissions with missing components may be disqualified. Please refer to the Unity Forma Challenge Official Rules for more information.

    How to submit:
    Follow the instructions on the official Unity Forma contest page.

    When: The challenge is open now and closes on April 25, 2021 at 12 p.m. PST.

    Who: You are eligible to enter this Challenge if you meet all of the following requirements as of the time and date of entry:
    • You are an individual;
    • You are at least 18 years of age or older but in no event less than the age of majority in your place of residence;
    • You have Internet Access, an Email Account, and access to a personal computer;
    • You are NOT a resident of Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, or the Crimea region of the Ukraine, due to U.S. Export Regulations (and any other regions or countries that may be prohibited under U.S. Export Regulations);
    • You are NOT on any U.S. Exportation Regulation prohibited list;
    • You are NOT a resident of Belarus; Brazil; Greece; Italy; Kosovo; Macedonia; Turkey; Quebec, Canada; Florida, USA; or Arizona, USA;
    • You are NOT employed by a government body, regulatory agency, or any company which is owned or controlled by the government
    • You have NOT won a contest prize from Unity or Unity Affiliates within the last 12 months;
    • You are NOT an employee of Unity or Unity Admins; and
    • You are NOT a family member or household member of any employee of Unity or Unity Admins.
    • Have a valid driver’s license within your country.
    • If you are selected as a winner, pay taxes in your region
    *Unity may substitute prizes for case or other equivalents, as solely determined by Unity. NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. A PURCHASE OF ANY KIND WILL NOT INCREASE YOUR CHANCES OF WINNING. FOR THE FULL TERMS AND CONDITIONS, SEE THE OFFICIAL RULES
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2021
  2. pabloruiz55

    pabloruiz55

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Hi, I followed the instructions on the email, claimed the Pro license, then downloaded the zipped project and opened it on Unity 2020.2.6 which is the latest supported version. But when opening the project I get the following script errors (attached image)

    Any idea how to solve it?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Fangh

    Fangh

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    98
    Which Unity Versions are compatible with Unity Forma ?
     
  4. nick_davis

    nick_davis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    It is compatible with 2020.2. You need to use 2020.2.4 or later for the contest.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
  5. nick_davis

    nick_davis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Just to confirm, are you using Unity Pro, and not Unity Personal? (We ask because the default UI skin for Unity Pro is black.)

    Also, have you completed these steps previously?

    https://support.unity.com/hc/en-us/articles/209933926-How-do-I-assign-a-seat-to-a-user

    https://support.unity.com/hc/en-us/articles/211438683-How-do-I-activate-my-license-

    Let us know if you are still running into issues after that.
     
  6. pabloruiz55

    pabloruiz55

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Hey Nick,
    I've activated the license and I can see it correctly when browsing to the Licenses section on Unity Hub.
    How would I go about the project being opened with Unity Pro when selecting it on Unity Hub?
     
  7. nick_davis

    nick_davis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Pablo, I believe the 1:20 mark of this video should help answer that:
     
  8. pabloruiz55

    pabloruiz55

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Hey, I was able to make it work. I re-installed Unity Hub, turned off/on my pc and next time I opened the project it didn't throw any errors and now I can play the Aviera template. Thanks!
     
    nick_davis likes this.
  9. hkucab

    hkucab

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,

    I was able to install the project & see it in the editor. I have a VRED file I'm interested in importing using Pixyz to then play with in Forma, but when I try to go to Pixyz > Import File, I always get a window that tells me I have no Pixyz License.

    Is a Pixyz License included in this as well? How do I setup the Pixyz license if it is?

    Thanks
     
  10. nick_davis

    nick_davis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Hi there, we put together this quick video to show how to import VRED and Alias files. Hope it helps!
     
  11. seok-in-yoon

    seok-in-yoon

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hello
    I'm facing many problems right now.


    The biggest problem is the build problem.


    No Product is displayed on the left side of the main screen after the build.
    upload_2021-4-12_19-29-58.png

    The car is shown, but I can't see any Variant Set divided by each part on the left screen.
    Can you tell me the exact way to build it?



    I've studied it differently and tested it.
    The following screen shows two products in the Setup window.
    I want to know how to make this a product.

    upload_2021-4-12_19-30-23.png
     

    Attached Files:

  12. nick_davis

    nick_davis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Hi, could you generate an output log? Also are you using the Forma Export tab? (Note that default Unity build settings won't build products)
     
    seok-in-yoon likes this.
  13. seok-in-yoon

    seok-in-yoon

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    I checked on the Forma Export tab.Thank you for your answer.;););)
     
  14. Catcher_in_the_Ray

    Catcher_in_the_Ray

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Just use Unity version 2020.3.3f. It seems that versions lower or versions 2021 have some issue.
     
  15. seok-in-yoon

    seok-in-yoon

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    I'm having a new experience today.
    It was confirmed that the animation functions of the car sample did not work at all on the play screen on the forma sample that was initially opened at 2020.2.4F1.
    I don't know what the problem is.
    I'm wondering if everyone else who's working on it is okay.
     
  16. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    Hi, i am getting the same error. The first 2 times i opened the project it was good but when i created a new scene, downloaded Easy roads V3 and reopened after these changes, i started to get these errors. I have the Pro version from the untiy hub, a reinstall did nothing.
     
  17. SergeyKoptev

    SergeyKoptev

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello!
    Can I use RTX features in my project for the competition? Of course, in this case, all the judges will need to watch the project on a computer with a modern video card.
    But the visual quality will be much higher, so what would you advise me to do?
     
  18. cfusion

    cfusion

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Do we have to use something imported from Pixyz? And does it have to be an individual product show case or could it be something "outside the box" like interior design or real estate?
     
  19. EnamulIslamJisan

    EnamulIslamJisan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    How to set price for product?
     
  20. laurettajohn

    laurettajohn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Hi @cfusion, You can import any model data you require into Unity Forma with the help of Pixyz. You will need full permissions to use any model data you import to be eligible for the contest (per the Official Rules). Feel free to create any type of configurator you'd like – It does not have to be an individual product.
     
    SergeyKoptev likes this.
  21. nick_davis

    nick_davis

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Yes, please feel free to use RTX!
     
    SergeyKoptev likes this.
  22. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    Hi, i am getting the same error. The first 2 times i opened the project it was good but when i created a new scene, downloaded Easy roads V3 and reopened after these changes, i started to get these errors. I have the Pro version from the untiy hub, a reinstall did nothing. The above steps did not work.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2021 at 7:26 AM
  23. livium

    livium

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Like me, has everyone been waiting for the last week to start working on this project? :)
     
  24. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    Hi, i am getting the same problem, but the above mentioned steps did not solve my issue.
     
  25. seok-in-yoon

    seok-in-yoon

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Doesn't it matter if the final build file has a watermark?
     
  26. laurettajohn

    laurettajohn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    No, watermark is fine!
     
  27. Enrickl

    Enrickl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Prices must be changed manually.

    - To do this, go to Forma -> Switch Mode
    - Find you product GameObject in Configurator -> Spawn Point -> Product Spawn Point.
    - Select the "settings" GameObject under your Product.

    You should then see the `ProductLocalPrice` component attached to it.
    Prices are listed using string references to FeatureSet and Feature codes.

    upload_2021-4-20_12-33-31.png
     
  28. Enrickl

    Enrickl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    This feels like a unity package entitlement issue but this should not happen under 2020.2.6f1 (Unity Pro).
    The Forma package is not supported on Unity Personal.

    Please make sure:
    - Unity Pro license is activated
    - You are using Unity 2020.2.6f1
    - No other Unity project is open in the background
    - Restart your PC if you still have the licensing problem

    Related issue (pabloruiz55):

     
  29. EnamulIslamJisan

    EnamulIslamJisan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    Thanks for helping me last time. But can you tell me how we can add timeline things?
     
  30. laurettajohn

    laurettajohn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Which version of Unity Pro are you using? Please try Unity 2020.3 instead of 2021.1
     
    Pranav1234 likes this.
  31. laurettajohn

    laurettajohn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Hi @EnamulIslamJisan, I'm not sure I understand your question. Do you mind elaborating?
     
    Pranav1234 likes this.
  32. EnamulIslamJisan

    EnamulIslamJisan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    I mean Animations in camera. Same as in the Aviera Car Model. BTW I learned the way & here is an example

     
    unity_xela likes this.
  33. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    I have downgraded versions and it works fine (for now) on the 2020.3
     
  34. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    Thanks, it is working for now I have downgraded versions to 2020.3 and it is working!
     
  35. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    Hi, can you help me out? How do i add a model to the product? What i mean is that how to i seperate the Model Set from the actual 3d model?
     
  36. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    HI, is there a way to modify an object with 2 materials? Like 2 materials in 1 object.
     
  37. Pranav1234

    Pranav1234

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    60
    Okay, i have found it, i needed to name everything properly.
     
unityunity