Search Unity

Unity for Sandbox MMO

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Perefim, Jun 25, 2010.

1. Perefim

Perefim

Dear Unity Community,

I am a 3D content developer, with 7 years experience in the industry. While most of my work has been for government university, I have always had an interest in virtual world development.

I am aware most of the capabilities of this engine are dependent on the skill of coder and team. I however was hoping I could ask those with experience here if unity is a viable engine for a sandbox style mmo?

This is some of the primary hopes I have for the engines function capacity.

Features:

- Bounty System - Place a price on your enemies head, other players collect a reward for defeating a target player.
    - Customizable Character Creation - Something similiar to oblivion, entropia - I believe players need to feel unique not see 12 carbon copies of themselves as soon as they login.
    - Ability to give area/region item point restrictions for player placement of structures, or rezzable items.
    - Localized Player Economy - Non globalized trade, will encourage travel, trade routes and community building.
    - Localized Unique resource, mob spawns - Non global minerals, will give each region its own precious resources.
    - Evolving Humanoid Mob - Monster AI will allow for looting of dead human players, will then equip and use found equipment in battle.
    - Dye/Colouring System - Colour your armour, clothes, items and just about anything for any purpose or reason.
    - Non class based skill system - Skill without confinement, limitation or restrictions.
    - Divided free roam PVE/PVP environment - Venture out into the danger of player vs. player or enjoy the safety of a pure man vs. environment adventure.
    - Customizable GUI - place huds where they feel natural.

I thank you in advance for any helpful information.

Cheers,

Perefim

2. Tudor_n

Tudor_n