Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Unity fails to launch on MacOS

Discussion in '2022.1 Beta' started by tbillington, Sep 14, 2021.

  1. tbillington

    tbillington

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    I'm on MacOS 11.3, Hub 2.4.5, and alpha 2022.1.0a7.

    I installed the alpha through the Hub.

    When creating a new project, or attempting to launch an existing project with the alpha version mentioned, I see a very momentary "blip" of a program opening and closing immediately in the Mac dock. I am assuming this is the Unity editor starting and immediately stopping.

    After this nothing happens. I would expect the Unity editor to appear on my screen.
     
  2. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    2,361
    Hi!
    Please check the Editor log, there should be some info about why this happens.
     
  3. tbillington

    tbillington

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Editor.log

    Unity Editor version: 2022.1.0a7 (c277161121c6)
    Branch: trunk
    Build type: Release
    Batch mode: NO
    macOS version: Version 11.3 (Build 20E232)
    Darwin version: 20.4.0
    Architecture: x86_64
    Running under Rosetta: NO
    Available memory: 8192 MB
    [Licensing::Module] Channel doesn't exist: "LicenseClient-choc"
    Launching external process: /Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor/2022.1.0a7/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/Frameworks/UnityLicensingClient.app/Contents/Resources/Unity.Licensing.Client
    [Licensing::Module] Successfully launched the LicensingClient (PId: 34897)
    [LicensingClient] Handshaking with LicensingClient (version: 1.9.0+249add7)
    [Licensing::Module] Successfully connected to LicensingClient on channel: "LicenseClient-choc" (connect: 0.91s, validation: 0.10s, handshake: 0.41s)
    [Licensing::Module] Connected to LicensingClient (PId: 34897, launch time: 0.01, total connection time: 1.41s)
    Entitlement-based licensing initiated
    [Licensing::Module] Error: Access token is unavailable
    [LicensingClient] Licenses updated successfully
    [Licensing::Module] Serial number assigned to: "Fodifj"
    Pro License: NO
    [Package Manager] Server::Start -- Port 59309 was selected
    Launching external process: /Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor/2022.1.0a7/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/Resources/PackageManager/Server/UnityPackageManager

    COMMAND LINE ARGUMENTS:
    /Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor/2022.1.0a7/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/MacOS/Unity
    [Package Manager] Server::Kill -- Server was shutdown



    Editor-prev.log

    Unity Editor version: 2022.1.0a7 (c277161121c6)
    Branch: trunk
    Build type: Release
    Batch mode: NO
    macOS version: Version 11.3 (Build 20E232)
    Darwin version: 20.4.0
    Architecture: x86_64
    Running under Rosetta: NO
    Available memory: 8192 MB
    [Licensing::Module] Channel doesn't exist: "LicenseClient-choc"
    Launching external process: /Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor/2022.1.0a7/Unity.app/Contents/Frameworks/UnityLicensingClient.app/Contents/Resources/Unity.Licensing.Client
    [Licensing::Module] Successfully launched the LicensingClient (PId: 34886)
    [LicensingClient] Handshaking with LicensingClient (version: 1.9.0+249add7)
    [Licensing::Module] Successfully connected to LicensingClient on channel: "LicenseClient-choc" (connect: 1.86s, validation: 0.14s, handshake: 0.61s)
    [Licensing::Module] Connected to LicensingClient (PId: 34886, launch time: 0.00, total connection time: 2.61s)
    Entitlement-based licensing initiated
    [Licensing::Module] Successfully updated the access token isdsdsds0ff
    [LicensingClient] Licenses updated successfully
    [Licensing::Module] Serial number assigned to: "Fsdsds"
    Pro License: NO
    2021-09-14 21:54:41.867 Unity[34885:1049699] Unable to load nib file: MainMenu, exiting
     
  4. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    2,361
    Can you trying reinstalling?
    It looks like some file that is required is not found.
     
  5. tbillington

    tbillington

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Reinstalling the hub and the alpha editor fixed whatever issue was there.
     
    aleksandrk likes this.
unityunity