Search Unity

  1. Click here to see what's on sale for the "Best of Super Sale" on the Asset Store
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Experimental HDRP DXR

Discussion in 'HDRP Ray Tracing' started by SebLagarde, Apr 4, 2019.

  1. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    In Path Tracing when I have glass surface it looks like I get limit range with render distance.
    Background is simple sphere with map on it. In Interpolated mode is ok.
    You can see when I increase size of this sphere it disappear through glass. When glass from window is OFF then is ok.
    I have to put really close this sphere to see surface.
    Where can be problem?
    PT.gif
     
  2. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    I finish this scene.
    My observations:
    - a lot improvements in HDRP 10.x
    - better Path Tracing compatibility with standard system
    - finally better DoF engine!
    - transparency works better with different layers (windows glass) + SSR !
    - I feel faster working whole system (better GI/reflection sampling? or placebo...) I use less samples than previous version to get better result.
    - better reflection (still no GI in reflection) but looks better


    Latest beta 2020:
    image_2020-10-08_16-17-37.png image_2020-10-08_16-11-19.png image_2020-10-08_16-11-42.png image_2020-10-08_16-14-02.png image_2020-10-08_16-15-23.png
     
  3. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
  4. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
  5. INedelcu

    INedelcu

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Posts:
    56
  6. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Updated the the latest 10.x GIT and using 2020.2b6, and getting these erros on an empty project (well not empty, the HDRP template scene converted to DXR)

    How do I get rid of those or fix it?

    upload_2020-10-9_17-37-40.png
     
  7. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    278
    Ugh, implementing those runtime gizmos & other build stuff is harder than I thought:

    Still there are some things to fix...
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2020
  8. SebLagarde

    SebLagarde

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Posts:
    764
    Hi, we don't experience this. We have removed the cloud layer recently, so I expect you have a problem locally, either you have files that haven't been removed correctly or you have problem with package cache?
     
  9. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Will the cloud layer be coming back in a different form at some point?
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2020
    sqallpl likes this.
  10. copperrobot

    copperrobot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    50
    This looks great! Can you run through your emissive light settings? I don't seem to be able to get it working outside of path tracing.
     
  11. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    278
    Thanks ). Here they are:
    Emissive settings HDRP v10.1.jpg
     
  12. copperrobot

    copperrobot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    50
  13. copperrobot

    copperrobot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    50
    Hey, tried those, but still only getting a glowy sphere, rather than one that lights up the scene.

    This is with RT on quality and all the rest.

    Would you have time to provide a project to test? It can be basically empty, except for an object to demonstrate? I really appreciate anything you can do. This has been driving me crazy for weeks.
     
  14. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    278
    Here it is (Unity 2020.2b6 project using default HDRP 10.0.0.27preview, but it will work same way with HDRP 10.1+ if needed).
     
    copperrobot likes this.
  15. copperrobot

    copperrobot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    50
    Thanks! Really appreciate it.
     
  16. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    278
    A week ago a kind soul removed this 50 m range limit for ray-tracing and that is awesome by itself ). To stretch this limit before fix arrived I did downscale my scenes 10 times and added a layer of complexity to my scripts to deal with that. But when I removed all coding related to this issue & return scenes to their original scale I've noticed tremendous quality loss for denoiser - here are comparison shots:
    1. Day time - normal object scale 1.0
    Day example - normal scale.jpg
    2. Day time - scene objects downscaled 10x (AO saves the day here, without it image looks smooth but flat, no small details).
    Day example - downscale 10 times.jpg
    3. Night time - normal objects scale 1.0
    Night emissives example - normal scale.jpg
    4. Night time - scene objects downscaled 10x
    Night emissives example - downscale 10x.jpg

    Seems there are some kind of cascades for denosier that looks much better at close range and goes postal at the distance... so, a feature request - a slider to control those cascades ratio or something, without downscale scene objects 10 times denoiser gives really poor results at distance (and for emissives it's not usable at all, at least at night)... Please ).

    Note that then you downscale scene 10 times there a price (small details are smoothed out by GI almost completely, but ray traced AO helps to return some of those; also GI filter radius "0.3" becomes something like "3.0" and there is a lot of light leaking through walls because of that. But anyway - better then insane noise).

    P.S. Probably this will help in this problem too, to a degree...

    P.S.S. Probably this feature request is all about "to have denoiser filter radius more than "1.0" for GI, up to "5.0" or so. Or it's about denoiser cascades...?
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2020
    newguy123 likes this.
  17. auzaiffe

    auzaiffe

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Posts:
    46
    We removed the limit for the RTR and RTGI because it made sense. However for the denoiser, the problem is more complex than that. Simply exposing a higher denoiser radius is not a viable solution, we keep track of the problem you've reported and we'll tackle it eventually.
     
    m0nsky and Lex4art like this.
  18. m0nsky

    m0nsky

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    72
    I've been experimenting with it for a while

    Experimental-DXR denoiser (april 2019)
    Ported to the current HDRP/staging


    HDRP/staging default denoiser
    You can get it to somewhat match the old denoiser, but even at low denoiser radius there will always be 'mismatched' coordinates visible which will increase according to the radius.


    HDRP/staging modified denoiser
    Altering the generated sample to eliminate mismatched pixels at a denoiser radius of 1.


    However, the above modified version is "incorrect", would love to see an official solution for this.

    Also, I noticed a parameter for camera relative ray tracing got added to the update method for the acceleration structure, but it seems like it's not using the update function and rebuilding the acceleration structure every frame. Is it just updating internally or actually rebuilding which is causing the high CPU frametimes? I read Metro Exodus has two BVHs, a TLAS (top level acceleration structure) which rebuilds, and a BLAS (bottom level acceleration structure) which uses impostor meshes and only updates. I wonder if we could automatically generate a BLAS with an impostor layer generated by a mesh simplifier using async jobs? :D

    There's a lot of good info in here:
    https://developer.download.nvidia.c...ploring-ray-traced-future-in-metro-exodus.pdf

    Another denoiser issue is that everything currently seems to be "waving", not just RTGI, but also the shadows. This has been posted before, but it seems like it's not just lagging/ghosting a bit "behind", but actually generating weird shapes here and there.

     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2020
  19. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
  20. CoredD

    CoredD

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    It look like unity HDRP + DXR is not working well with dual-gpu with SLI enabled. It makes the editor completely crazy not drawing properly any windows. I tried different version (2020.2.b7 and 2019.4.6f1). If I disable the SLI in NVidia control panel then the problem disappear and unity run normally. Is there any settings I am missing or is it just a unity issue ?
     
  21. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    CoredD SLI is maybe good solution for Maxwell or Octane but for Unity/Unreal simple is not worth. Also SLI has a lot limitations and coding problems.I suggest go to 3090 as single card. I am not sure how SLI will be supported in UNITY...probably not so much...too many problems to handle data between two cards.
    This is just my opinion and guess ....
     
    CoredD likes this.
  22. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,620
  23. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,620
    the new hdrp default scene is really awesome. here's a little dragon from malbers in it

    ld 1.jpg

    is there some way to have the path tracer calculate longer? it kinda stopped with the glass and now it's a tad noisy
     
    chap-unity, OCASM and valarus like this.
  24. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    Rowlan Did you put maximum passes for PT? Lately, they increased amount of like over 4000 passes.
     
  25. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,620
    Oh, thank you! Gotta amp it up and re-render.
     
  26. Onat-H

    Onat-H

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    124
    Whenever I enable any RT Effect in my volume I get the following error:
    NullReferenceException: Object refernce not set to an instance of an object
    UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDRenderPipeline.BuildRayTracingAccerlerationStrructure (UnityEngine.Rendering.HightDefinition.HDCamera hdCamera)

    Does anyone have an idea? I'm on 10.1 from the package manager
     
  27. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,620
    Now this is odd:

    * the Unity window must have the focus for the tracer to work, ie I can't browse the forums while it renders
    * when it has the focus, the tracer works but CPU is at 3%. GUP is 100%, so that's fine?

    Is there a way to speed things up?
     
  28. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,620
    It's odd. It seems to give focus on the front parts while ignoring the background

    ld 8.jpg
     
    newguy123 likes this.
  29. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    Thats correct.
    Utilization of GPU sometimes goes up 100% which provoke lags in system and is normal. This is not gaming when most power of GPU is in idle mode.
    CPU is correct because whole job does GPU.
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  30. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    please precise more where is problem.
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  31. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,620
    The wall here is rather noisy

    wall.jpg
     
  32. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,620
    Re-did the scene from yesterday. By the way is there some way to path trace a game? I guess I have to pause it and let the renderer do its magic?

    rt00.jpg
    rt01.jpg
    rt03.jpg
    rt04.jpg
    rt05.jpg
     
    newguy123 and keeponshading like this.
  33. keeponshading

    keeponshading

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    610
    I did some prototype with vehicle physics pro because it has an replay function.
    You drive a round and then you can enable the pathtracer per volume on the recorded drive replay.
    It took 30h to finish the frames.)

    But my target is to run 60fps on the .exe with all raytracing volume overides enabled in -dx12 mode. With lots of layering and on the volumes and by only raytracing the objects who are really needed per effect it is possible with new NVidia.

    btw. Your second dragon shot remebered me on this nice island demo from mr f. The guy who did bakery.
    Check it out. Build Download also available in video description.
     
    fuzzy3d likes this.
  34. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    Simple is dark there...needs more photons, that's why you see noise. Its normal in GI. You need more samples to clean up this region.
     
  35. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
  36. keeponshading

    keeponshading

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    610
    When you generate textured proxy geometrys for your high detailed geometry and you then raytrace GI against this proxy layer it s possible now too. It costs around 5fps on 2560x1440 resolution and a 2080 rtx. Full geometry around -25fps.
     
  37. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    keeponshading propably yes but when scene is complex like many physical lights, reflection blur, transparency is simply impossible now.....just we must wait next 5 years :D
     
  38. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    278
    *it will be really interesting to see how a path-traced output + denoiser will perform XD*
     
    chap-unity likes this.
  39. athosrojas

    athosrojas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    well after i read all the posts... ufff. i see no one talked about. so i will. using unity recorder to generate 360 images , the ai denoiser dont works. looks like the scene preview window where the denoiser its not active . i using unity 2020.1.10f1 with hdrp last production ready version . and RTX features like global ilumination and RTX ambient occlusion dont get denoised on recorded frames if i use raster ambient occlusion its ok. if turn off global illumination its ok too but when use all of it denoiser dont works. looks ok in game view but the rendered images looks totaly noised. for normal render its ok this problem is just for 360 rendered images.
     
    newguy123 likes this.
  40. Janusz_Biela

    Janusz_Biela

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    161
    2020.2.0b9 is "broken" too many bugs...so I had to roll back to 2020.2.0b8
    - Background GI has issue (looks like ambient light) I think they leave that develop purposes in future
    - problems with refreshing GI (like sleeping DXR)
    All above probably for developing purposes that's why I said "broken"
     
  41. auzaiffe

    auzaiffe

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Posts:
    46
    I just fixed the shadow waving/ghosting/dancing issue, a PR will be there soon.
     
    Lex4art, m0nsky, Rowlan and 2 others like this.
  42. athosrojas

    athosrojas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    some trick for who need to render 360 animations with DXR raytracing??? some app on unity store working? ahh
    render elements with recorder dont work with raytracing too , no depth pass , no AO pass etc.
     
  43. athosrojas

    athosrojas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    i dont know if this is the place for that but , the fact is: in hdrp(any version) recorder dont generate stereoscopic images * i try with several 360 stereoscopic players like deo vr and gizmo vr (oculus rift versions ) and dont works, if i force the stereo using adobe premiere function vr projection i can get a stereo video from the unity recorder render but totaly wrong and exagerated.(if i use legacy pipeline the stereo render works ok) this and more ai denoiser dont working in 360 for dxr raytracing features. render passes dont working with dxr raytracing. global ilumination dont working with vegetation speed trees. global ilumination dont working with terrains... its much things dont working. for a real production enviroment its useless. maybe in one more year.
     
  44. m0nsky

    m0nsky

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    72


    For anyone else wondering, the PR definitely solved the waving issues for RTGI/RTAO/shadows.

    The acceleration structure does seem to choke heavily in the bistro scene, to the point switching all ray traced effects to half resolution doesn't even raise the framerate at all.

    I tried combining meshes and separating meshes, it seems to perform the best with a lot of separate meshes (makes sense, but wanted to see it myself), so I think the only options are to make heavy use of impostor meshes or completely exclude things (acceleration structure culling?). Obviously you wouldn't want anything not in screen to disappear from ray traced effects, but I don't need a table or house in the next street in the acceleration structure either.



    Edit
    If you don't dispose the RTAS in the next frame, but just update the transforms, without rebuilding, everything seems to stay working even if you move the camera, but you get twice the framerate. Does this mean there's a lot of performance to be gained for static objects?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
    Slaghton, auzaiffe, INedelcu and 5 others like this.
  45. athosrojas

    athosrojas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    well tested with unity 2019 LTS and hdrp 7 , recorder dont generate 360 stereo images. happen the same as 2020. legacy works all ok , beautyfull 360 stereoscopic. but hdrp noup. if i am post in wrong place plz point me for the correct place and feel free to move the posts. i posting here cause my main objective is use DXR raytracing to render 360 stereoscopic images. so i see cant use DXR for 360 cause ai denoiser dont happen in 360 rendered images and worst, dont generate stereoscopic render with DXR and without DXR. peace.
     
  46. wenzy

    wenzy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    Very Nice! Looks so smooth. Are there all ray tracing? No baked lighting?
     
    m0nsky likes this.
  47. m0nsky

    m0nsky

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    72
    Indeed, no baking.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
    wenzy likes this.
  48. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,862
    wenzy, Lex4art, m0nsky and 1 other person like this.
  49. athosrojas

    athosrojas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    first excuses. unity recorder is generating yes 360 stereo. the problem is that I don’t find a player inside the oculus store that I recognize. the deo vr player needs to turn on an "alternative mode" to recognize the 3d stereo generated by unity, in adobe premiere in vr anaglyph mode i can clearly perceive the stereo generated by unity including increase in adobre premiere if necessary. any suggestions for a 360 video player in the oculus store that recognizes 360 stereo up down generated by unity ?? i posted on youtube 2 renders one normal video ( its all ok and looks good for me ) and one 360 stereo with totaly disable denoiser
    normal render ok

    360 stereo with denoiser dont working
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
  50. athosrojas

    athosrojas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    about my last post i solved the problem for 360 noised, was to much high clamp value. , i trying the new 2021.1.0a4 and getting compilation errors for RTX features how to solve it??
     
unityunity