Search Unity

Unity errors when compiling valid code - what version of C# language is supported?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by malyzeli, Jan 26, 2016.

1. malyzeli

malyzeli

Hello everybody!

I started working with Unity recently, but I have many years of experience in multiple programming languages, and I'm always trying to utilize maximum of advanced features of the language. I discovered there are some expressions which are valid C# code, but Unity has trouble compiling it, so I'm assuming those are newer language features which Unity can't comprehend. When it happened first time, I just ignored it, but since I found multiple occurrences of this thing, I decided to ask here.

So, what version of C# language is supported in Unity?

I'm using amazing VS plugin Jetbrains ReSharper, which watches over your code and (apart from unbeatable refactoring features) it suggests you many improvements of your code like correct naming conventions and newer syntax of stuff you could write better in today C#.

I'm quite new in C# development and Visual Studio is not my native IDE, so I would really appreciate if somebody could tell me how can I set corresponding language version for the project, so the plugin would stop recommending me to use syntax which is not supported by older compilers.

If there is any way how to make this code to compile in Unity so I can keep using latest language features, it would be even better!

There are some problematic snippets I found:

New string interpolation expression - not working
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Debug.Log($"Repeated Initialization Blocked on {gameObject.name} ({gameObject.GetInstanceID()})");
    Old string format method - working
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Debug.Log(String.Format("Repeated Initialization Blocked on {0} ({1})", gameObject.name, gameObject.GetInstanceID()));

Error message

Code (CSharp):
    1. Script.cs(18,27): error CS1525: Unexpected symbol `<internal>'
    New lambda property accessor - not working