Search Unity

Unity entering play mode slowly due to spending 10-20 seconds in ReloadAssemblies?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by fracturefalcon, May 19, 2017.

1. fracturefalcon

fracturefalcon

My issue is that entering play mode takes forever. I've been having this issue... I want to say since I upgraded to Unity 5, but I'm not actually sure because that was like two years ago. I have spent a lot of time just living with it because I had school projects I needed to do to graduate.

Up to this point, I've updated Unity to the latest version as of today (5.6.1f1) and did a full reinstall, including clearing out any residual Unity references in my AppData folder (to the best of my ability). I also updated my graphics card drivers. For what it's worth, I've been running Unity on this computer for about 4 years now. Edit: I've also tried disabling my antivirus.

I don't think the specs for my laptop are necessarily relevant, but here they are - it's an Alienware I got about four years ago, but it's still pretty good IMO:

Windows 7
    Processor: Intel i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40 GHz
    RAM: 16 GB
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 770M (Drivers are up to date as of earlier this week)

I have an integrated graphics card and a GPU and I've made sure Unity's running on the GPU, most notably by making it run like even slower S*** on the integrated card.

I can repro it in an empty project, so let's just talk about that.

In a project I've just opened, when I go to enter Play Mode, it takes maybe 2-3 seconds. This is long, but not too big of a deal. In subsequent attempts, even if I immediately close and re-enter Play Mode, it will spike up to anywhere between 10-20 seconds. I have developed a game in these circumstances, but it sucks and I'd like to figure out how to fix it. So I pulled out the Unity Profiler and ran it on the editor.

See the attached picture for what that looked like.