Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback Unity Editor Scripting Just Plain "Tedious"

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Jadefire16, Mar 22, 2021.

?

Which do you use?

1. UI Elements

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  2. IMGUI

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  3. Both

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. other

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Jadefire16

Jadefire16

Here I am to add my piece to the thousands of read and ignored messages about the Editor in Unity.

I've been developing some tools for about 6 months now and in that time through all my hours of researching it's always led to hacky solutions to common problems which have been ignored for 5+ years or longer.
    Sometimes its worse and you simply realize there's a single undocumented function which will do exactly what you want after searching for 6 hours, usually found on the bottom of some stackoverflow post from 5 years ago.
    You see out of all of that time almost 75% of that has been writing, and rewriting, and rewriting andddd rewriting Editor code and trying to make it not only look "okay" at best, but functional.
    The state of the UI Elements docs is pretty atrocious at best, I've already submitted a report but it'll likely get thrown away like many other issues. So unfortunately after days of just trying to get something to work with it, I swapped to IMGUI which is tedious on the best of days.
    Here's what I personally think has been the most headache inducing:

1. Lack of documentation. What isn't hidden is barely understandable when it comes to the Editor, especially when using Asset Database, what "path" refers to is always a nice gamble whether it be a full object path, a folder or what have you, I spent an entire month writing a library just so I didn't have to deal with the headaches it caused.