Search Unity

1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Bug Unity changes subraphs to others at random when using prefabs.

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by genryuu111, Jul 22, 2022.

1. genryuu111

genryuu111

Hello, first time posting here, and for the record, I just started one month ago using Unity, and since I have no coding background, I've been using Visual Scripting.
    It's a tool I'm having fun with, and I find it often intuitive.

But, I've been having this bug that is preventing me to proceed smoothly with my project.

I have some prefabs, and some of them are loaded directly into the scene.
    I'm using several subgraphs.
    When I take a prefab (in this case, an enemy) into the scene, no issue. But once I run the game, sometimes (not always, and not necessarily in the same place) a subgraph will be changed to another one in the enemy in the scene. It will remain changed even after quitting the game. The prefab stays as it's meant to, but I need to delete the enemy from the scene and put it back.
    And, more often than not, it will do the same thing again.

I'm pretty sure it's a bug and not an intended thing. I wonder if it's a known thing? Is there anything I can do to prevent this?
    I started the project on 2021.3.4f1 and I have updated to 2021.3.6f1. The issue has been there in both versions.

I'll upload a picture to compare what the prefab looks like and what the enemy's script graph looks like once the bug occurs. unity bug.png

2. ncr100

ncr100

Hi, congrats on making progress with Unity - visual scripting is a good way to go, IMO.

I don't know the answer, off the top of my head. I am curious to learn more: