Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity cannot open any project

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by MikaMobile, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. MikaMobile

    MikaMobile

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    840
    Encountered with Unity 2017.1.1 on Mac OS 10.12 (also happens with a clean install of the latest patch release, p3).

    I was working on a project that I'd had open for several days without exiting the editor. I needed to restart my computer so I quit Unity and rebooted my mac. Now, Unity hangs when opening any project, including a brand new one. This occurs after selecting the project from the launch window. No error message or crash window appears, it just silently hangs with "application not responding" in the dock. One time in about 15 attempts I was actually able to open a new, blank project, but the rest of the time it has failed, and I'm completely unable to work.

    Any suggestions? I'll just be sitting here banging my head against a wall, fondly remembering a time long ago when my tools were reliable.
     
  2. MikaMobile

    MikaMobile

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    840
    More weirdness - opened up a different project in 5.6, and that worked. Did some more fooling around with 2017, came back to 5.6 and now it TOO won't open that project anymore, nor can it open a new blank project. Something is seriously broken here.
     
  3. MikaMobile

    MikaMobile

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    840
    After running into this with pretty much every Unity version I have installed, I figured it must be some kind of license problem. I deactivated my seat, deleted my license files, and went through activation again. This didn't help.

    Last ditch idea I had was to just pull my ethernet cord, just in case there was some analytics/license bullshit happening. Lo and behold, this works! So now I'm able to work again, and I now know that Unity is S***ting the bed if it has access to the internet. I'd love a real solution, but at least I can do my job again for now.
     
  4. graveckmatt

    graveckmatt

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    I just encountered this and your solution to disconnect from the internet worked. Thanks for the info.
     
    taco24 likes this.
  5. faatal

    faatal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    This could be what we started seeing this afternoon. About 4 different developers all have Unity hanging after we select a project. After about 1 second the CPU use goes to 0% and stays that way. We tried a ton of things. It seems like a race condition. If we set CPU Affinity to just CPU 0 on project selector window, it will start loading the project, then we can set it back to all CPUs.

    Edit:
    This was on PC.
    5.6.3p3, 2017.1.0f3, 2017.1.1f1, 2017.1.1p3.
     
    AdmiralThrawn, Adam-Bailey and taco24 like this.
  6. kihuen

    kihuen

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same problems here. Very frustratingly, Unity launches safely without internet connections! We found the almost same editor logs just after the hang.

    We tried http://update.unity3d.com/5.6/ivy.xml with browsers, and no luck today. Might be this cause of the problem?
     
  7. taco24

    taco24

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem here. On OSX startup of any project failed. We tried reinstalling different versions of Unity (2017.1.*, 2017.2.*) but it didn't change anything. Disconnecting from the Internet solved the problem.
     
    ricogs400 likes this.
  8. faatal

    faatal

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Still flaky today. 2017.1.1p3 is hanging about 50% of the time I open a project!
    5.6.3 also had an activation error when I opening it today, since I had deleted the license files yesterday. On second attempt it activated.
     
    ricogs400 likes this.
  9. Hassurunous

    Hassurunous

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Thank god someone has a fix for this. Disconnecting from the internet got me past the freezing. I'm on 2017.1.1f1 and it just suddenly crashed and then wouldn't open anything. I've spent the last hour trying various fixes before I found this thread.
     
    ricogs400 likes this.
  10. ricogs400

    ricogs400

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Posts:
    13
    Me too, on 2017.1.0.p4.
     
  11. Adam-Bailey

    Adam-Bailey

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Posts:
    229
    I just tried this with 2017.1.0f3 and it worked for me. Tried the same project 6 times, 3 with your method launching the project successfully and 3 without doing it where project didn't open.
     
    faatal likes this.
  12. BlueKyle

    BlueKyle

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Also encountered this problem with Unity 5.4.3 on Mac OS 10.12.3
    Already tried uninstall and install unity and reboot mac but nothing happened.

    Thank you for your solution to disconnect from internet. It works well
     
  13. sylon

    sylon

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Posts:
    242
    I think the issue in this thread is the same thing?
     
  14. led42

    led42

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Got the same thing on Mac OS 10.12.6 tried, 2017.1,1, 2017.1.1p2 and 2017.1.1p3, turning off network worked though.
     
  15. IvyKun

    IvyKun

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Posts:
    96
    Same here!

    Deleting temp and obj folder before opening the project works, but sadly not every time.
     
  16. LukasH

    LukasH

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Our company has the exact same issue! Very Frustrating!
     
  17. KeldorKatarn

    KeldorKatarn

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Posts:
    53
    I have the same issue, although it's not consistent. If I create a fresh empty project, unity creates the project, then idles as a background thread, never opening the project. Some projects cannot be opened at all... unity goes into an idling background thread. I haven't tried cutting the internet connection but even if that works, that's no solution for me at all. I need that to work.
     
  18. Mese

    Mese

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Once the project is openned, you can re-enable your Network and manually log in into Unity Services.
    So you can have network and Unity :)
    But its a pain in the butt having to disconnect your network everytime you want to open a project.
     
  19. KeldorKatarn

    KeldorKatarn

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Posts:
    53
    I am using a personal license, meaning I do not have a license key. Unity doesn't allow me to use it offline. At least I don't know how to manually activate anything without a license key, which as a personal user you don't have.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  20. juan-uran

    juan-uran

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    We are experiencing some problems with our DNS server, and it's affecting intermittently. We don't have a fix yet, but there are two workarounds:

    Workaround 1: Disconnect the network.

    Workaround 2: Add

    127.0.0.1 update.unity3d.com

    To /etc/hosts (Mac) or C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts (Windows).

    Please, use one of these to solve the issue for now.
     
  21. TheJimz

    TheJimz

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Posts:
    42
    Hopefully you fix Unity to handle this gracefully!
     
  22. KeldorKatarn

    KeldorKatarn

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Posts:
    53
    Agreed. Unity shouldn't just go into idling forever without even any kind of message to the user. Heck since it's in the background you don't even see an idling status bar. It just doesn't show anything. That's no way to react to a not found server.
     
    faatal likes this.
  23. joe90

    joe90

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Im glad I found this.. I just installed on my brand new mac (highest spec pro, so it should work fine, and I only say this to show its not on older machines that are not 'clean') - I then installed and setup at home, first monodev crashes on startup, but I prefer to use VS anyways. So came into the office this morning, and it would not startup.. Disabled the wifi (now on the work wifi, not my home) and it worked..

    This needs to be sorted really.

    I will check when I get home to see it it plays nice again on the network it was setup on.

    /edit just read it is a DNS error
     
  24. xpkoalz

    xpkoalz

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    I am facing the same problem too. Been working on the project without problems, then suddenly this evening it hangs. Unable to open it until I disconnected from WiFi. Please fix this problem is ridiculous!
     
    sebastianomorando likes this.
  25. sebastianomorando

    sebastianomorando

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hi I modified the etc/hosts but when I start Unity the launcher stay all gray
     
  26. PhantomFighter

    PhantomFighter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    After doing this the editor still sat as a background process for a long time for me. It eventually came up, 30-60 mins later after leaving computer unattended for a while...
     
  27. LeGiangAnh

    LeGiangAnh

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Posts:
    105
    Happened with Unity 2017.2.0f3 as well
     
  28. DonkyeyUppercut

    DonkyeyUppercut

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I'm on Unity 5.4,5 p4.

    Nivida 970, Windows 10

    Project was running fine for a while, then X weeks ago, I'd open the project - one which an entire team has no problems opening - and it crashed after trying to build the library.

    Since then, I've done multiple re-installs, set it to run offline and I've done the temp fix above to my hosts file.

    Nothing.

    It crashes and sticks in the task manager eating RAM and nothing else.
     
  29. jmeek

    jmeek

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Try this, it worked for me.

    For Windows 10 and 8
    1. Press the Windows key.
    2. Type Notepad in the search field.
    3. In the search results, right-click Notepad and select Run as administrator.
    4. From Notepad, open the following file: c:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts
    5. Copy and paste the following text on a new line in this file: 127.0.0.1 update.unity3d.com
    6. Click File > Save to save your changes.
    7. Open Unity and that should fix the DNS issue from now on.

    For Windows 7 and Vista

    1. Click Start > All Programs > Accessories.
    2. Right-click Notepad and select Run as administrator.
    3. Click Continue on the Windows needs your permission UAC window.
    4. When Notepad opens, click File > Open.
    5. In the File name field, type C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts.
    6. Click Open.
    7. Copy and paste the following text on a new line in this file: 127.0.0.1 update.unity3d.com
    8. Click File > Save to save your changes.
    9. Open Unity and that should fix the DNS issue from now on.
     
  30. monark

    monark

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,494
    This worked for me temporarily, I was able to open my project (in U5.6) but then after about an hour it hung whilst compiling changes.
     
  31. monark

    monark

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,494
    So in fact this might be down to the High Sierra Mac OSX update knackering smb server connections, still exploring that...
     
  32. AdmiralThrawn

    AdmiralThrawn

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    I have been running into this some times problem, but this time it was really nasty. I logged off from my account (started in offline mode), cleaned the Library folder, disconnected from the internet, NOTHING worked. Finally, after a windows restart and starting in offline mode finally let me see the project again.

    Unity, this bug is a total production killer! We would appreciate it very much if you fix it as soon as possible.
     
  33. cgarrotti

    cgarrotti

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    no work ! no work ! no work ! no work ! no work !
     
  34. Eneco

    Eneco

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    yes, this issue still exist...
    unity3d 2017.3.0p3
     
  35. PabloAM

    PabloAM

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Added DNS changes and Still is not working!!

    Trying with offline mode, and neither!!

    This happens to me randomly and this take down all the productivity!!!

    Fix it!
     
  36. diegosato

    diegosato

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    This still happens with me from 2017.1.0f3 up to 2017.3.0f3, with any project! Tried all workarounds and nothing fixed it.
     
  37. imtehQ

    imtehQ

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Posts:
    230
    This is this a issue...

    Edit: A work around i found was to open a scene file in a project.
    This will open the editor without a issue.
    However it will sometimes just stop loading midway then open the task manager open unity and kill node.js process

    However this does not solve the issue that you can not create a new project :/
     
  38. Teohh

    Teohh

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem: I tried to open any Unity projects(even brand new ones) but i couldn't, it just started a backgroud process. I tried to disconnect from internet and i tried to edit the DNS file, but still didn't work. Turns out it was all because I had an xbox controller plugged in and Unity didn't like it at all. As soon as I disconnected it, everything worked just fine.
     
  39. -lt

    -lt

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Posts:
    3

    ----------
    ..open a scene file in a project.
    This did work for me - using Unity 2018.2.0f2 on Mac High Sierra. I tried disabling internet, rebooting, etc and nothing but LOADING... message when opening unity. I went in and opened a specific scene file and it got past the Loading.. message and showed me my previous projects - opened up fine after that.
     
    imtehQ likes this.
  40. FourMileFox

    FourMileFox

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Not sure if this will help everyone, but I was able to fix this by rebooting my router.