Search Unity

Unity Books

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NickJ, Jan 11, 2012.

1. NickJ

NickJ

I am new to this engine. I just wanted to know if there are any "great" books that can help me learn about using Unity?

2. coffinsnail

coffinsnail

3. UnknownProfile

UnknownProfile

This may be what you're looking for.

4. vdek

vdek

I got this book recently, I highly recommend it, it covers code in both C# and unityscript.

5. DrPygameNewb

DrPygameNewb

How much does it cover in terms of what type of games you can make base on that code?

6. coffinsnail

coffinsnail

If you understand the code you can make anything you want. limits of game design are limited to the imagination.

7. DrPygameNewb

DrPygameNewb

I looked at a couple unity books but they didn't explain much about what you have to do to make a game.

8. UnknownProfile

UnknownProfile

If you want a "How to make a game in general" book I wouldn't suggest looking at the Unity-specific titles. Those are more focused. I would suggest a game design book with a more holistic view that is not specific to any particular piece of software.

9. vdek

vdek

It goes over HUDs, inventories, scoring systems, character scripting, the terrain engine, rigidbodies, the particle system, menus,animations.

You make a first person game along with some minigames in it, it teaches you the basics, from there on its up to you.

My favorite part of the book is that its both c# and unityscript.

10. purplelilgirl

purplelilgirl

11. DrPygameNewb

DrPygameNewb

What minigames are covered though? Matching, picking up objects and putting them somewhere? A shooting gallery?

Plus how would you compared this book to 3.x Example Beginner's Guide?

iOS related books are something I'm holding back on until a few detailed reviews are written.

That is why I decided to wait awhile longer.

12. jmpp

jmpp

Here's a list of other up-coming books to keep an eye on: