Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We have updated the language to the Editor Terms based on feedback from our employees and community. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Assets [Unity Awards 2018 - BEST ARTISTIC TOOL Winner] Aura - Volumetric Lighting

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by raphick, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    Not with Aura 1, yes with Aura 2
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  2. ManiaCCC

    ManiaCCC

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    Thank you very much for your hard work :) Can't wait for Aura 2..
     
    Mark_01 and raphick like this.
  3. Loden_Heathen

    Loden_Heathen

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    457
    Have used Aura for a fair bit now but never had cause to get it into a build
    We started a new project and are using Aura 1 at the moment ... looks great in editor but is a no show in a build (2018.3.4) not sure why.

    I hadn't heard your doing an Aura 2 till now ... and it looks relly cool .... from what I have read.

    As to the issue with Aura on standalone build, is there a reason it shouldn't be working on 2018.3.4?
    No errors appear in the log, our scene setup might be a bit non-standard though it all plays nice in editor ... details follow.

    We have a 'main scene' which defines the camera and a few UI bits thus it also defines the postprocessing stack and Aura componenet. This main scene has lights or environment. At runtime a enviornment scene is loaded and this does contain aura volumes and lights ... see image below.
    As you can see in editor it does as expected, no errors ... and as noted there are no errors in the logs on build.
    I have tried setting up a Shader Preload incase something was getting stripped but that didn't seem to have any effect ...

    Dev_Screenshots_002.jpg
    As to the attached image
    What you see is a UI which is part of the main scene and an environment with baked lighting, 2 aura volumes and directional light with aura on it. The environment scene is loaded at run time and set as the active scene.

    Log from a test run is attached as well, nothing stood out to me as an issue with Aura
     

    Attached Files:

  4. threeguysgamestudio

    threeguysgamestudio

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Awesome asset, and I will be purchasing Aura 2 as soon as it's out!

    I am wondering if you might help me with some flickering, though (through transparent/cutoff shaders) as seen here:



    Reducing Ambient Density to 0 makes the flickers go away. Is there something I need to do with the shader to resolve this problem?

    Thanks!

    [Update]
    So I'm trying to add the code necessary for the shaders to work with Aura, however, I'm not super fluent with shader coding. I'm getting a compile error, <invalid subscript 'frustumSpacePosition'>.

    I'm not clear on what I'm supposed to be adding from the Docs, there's the black background code and then the italicized Aura methods above it...do I use both?

    Probably an example would go a long way to help =)
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
  5. Leocesar

    Leocesar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    45
    Hi Raph! I'm having this problem. In Game view in editor everything works fine, but when I build the game the point lights doesn't work correctly. What am I doing wrong? Thanks. problem.png
     
  6. Loden_Heathen

    Loden_Heathen

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    457
    I wonder if this is related to the issue we are having. In our case Aura doesn't seem to be at play at all in build but works as expected in editor. Feel like I'm missing something simple.

    In your case is it only point lights or all lights not sure what all you have in the scene you showed ... looks cool by the way.
     
  7. Leocesar

    Leocesar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    45
    Thanks for your reply lodendsg! I only used point lights in the scene to test Aura in my game project. But as I needed a volumetric lighting solution asap, I switched from Aura to the Adam project implementation in the following link:
    https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/VolumetricLighting
    It is easyer to setup and tweek and gave me some nice performant results. I'm using the latest Unity version (2018.3.5f1). See image bellow:
    newTest.png
     
  8. threeguysgamestudio

    threeguysgamestudio

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    I think I'm somewhat getting there, but the Unity Editor gives me this compile error when I try to #Include Aura.cginc:

    Unexpected token '('. Expected one of: ',' ';' at Structs.cginc (32)

    The Structs.cginc line it's talking about is:

    (32) half4x4 ToMatrix() <---this one
    (33) {
    (34) return half4x4(half4(a.x, b.x, c.x, d.x), half4(a.y, b.y, c.y, d.y), half4(a.z, b.z, c.z, d.z), half4(a.w, b.w, c.w, d.w));
    (35) }

    [Update]

    So normally Unity shaders can't declare methods inside structs, however you must be using this for your ComputeShader because when I tried to change things it broke.

    Should I wait til Aura 2 in order to modify my shaders to work, or is there another way around this error?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  9. Leocesar

    Leocesar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    45
    It's a known issue with Aura. Reduce the Far Clipping Plane parameter on you main camera and/or increase the Field of View value, values below 50 generates this kind of artifact.
     
    threeguysgamestudio likes this.
  10. Loden_Heathen

    Loden_Heathen

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    457
    Ive done some additional testing on our build and found that Aura was turning its self off ... but doesn't say why.

    (Filename: Line: 123)

    Located Aura object with enabled status of False

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime/Export/Debug.bindings.h Line: 45)

    Located Aura Volume object (Aura Global Volume) with enabled status of False

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime/Export/Debug.bindings.h Line: 45)

    Located Aura Volume object (Aura Planar Volume) with enabled status of False

    (Filename: C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime/Export/Debug.bindings.h Line: 45)

    The above are Debug.Log messages we added to a testing script which on start of the second scene searches for Aura object and the volumes that should be there and simply reports the enabled status of the componenets ...
    For my next trick I will see if I can figure out why they are disabled and what they do if I try to force them back on. The Auto-disable of Aura objects is a bit anoying so to the author I recomend handling that a bit different ... few sugestions follow.

    1st Let the developer choose what to do if some condition is true that the componenet cant be on and should be disabled. You could do this very easily for example by having the validation ran before any of your scripts as its own process and have that validation fire off events for Not Supported, Supported and any other environment type conditions you think should adjust handling. These events could then be used by us developers to call various functions for reporting the issue so its not a black box and possibly for resolving whatever issue there is effectivly overriding or modifying the validation.
    So lets say this Validation script had a Bool on it for IsValid ... we could decide if IsValid should be set to true or false. Each Aura object could then simply test 'IsValid' to see if it should disable its self. You could even be nice and have Aura objects register to this Validation object such that we could iterate over them at run time without having to do a search ... Cinamachine does this with its brain and virtual cameras and its handy.

    What ever solution you choose just make sure that it doesn't auto disable/enable things without telling the developer about it in some way, preferably a loud way thats hard to miss.
     
  11. Loden_Heathen

    Loden_Heathen

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    457
    Update on my last post ... I have confirmed that if I force the Aura objects to activate all works as expected so the issue appears to be simply that Aura deactivates its self incorrectly.
     
  12. Leocesar

    Leocesar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    45
    That was exactly what was happening to me. When I finished the build process, the Aura lights was deactivated. Strange behavior.
     
  13. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    779
    FYI, it's discontinued and doesn't support directional lights, so I'd stick with Aura if I were you.
     
    Subliminum likes this.
  14. Loden_Heathen

    Loden_Heathen

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    457
    We would recomend Aura for sake of quality as well ... over other options we have played with various ones from Asset Store and GitHub to include Unity's swing at volumetric lighting.

    We had looked at other options in the past and while Aura has its little quarks ... like disabling things for funnsies :/ ... and it can be tricky to learn how to adjust and get the results you want ... but once you overcome thouse which really isn't to hard just takes time and forum posts, we find the results with Aura are closer to our desired look than we could achieve with other options at least that is our experance so far.
     
  15. Loden_Heathen

    Loden_Heathen

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    457
    We reviewed the source from Aura and from what we could see it should have been that if Aura disabled its self that it should have reported as much to the log however we found no such record in the logs.
    We are trying to track down where exsactly its getting disabled so we can fix that and remove our current hack which is simply to find all the lights, volumes and the image effect and force them back on.
     
  16. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    Hello everybody thank you again for getting interested in Aura!
    Please remember that it's getting deprecated as Aura 2 will be out soon.

    Yes, this is an artifact coming from the depth occlusion. You can try to select a higher quality or disable it in the Settings tab of the Aura component.

    Unfortunately nothing. There are some case where point lights shadows seem not working. Will be fixed in Aura 2.

    Never encountered this. will keep it in mind for the future! Thanks!

    Not that I know. One possible clue is that the objects loading order has (again) changed and mess with the know problem of ordered activation needed in Aura. If so Aura 2 should solve the problem.
    I read your feedbacks. Thanks. This particular issue is known for a long time and comes from a wrong assumption. Unfortunately the whole architecture revolves around this. Bypassing the deactivation will only cause errors. This hassle is fixed in Aura 2.


    Thank you again all for your interest/investment in Aura 1 for the past year :)
     
  17. Adam-Bailey

    Adam-Bailey

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Posts:
    232
    Given the number of people who will still be using Aura V1 and asking questions about it it could be worth creating a new Aura 2 thread when that release time comes.
     
    one_one likes this.
  18. Loden_Heathen

    Loden_Heathen

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Posts:
    457
    Thanks for your hard work ... looking forward to Aura 2
    Do we know if 'soon' is days, weeks or months yet? I know 'soon' can be a scary thing to say as an indie just looking to adjust my short term tasks to suit.
     
    led_bet likes this.
  19. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    Of course!

    My pleasure!
    We're talking about days :rolleyes:
     
  20. Ruchir

    Ruchir

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    927
    Could you provide a comparison of hx volumetric lighting against aura volumetric lighting,fog volume and unity's own volumetric lighting in hdrp pipeline?:)
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
  21. dienat

    dienat

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Posts:
    417
    I tried to use your asset Aura using Unity 2018.3 but it gives me this error

    MissingReferenceException: The object of type 'ComputeShader' has been destroyed but you are still trying to access it.
    Your script should either check if it is null or you should not destroy the object.
    UnityEngine.ComputeShader.SetTexture (Int32 kernelIndex, System.String name, UnityEngine.Texture texture) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Shader.cs:672)
    AuraAPI.Frustum.ComputeData () (at Assets/Aura/Classes/Frustum.cs:188)
    AuraAPI.Aura.UpdateFrustrum () (at Assets/Aura/Classes/Aura.cs:351)
    AuraAPI.Aura.OnRenderImage (UnityEngine.RenderTexture src, UnityEngine.RenderTexture dest) (at Assets/Aura/Classes/Aura.cs:189)
     
  22. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    Read the readme/description and let the compute shader compile ;-)
     
  23. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    I'll be interviewed on stream with @TheMessyCoder
    this Saturday Feb 23rd on his Twitch channel.
    Last time was a fun!

    It's the opportunity to talk about Aura 2 status and features, join the party!


    aura2_interview.jpg
     
  24. Ruchir

    Ruchir

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    927
    Please reply
     
  25. ceebeee

    ceebeee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    395
    I'm sure they have better things to do than do a comparison for you. If you want to compare them, do it yourself.
     
  26. Mark_01

    Mark_01

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Posts:
    612
    Also hx volumetric or Fog volume 3 is not even their asset and why should they have that.
    Plus they have given the aura 1 for free, to be sure Aura 2 will be Great!!!
    Also, note, none of these assets have said they have hdrp pipeline, yet.
     
    raphick and Subliminum like this.
  27. SLGEric

    SLGEric

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I have been running into a rather large memory leak that I have narrowed down to be caused by Aura. In an empty project, I import Aura and build the project using the Directional Light Example scene. When running, it seems to allocate about 100MB/s until it crashes about 20-30 seconds later.

    I setup a barebones scene with just a camera and the aura component and built that, and it experiences the same result. If I then remove the Aura component I have no memory leak.

    Any idea what could be causing this?

    Additional info: I've tried debugging this with the unity memory profiler, and nothing shows up. Task manager reports 3+ GB memory use, but the profiler only shows a few hundred MB.

    I am currently using 2018.2.20, though I've also had it be reproduced in 2018.3
     
  28. SLGEric

    SLGEric

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Here is a shot of the scene, after running for about 30 seconds, x64 build (x86 build runs out of memory by this point):
    upload_2019-2-26_17-1-44.png
     
  29. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    It goes even beyond. I've always been ill at ease doing comparison with others because I think it's a biased process leading to disrespectful, unfair and intellectual dishonest results. All of them are fantastic works! Some have done their time, some are meant to be of restrictive use, some are still in development ...
    Besides, it's illusional to compare everything. Even if they seem alike, some things are not comparable, in terms or techniques, achievable results, performances, potential, flexibility, future oriented, ...
    All I can do is related the feedback I receive from the people that actually has done some comparison work themselves. Aura (and therefore Aura 2) technology apparently has the most flexibility, achievable quality, reasonable performances and seem to top in preferences of users. But again, these opinions may come from biased fellows :)

    It will :) It's a way-better Aura 1 :)

    Nope, they probably won't. About Aura 2, I risk not putting my finger in this ever changing machine until it's stabilized, or even better, out of preview.

    I am aware of small leaks coming from some shadow maps but not at this order or magnitude. I have changed a lot of things in Aura 2, let's see if this still happens to your with it.
     
  30. Ruchir

    Ruchir

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    927
    Aura 2 isn't free anymore:(:(
     
  31. FrozenEmpire

    FrozenEmpire

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Posts:
    96
    Sounds like it will be worth every penny to me

    Is there any update on timing... Still one or two days for Aura 2 to come in Feb ;)
     
  32. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365


    A long path has been traveled since the past 2,5 years and now that Aura 2 has been released, it's time for me to fully focus on Aura 2 and the future.

    I wanted with Aura to give a present to the community, to make our favorite engine step forward and share hard-to-access knowledge. You have overtaken my expectation way beyond what I imagined, meeting awesome people, sharing benevolence and showing that everyone could make it.
    The top of this awesome experience being winning the Unity Award 2018 of the BEST ARTISTIC TOOL.
    Thank you again 54 000 times for your returned love :)

    Aura will be deprecated in some time, but I currently leave it available so you can still download it.
    I'll leave this thread opened so you guys will still be able to interact and chat about Aura but it's very unlikely that I'll come here much anymore.

    You can check the thread dedicated to Aura 2 here : https://forum.unity.com/threads/aura-2-volumetric-lighting-fog.636229/
    or watch the release trailer :

    See you around another corner!
    Thank you!
     
  33. FrozenEmpire

    FrozenEmpire

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Posts:
    96
    Darn, should have waited another minute :)
    Congrats on the release in Feb !!!!
    Happy days ahead
     
    raphick likes this.
  34. Mark_01

    Mark_01

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Posts:
    612
    @raphick Very beautiful posting, thank you.
    For me, it is developers like you that care about Unity and the Community,
    that really makes Unity a special place.

    Congratulations with the release! I truly hope that Aura 2, can be nominated
    for the 2019 Unity Award for best artistic tool :)
     
    Subliminum and raphick like this.
  35. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    *finger crossed* :D
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  36. angel_m

    angel_m

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    I have tried Aura free edition. After compiling and installed, it is working, and the results are impressive.
    However I have a problem. In my project I swicht between two cameras, one for land action and another for flying action (airship). The case is Aura stops working when I add the Aura component script to the second camera.
    I get the errors even when exit the play mode in the editor.

    ArgumentNullException: Argument cannot be null.
    Parameter name: mat
    UnityEngine.Graphics.Blit (UnityEngine.Texture source, UnityEngine.RenderTexture dest, UnityEngine.Material mat, Int32 pass) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Graphics.cs:549)
    UnityEngine.Graphics.Blit (UnityEngine.Texture source, UnityEngine.RenderTexture dest, UnityEngine.Material mat) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Graphics.cs:554)
    AuraAPI.Aura.OnRenderImage (UnityEngine.RenderTexture src, UnityEngine.RenderTexture dest) (at Assets/Aura/Classes/Aura.cs:194)

    Any help?
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2019
  37. SLGEric

    SLGEric

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    @raphick Just got done integrating Aura 2, and it seems there is no longer any memory leak/issues. Thanks for the update! Aura is great :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
    camta005 and raphick like this.
  38. raphick

    raphick

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    365
    My pleasure :D
     
  39. LoekvanKooten

    LoekvanKooten

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Posts:
    120
    Is there a way to combine this with Envirosky without getting double fog, like I'm getting now?
     
  40. LezCT

    LezCT

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Posts:
    55
    I'm getting this error whenever i enter playmode:
    Graphics.CopyTexture can only copy between same texture format groups (d3d11 base formats: src=27 dst=1)


    upload_2019-3-9_21-17-32.png
     
  41. Unplug

    Unplug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    256
    About AURA 2, i'm very interested in buying. Can I use it in combination with enviro ? I wish to replace the sun light with aura light and have volumetric effect in my level. My level doesn't use realtime day/night cycle but do load every level on a random time of the day so my second question is : is it possible to change the aura atmosphere preset on real time.

    if (time <10 && time > 4){setting = dawn} would work on awake or start ?
     
  42. Ruchir

    Ruchir

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    927
    Aura 2 has a new page ,you might wanna go there
     
  43. Unplug

    Unplug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Posts:
    256
    can't find it, google lead me here lol
     
  44. ceebeee

    ceebeee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    395
  45. afshin_a_1

    afshin_a_1

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Posts:
    49
    does aura 1 support android?
    i use aura 1 final version.
    my target platform is android. i keep getting this error again and again and nothing is working:

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    AuraAPI.Aura.DisposeFrustrum () (at Assets/Aura/Classes/Aura.cs:357)
    AuraAPI.Aura.OnDisable () (at Assets/Aura/Classes/Aura.cs:147)
    UnityEngine.Behaviour:set_enabled(Boolean)
    AuraAPI.Aura:Reset() (at Assets/Aura/Classes/Aura.cs:116)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility: ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)

    this is my test scene:
    View attachment 424558

    could someone help me please?
    we are at the end of our project(near to publish time)and need the volumetric fog for an specific scene.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2019
  46. Flurgle

    Flurgle

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Posts:
    389
    @afshinunity Have no idea, but looks like the directional light needs to be dragged in here:
    upload_2019-5-21_22-0-6.png
     
  47. Alic

    Alic

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    137
    Hey, love the way Aura 2 looks and how quick it is to get a range of good results!

    I like the ui too, but it seems a good amount slower than most other 3rd party extensions. The biggest pain is that in 2019, every time I exit play mode the Aura scene presets menu pops back up for a second even when it's completely disabled in the preferences menu. This adds a freeze of a couple of seconds to every play mode iteration.

    Is there any way to completely disable aura UI stuff for a while in a project? I really don't like it slowing down my unity editor, and am leaning toward uninstalling it during development, then adding it back in during polish.
     
  48. amarillosebas

    amarillosebas

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    44
    Am I the only one getting this? I've done nothing with the editor. What's up with the Aura 1 UI?



    Edit: This is Unity 2019.3
     
  49. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    779
    @amarillosebas You're possibly the only one trying to use Aura 1 in Unity 2019.3! Buy Aura 2 if you want to use the newer versions of Unity. And 2019.3 is still in alpha. So not a good idea unless you want lots of bugs.
     
  50. splineman

    splineman

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Hi there, is Aura 2 compatible with HDRP? On the asset store page it says it isn't, but I have seen some posts which claim otherwise?

    Also, is Aura 2 more optimised than the built in volumetric light in HDRP, or does it offer more optimisation settings? Our current FPS with the built in volumetric light is around 20-25 FPS.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
    MNNoxMortem likes this.