Search Unity

Unity Android App size too large

Discussion in 'Android' started by drug0, Oct 18, 2017.

1. drug0

drug0

Hi guys,
    i'm a newbie and this is my very first approach with unity, i'm just experimenting something, so in my project i have only 2 scenes, every scene with 1 camera, 1 canvas, 1 panel and some text (so no sprite, no light, no effects, nothing)...

Problem is when i build the project apk is 17mb and when installed on phone it explodes to 65mb...
    Strange thing since my app does almost nothing...
    I think it should be far less heavy than 17-65mb... or am i wrong?
    Hope you guys can help me :)

Some further informations;
    1. I'm on Unity version 2017.2.0f3 Personal (someone said me that PRO version could reduce app size, is it true? and if yes, how much?)
    2. In the "editor log" i can see that the complete size is 4.6 mb
    3. In player settings i'm using only arm-v7 as device filter and .NET 2.0 subset
    4. I'm using gradle and IL2CPP to build
    5. I'm in 2d project
    6. I noticed that the heaviest files in the apk produced by unity build (says the installer of the android application) are .so files in armeabi-v7a... about 45mb (when i export the project to open it with android studio those files are about 200mb!)
    EDIT: i just noticed that the file taking the most of the space is libunity.so that weight 35mb before installation on phone and (i think) about 50-60mb once installed...
    Do you have any ideas about how to reduce this file size?

EDIT 2: Just for completeness
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Build Report
    2. Uncompressed usage by category:
    3. Textures      37.7 kb     0.8%
    4. Meshes        0.0 kb     0.0%
    5. Animations    0.0 kb     0.0%
    6. Sounds        0.0 kb     0.0%
    7. Shaders       0.0 kb     0.0%
    8. Other Assets  4.8 kb     0.1%
    9. Levels        45.2 kb     1.0%
    10. Scripts       615.3 kb     13.0%
    11. Included DLLs 3.9 mb     84.8%