Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity and macOS 10.13 (High Sierra)

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Mantas-Puida, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    This is NOT known problem, please make a bugreport.
    Thanks!
     
  2. Kjaka

    Kjaka

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    I can use unity 5.6 with HFS+ but not with APFS. Also I can't get monodevelop to work even with HFS+. Xamarin Studio wouldn't work aswell, it cannot find the Mono Framework. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  3. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    which exactly Unity version are you using?
     
  4. Kjaka

    Kjaka

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    5.6.3.f1, also i tried with 5.6.1.f1 and 5.4.1.f1 none did work, thank you for your fast response btw

    EDIT: now downloading the p4 patch for 5.6.3 and also 2017.1.1
     
  5. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    5.6.3 patch 4 should do the thing. Also you need 2017.1.1 patch 2 or 3 for 2017.

    Unity 5.4.x line will NOT be supported on High Sierra, you have to move to newer Unity versions for 5.4 based projects or keep your machine on macOS 10.12.
     
  6. Kjaka

    Kjaka

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Exactly :D p4 did the trick thank you so much both mono and unity are working now.
     
  7. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Forum thread title post was updated with current status summary
     
  8. PixelEnvision

    PixelEnvision

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Posts:
    476
    Done, (Case 955089)
     
  9. paxinos

    paxinos

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    I'm still having problems on 10.13 - running 2017.3.0b2. The Unity Editor seems to run, but MonoDevelop still crashes on startup.

    I have tried the hack for DNS in /etc/hosts but that didn't seem to have any impact.

    Should I try 2017.1.<latest> ?
     
  10. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    I just tried Monodevelop coming with 2017.3.0b2 locally and it works fine. Did you actually checked to install new Monodevelop with 2017.3? Starting with 2017.3 Monodevelop installation is optional and you need specifically tick a checkbox in installer.

    P.S. DNS issues were affecting Unity editor, but not Monodevelop
     
  11. paxinos

    paxinos

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Yes... I definitely installed the latest. But just to be sure I deleted /Applications/Unity and reinstalled just to be extra sure. Still crashes on startup.

    Process: mono-sgen [6412]
    Path: /tmp/*/mono
    Identifier: com.unity.monodevelop
    Version: 5.9.6 (5.9.6)
    Code Type: X86 (Native)
    Parent Process: ??? [1]
    Responsible: mono-sgen [6412]
    User ID: 501

    Date/Time: 2017-09-29 18:34:21.356 -0400
    OS Version: Mac OS X 10.13 (17A365)
    Report Version: 12​

    I did try using Visual Studio for Mac and that seems to work... but I guess I'm just more comfortable at this point with using MonoDevleop... VS seems a bit bloated for my taste...
     
  12. ellivlum

    ellivlum

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    I've tried both 5.6.3p4 and 2017.1.1p3 and both fail when adding any 3d components in a new project
     
  13. zero_null

    zero_null

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    157
    Oh My God, why I didn't come across this thread before. I just updated my Mac. Now the Mono develop is crashing. I am on Unity 5.6.3p3 & 2017.1.1p1 but I think I need to update both of them :(
     
  14. aleciuf

    aleciuf

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    When will a new fixing Unity version be released?
     
  15. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Could you please send me whole crash log?
     
  16. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Could you please give more details how can this be reproduced? Like is it failing in empty scene, does it depend which 3D object are you adding, etc.
     
    jorgeADFi likes this.
  17. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Issues are fixed one by one once they are discovered and fixes are accordingly shipped to patch releases. So it's incremental process. Which specific issue is affecting you most?
     
  18. adslitw

    adslitw

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    @Mantas-Puida - I've just noticed the animation curve issue @ppixu mentioned - animation curves won't save / update. Is this a known issue? Just tried it on 2017.1.1p3.
     
  19. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    No, it's not known issue. Please submit a bugreport.
    Thanks!
     
  20. adslitw

    adslitw

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    145
    Setup a repro project - worked fine - double checked my current project - bit of old code causing issues with animation curves in 2017 which I hadn't noticed. All good! :)
     
  21. jorgeADFi

    jorgeADFi

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Same here!! when I create a new project and add a cube and a sphere it crashes the whole system and it starts rebooting.
     
  22. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Hmm.. I can't reproduce it on my machine. Any chance you have Local Cache Server enabled in Editor Preferences?
     
  23. paxinos

    paxinos

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    I can directly start MonoDevelop from Finder and it will crash. I also try starting it from within Unity by clicking on a script - it appears to be starting and then crashes.
     
  24. ellivlum

    ellivlum

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    It seems to be if I create a new project and add any two 3D objects. I've tried a plane and then a capsule, and I've tried two cubes, and both fail when the second one is added. It's worth noting, that I get the spinning wheel when it tries to render the first one.
    I have caching disabled, and have even tried creating a new partition without APFS and this didn't help, either. My Mac occasionally decides to crash entirely when this error occurs
     
  25. jorgeADFi

    jorgeADFi

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Nope, it's not enabled :/
     
  26. mickee

    mickee

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    7
  27. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    I can't reproduce it on my machine, could you please make bugreport and attach your monodevelop crashlog?
    Thanks!
     
  28. RobertasQA

    RobertasQA

    QA Minion Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Hi, I haven’t been able to reproduce the issue on my machine running High Sierra.
    Could you make a bugreport so we could see what machine are you experiencing this on and what is happening in the logs? This problem seems to be setup-specific, so it would be helpful to get that info.
    Thanks!
     
  29. IndieFist

    IndieFist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Posts:
    307
    Hi!
    I have same issue.
    Unity 2017.1.1.p3 using High Sierra with APFS, monovedelop crashes.
    Updating right now to p4.
    --
    edit: Crashes again:
    Process: mono-sgen [1078]
    Path: /tmp/*/mono
    Identifier: com.unity.monodevelop
    Version: 5.9.6 (5.9.6)
    Code Type: X86 (Native)
    Parent Process: ??? [1]
    Responsible: mono-sgen [1078]
    User ID: 501

    Date/Time: 2017-10-03 14:03:04.528 +0200
    OS Version: Mac OS X 10.13 (17A365)
    Report Version: 12
    Bridge OS Version: 3.0 (14Y661)


    Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGABRT)
    Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x000000004abb69e8
    Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

    And hmmm maybe here is the error?
    12 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0xa777051d _pthread_body + 347
    13 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0xa77703c2 _pthread_start + 357
    14 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0xa776fa9e thread_start + 34

    Thread 0 crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
    eax: 0x00000000 ebx: 0xa9a801c0 ecx: 0x006a76ec edx: 0x00000000
    edi: 0xa777337a esi: 0x0000002d ebp: 0x006a7718 esp: 0x006a76ec
    ss: 0x00000023 efl: 0x00000206 eip: 0xa7642ef6 cs: 0x0000000b
    ds: 0x00000023 es: 0x00000023 fs: 0x00000000 gs: 0x0000000f
    cr2: 0xa9a66330

    Logical CPU: 0
    Error Code: 0x00080148
    Trap Number: 132

    A thread in 32-bit?
     
  30. IndieFist

    IndieFist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Posts:
    307
    I have found my solution.
    Every time i try to open monodevelop with laptop opened it crashes, because i use a second monitor.
    When i closed my laptop and only using external monitor monodevelop opens every time without problems.
    --
    Another mode when not crashes is when using clone monitors. If i use extended, monodevelop crashes.
    Another issue, every time i open my project tells me about to upgrade p3 to p4, also when i have saved my project.
     
  31. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Thanks for update!
     
  32. paxinos

    paxinos

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Hmm, I run three monitors off my MacBook Pro... (I'm amazed that my mid-2012 actually handles this configuration). I'll have to try with your configuration later today.
     
  33. ellivlum

    ellivlum

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    F
    Hello,

    I have submitted a bug report, although have noticed that the system doesn't crash if I hide the game view tab. This is from a crash dump, hope this helps:

    Report Version: 12

    Anonymous UUID: A5734236-368C-FC38-3B20-2BAAFE4D6763





    Time Awake Since Boot: 610 seconds



    System Integrity Protection: enabled



    Crashed Thread: 33 UnityGfxDeviceWorker



    Exception Type: EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT)

    Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000

    Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY



    Application Specific Information:

    abort() called



    Application Specific Signatures:

    Graphics hardware encountered an error and was reset: 0x00000813





    Thread 0:: CrBrowserMain Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

    0 libsystem_kernel.dylib 0x00007fff7a34beb2 semaphore_wait_trap + 10

    1 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff7a1dba46 _dispatch_sema4_wait + 16

    2 libdispatch.dylib 0x00007fff7a1d3b22 _dispatch_semaphore_wait_slow + 101

    3 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000100dd2de8 PlatformSemaphore::WaitForSignal() + 24

    4 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000101326394 GfxDeviceClient::AcquireThreadOwnership() + 340

    5 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000100dd333e SetSyncToVBL(ObjectHandle<GraphicsContext_Tag, void*>, int) + 46

    6 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000102216fe2 RepaintController::SetupOSSpecificWindowSpaceAndVSync(GUIView*, RectT<float> const&) + 98

    7 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x000000010047adce RepaintController::RenderGameViewCameras(RenderTexture*, int, RectT<float> const&, Vector2f const&, bool) + 558

    8 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000101db5d45 EditorGUIUtility_CUSTOM_INTERNAL_CALL_RenderGameViewCamerasInternal(MonoObject*, int, RectT<float> const&, Vector2fIcall const&, unsigned char) + 245

    9 ??? 0x0000000144886c4c 0 + 5444758604

    10 ??? 0x0000000144886b52 0 + 5444758354

    11 ??? 0x000000014399631e 0 + 5429093150

    12 ??? 0x0000000119ee83ba 0 + 4730028986

    13 libmono.0.dylib 0x00000001359bb2c6 0x1359b1000 + 41670

    14 libmono.0.dylib 0x0000000135ae6dba mono_runtime_invoke + 117

    15 libmono.0.dylib 0x0000000135aecb60 mono_runtime_invoke_array + 946

    16 libmono.0.dylib 0x0000000135aab527 0x1359b1000 + 1025319

    17 ??? 0x0000000124e92443 0 + 4914226243

    18 ??? 0x0000000124e91e9c 0 + 4914224796

    19 ??? 0x0000000124e9eb66 0 + 4914277222

    20 ??? 0x000000013fb0518c 0 + 5363487116

    21 ??? 0x000000013fb0505a 0 + 5363486810

    22 ??? 0x00000001416cf756 0 + 5392627542

    23 ??? 0x00000001416c4925 0 + 5392582949

    24 ??? 0x00000001410172e7 0 + 5385581287

    25 ??? 0x0000000141016820 0 + 5385578528

    26 ??? 0x0000000141016202 0 + 5385576962

    27 ??? 0x000000013fbde280 0 + 5364376192

    28 ??? 0x000000013fbde5b9 0 + 5364377017

    29 ??? 0x000000013c9c6333 0 + 5311849267

    30 ??? 0x000000013c9c5d01 0 + 5311847681

    31 ??? 0x000000013c9c5a38 0 + 5311846968

    32 ??? 0x000000013c9c55c7 0 + 5311845831

    33 ??? 0x000000013c9c5756 0 + 5311846230

    34 libmono.0.dylib 0x00000001359bb2c6 0x1359b1000 + 41670

    35 libmono.0.dylib 0x0000000135ae6dba mono_runtime_invoke + 117

    36 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x00000001019d454d ScriptingInvocation::Invoke(ScriptingExceptionPtr*, bool) + 125

    37 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000100420996 GUIView::processRetainedMode(InputEvent&, GUIState&) + 230

    38 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x00000001022046c3 GUIView::OnInputEvent(InputEvent&) + 755

    39 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000100420080 GUIView::processInputEvent(InputEvent&) + 32

    40 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x000000010221c2ea -[GUIRenderView renderRect:] + 266

    41 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x000000010221d3d0 -[GUIOpenGLView drawRect:] + 336

    42 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000102206165 GUIView::RepaintAll(bool) + 949

    43 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x000000010036b599 Application::UpdateScene(bool) + 1049

    44 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x00000001003675dc Application::UpdateSceneIfNeeded() + 108

    45 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x0000000100366af9 Application::TickTimer() + 3977

    46 com.apple.Foundation 0x00007fff54dc5d99 __NSFireTimer + 83

    47 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff52cabcd4 __CFRUNLOOP_IS_CALLING_OUT_TO_A_TIMER_CALLBACK_FUNCTION__ + 20

    48 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff52cab947 __CFRunLoopDoTimer + 1095

    49 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff52cab44a __CFRunLoopDoTimers + 346

    50 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff52ca2a4b __CFRunLoopRun + 2427

    51 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff52ca1e43 CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 483

    52 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff51fc1866 RunCurrentEventLoopInMode + 286

    53 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff51fc14df ReceiveNextEventCommon + 366

    54 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff51fc1354 _BlockUntilNextEventMatchingListInModeWithFilter + 64

    55 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff502bf44f _DPSNextEvent + 2085

    56 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff50a54508 -[NSApplication(NSEvent) _nextEventMatchingEventMask:untilDate:inMode:dequeue:] + 3044

    57 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff502b425d -[NSApplication run] + 764

    58 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff502833fe NSApplicationMain + 804

    59 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x000000010220e895 EditorMain(int, char const**) + 853

    60 com.unity3d.UnityEditor5.x 0x000000010220ed09 main + 9

    61 libdyld.dylib 0x00007fff7a205145 start + 1
     
  34. VIC20

    VIC20

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,408
    OK, if I understood this right then due to some minor issues currently the best choice is still to stay on HFS+ and to avoid APFS? Does anyone know if external SSDs via USB 3 will be automatically updated to APFS too?

    As a publisher on the Asset Store I would like to support older Unity versions. I know 5.4 will get no APFS fix but will 5.4 still run on HFS+ drives on 10.13?
     
  35. digitalclips

    digitalclips

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Just for the record, I created a fresh boot drive using HFS+ with High Sierra, installed a clean Steam and downloaded Cities Skylines from my Steam account. The exact same issue of smeared motion occurs as did with APFS. I have now installed 10.13.1 (developer) and still have the smeared graphics in High Sierra on both HFS+ and APFS. Boot from Sierra or Windows 10 on same 6 Core Mac Pro and monitor and it's all fine.
     
  36. digitalclips

    digitalclips

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    As I just posted I tried Unity game High Sierra on both APFS and HFS+, no difference. Smeared graphics.

    In the developer version I was asked if I wanted to convert to APFS on installation. The release version didn't ask and used APFS on my Apple SSD internal like it or not. I can still convert external HDDs SSDs even HDD RAIDs to APFS but not SSD RAIDs. So you could convert an SSD post installation I believe by booting into the Recovery Partition and using Disk Utilities or do it from another booted High Sierra drive with Disk Utilities.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2017
  37. adamkapos

    adamkapos

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    My computer started randomly freezing when I use Unity ever since I upgraded to High Sierra. Upgrading to 5.6.3p4 didn't resolve the issues. I have submitted a bug report: 956388.
     
  38. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Do you have Local Cache Server enabled?
     
  39. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    @ellivlum could you please share some details about your Mac configuration?
     
  40. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,070
    When is the fix for Local Cache Server to be expected?
     
  41. eelstork

    eelstork

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Posts:
    180
    Regarding this Graphics hardware encountered an error and was reset: 0x00000813 issue as reported by @ellivlum I've observed that both on the latest stable and the latest beta. Since I had been using the latest stable with an existing project for over 10 hours (with random system reboots but afaik not Unity related) I had a hunch. So on a basic scene containing almost nothing, or just a couple of primitives, disable the default skybox and the bug goes away.
    Also note that, if you don't have the game view open this is much less likely to occur.
    Need to double check all the above but it seems that way.

    Tested on:
    - MBP 2015 13'', High-Sierra, APFS
    - External display, closed-display mode (meaning the builtin display is not used)
     
    nfetissow likes this.
  42. GreppiMichelangelo

    GreppiMichelangelo

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I just updated to macOs High Sierra and there's no version of unity that shows the assets of my project. Also there's no way to open MonoDevelop as it always seem to be starting and then crashes with no reason.
    I'm running on a MBP 2013 with High Sierra, I have unity 5.5.4p4. e92bef0ab5a4 and MonoDevelop 5.9.6
     
  43. ellivlum

    ellivlum

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Sure thing. I'm on a MacBook Pro 13" Pro, Retina display (Early 2015), APFS. No external displays/peripherals attached
     
  44. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    My bad, you need 5.5.4 patch 5. Just double-checked on my machine. Will update main post accordingly.
     
  45. digitalThorns

    digitalThorns

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I tried running 2017.2.0f2 and the only way Unity compiles is if I do Assets -> Open C# Project, otherwise no file changes seem to be noticed.
     
  46. joe_04_04

    joe_04_04

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    Are things improving for some people who have been risky enough to attempt upgrading?
     
  47. digitalThorns

    digitalThorns

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Its weird, everything was working fine for me for about a week, but then I started having problems. The big issue for me is that Unity doesn't see file changes, so I have to keep manually refreshing to trigger a compile.
     
  48. GainfulSage

    GainfulSage

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Can you clarify if 2017.1.2 superseeds and includes the earlier patches? Couldn't tell from the 2017.1.2 release notes. Thanks!
     
  49. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,851
    Yes, 2017.1.2 accumulates all 2017.1.1 patches.
     
    GainfulSage likes this.
  50. digitalclips

    digitalclips

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    I think the fact Unity developers still have the Mac's OS labelled as OSX here on their forums, instead of macOS, goes a long way to understanding this. They must have zero interest in the Apple Mac eco system. Their inability to use pre release developer versions to anticipate and correct a compatibility problem that still exists this long after the public release of macOS High Sierra is simply staggering.
     
    Afroman and HonorableDaniel like this.