Search Unity

Unity and databases, MySQL to be specific? (Unity, C#, MySQL)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Parathor, Nov 16, 2017.

1. Parathor

Parathor

Hello there!
    (I hope I chose the right section, scripting with this question.)

I'd like to ask around, weather there were any ways to connect Unity with MySQL?
    Most threads I've read suggested using scripts to function as a database, and avoid using actual databases.

The reason I'm still asking about the topic is that, I'm expected to create a functioning application using C# and MySQL during my studies, however I wanted to choose Unity as the main focus.

I'm still in the process of learning Unity basics, however MySQL is a must and unfortunately I'm not allowed to use any scripts for such purposes instead.

So hence, I'd be really grateful for your answers, as I'm pretty new to all of this.

Thanks for reading through it all, and for your answers in advance!
    Parathor

2. BlackPete

BlackPete

I don't know why you were told to avoid MySQL -- probably because it's usually overkill for most people, but if you need it, well then you need it.

And yes, using MySQL and Unity together is definitely doable. It's not really a trivial process as there's a fair amount of plumbing involved to get the two to work seamlessly with each other, not to mention setting up the server itself, but it's doable.

Normally you'd need to create a server that communicates with the DB, and your Unity client communicates with the server using the WWW class... but if this is for a school project and you don't expect to host this on the internet anywhere, then you can probably get away with cutting the middleman out and letting Unity and MySQL work directly with each other.

That's one hell of a learning curve tackling Unity, MySQL, and client-server communication though... normally I'd say "Google Unity MySql tutorial" but I did that just now, and found a lot of dead ends.