Search Unity

Unity and Blender

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gcast1995, Jan 15, 2020.

1. gcast1995

gcast1995

I'm relatively new to both Blender and Unity, and for the past couple days I've been trying to figure out when to use each one. So I was curious to see what the communities thoughts were.

During 3D game development, when should you be using Blender and when should you be using Unity?

And just to be clear, I'm asking this with the assumption that often times, both are used throughout game development, but on what tasks in particular do you find one more advantageous over the other?

2. neoshaman

neoshaman

blender is use to create assets, then you use those assets in unity to make interactive media

MadeFromPolygons likes this.
  3. gcast1995

gcast1995

You make it seem as though that's a hard set rule, but I feel like there are many exceptions to that rule.

4. ikazrima

ikazrima

There are tools that enables modelling in Unity, but feature wise they pale in comparison to Blender.
    For prototyping stuff, it's usually done directly in Unity.

5. WallaceT_MFM

WallaceT_MFM

Typically, I use only Unity in the early stages of development, using primitive shapes and prototyping tools. Once the gameplay and overall form of the game becomes clearer, then I start using Blender to model.

Lethn likes this.
  6. neginfinity

neginfinity

You use blender to create assets and animations, and unity to place them in the level.

Well, I think some people make levels in blender, but this one is going to be more difficult.

UNity has rudimentary tools for modeling and animation (animation thing is built-in, modeling is available through probuilder, sabrecsg and so on). Some people used them to create game levels. However, that does not mean it is a good idea. Blender is more efficient for that. It is worth mentioning that SabreCSG can still be useful for intiial blocking out of the level.

aer0ace likes this.
  7. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER