Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Unity ads 4.4.1 has xcode error "contains disallowed file 'Frameworks'"

Discussion in 'Unity Ads & User Acquisition' started by enhawk, Feb 21, 2023.

  1. enhawk

    enhawk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    When I try to build with the 4.4.1 Advertisement package (from Unity Editor), I get this error when submitting an archive to Apple:

    contains disallowed file 'Frameworks'

    If I recompile my project with ads 4.3.0, I can submit to Apple without error.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2023
  2. aylin_unity3d

    aylin_unity3d

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    48
    Hi
    I think the problem is with Always Embed Swift Standard Libraries setting for the xcode project. It should be No for UnityFramework and Yes for Unity-iPhone. Could you add a postbuild script to change it and test?
     
  3. Sidereus

    Sidereus

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    After googling, stackoverflowing, try&error I might have found (at least) a workaround for this.
    • Target Unity-iPhone, set Always Embed Swift Standard Libraries to yes
    • Target Unity-iPhone Tests, set Always Embed Swift Standard Libraries to no
    • Target UnityFramework, set Always Embed Swift Standard Libraries to no
    Then what I also did I have deleted the references for com.unity.ads in the Xcode project tree (Unity-iPhone/Frameworks/com.unity.ads).

    Upload to TestFlight was successful and also I could see the ads showing in the game. Hope that setup passes the production release as well. :D
     
    enhawk likes this.
  4. enhawk

    enhawk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    the only solution I’ve found is to use 4.3 for ios.

    there is a bug in 4.3 for android banners, I need to build android with 4.4
     
  5. Yasuyuki

    Yasuyuki

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Posts:
    125
  6. Sidereus

    Sidereus

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Yasuyuki, thanks for the hint. After building the xcode project with unity I have followed the hint from unity ads documentation:

    If your project does not use Swift, add an empty Swift file to your project in Xcode by selecting File > New > Swift file.

    I've added the empty swift file and enabled the bridge (as unity builds xcode project in objective-c). As a result submission was fine, without any errors.
     
    FamishedMammal and Yasuyuki like this.
  7. enhawk

    enhawk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    833
  8. enhawk

    enhawk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    tests should be set to “yes”

    finally this is the change I made and everything worked. It’s a unity editor version problem according to some comments. Some versions of Unity set these values correctly.
     
    FamishedMammal likes this.
  9. FamishedMammal

    FamishedMammal

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    113
    This is the correct answer
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2023
    enhawk likes this.
  10. Sidereus

    Sidereus

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Actually, I have one more update to this. After updating Xcode to 14.3 there are no errors anymore. (I am wondering why I didn't think about that earlier :oops: )
     
    FamishedMammal likes this.
  11. FamishedMammal

    FamishedMammal

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    113
    Updating XCode does not solve it for me... (Unity 2021.3)
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2023