Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Bug Unity Addressables can't change LoadPath

Discussion in 'Unity Cloud Content Delivery' started by maxkcy, Oct 4, 2023.

  1. maxkcy

    maxkcy

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Posts:
    62
    After creating my first Addressables build, uploading it, setting the badges, I test it for the badge I had set in the Remote.LoadPath at the time of the build, and it connects and fetches the URL without problems.

    The problem occurs when I am ready to change to a different badge to fetch from. So I set the Remote.LoadPath in the addressables profiles from the editor but when I run it, it still fetches from the URL that was set when the Addressables build was created. Furthermore, in the settings, the URL for the Remote.LoadPath is not updated to reflect the new path.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2023
    unity_NHcvXiJxOKI9LA likes this.
  2. maxkcy

    maxkcy

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Posts:
    62
    I would like to add that despite changing the Remote.LoadPath in the profile, the editor does not automatically change this in the Addressables Settings, Groups, Schemas, or Addressable Groups Templates, and other places I might have overlooked. In the profiles I have the remote paths set to custom, and I am pasting the Addressables Remote Path URL from the dashboard. I expect that when I change the URL, it should change be set automatically in the editor where Remote.LoadPath is set. I will have to get back after manually setting the URL in all these areas so that the URL correctly represent the badge I want to point to.


    Setting the URL to <custom> and posting the URL in the field in several places did not resolve the issue. It lead to a black LoadPath but still fetched from the URL that was set when the addressables build is created.

    Moreover, this appears to be a bug, because I should only have to set the URL in the profiles, and elsewhere it should be automatically updated.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2023
    unity_NHcvXiJxOKI9LA likes this.
  3. maxkcy

    maxkcy

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Posts:
    62
    I created a new profile and set it as active. This updated the Remote.LoadPath in Content Update section of the Addressables Settings and elsewhere that was necessary, so I thought that this might fix it. But the problem persists. My console shows it is fetching from the URL that was set when the build was first created. Before I first created the build, I just uploaded a txt file to get the URL for the badges. Then I set the URL for Remote.LoadPath and created a new build. I can not figure out how to change this URL.
     
    unity_NHcvXiJxOKI9LA likes this.
  4. maxkcy

    maxkcy

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Posts:
    62
    So while I can't figure out how to fetch from different badge by just changing the profile and the URL it points to, I had to take extra steps to make edits to the catalog urls. Eventually things worked but it is a process. (What I did is a hacky bypass and not a solution, the problem still remains.)
     
    unity_NHcvXiJxOKI9LA likes this.
  5. immersia_dataviz

    immersia_dataviz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Same problem here
     
    unity_NHcvXiJxOKI9LA likes this.
  6. unity_NHcvXiJxOKI9LA

    unity_NHcvXiJxOKI9LA

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Same! can you solve this pls?