Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct here to familiarize yourself with the rules and how to post constructively.

  2. Unity 2022.1 is now available as the latest Tech release.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your project's performance with our new guide on profiling in Unity.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Add-ins for MonoDevelop/Xamarin Studio 5.9+

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by lukaszunity, Jun 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Singtaa

    Singtaa

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    429
    Is there any way to have the debugger working with the UnityTestTools? Right now when I run the unit tests inside of the unity editor, it won't trip any breakpoint in Xamarin (it's already attached to the Unity Editor).
     
  2. Novack

    Novack

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    786
    @lukaszunity any words regarding this official MonoDevelop plugin(s) you're working on? Will these receive active maintenance and support after release?
     
  3. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    It sounds like the UnityEngine.dll assembly reference path in the project is wrong. You can check by either opening the .csproj or looking in the "References" in the Solution pad. This can happen if you move your Unity folder after generating the project.
     
    Ox_ likes this.
  4. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks for reporting this. I've added this to my list of issues to look into.
     
  5. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Yes, the MonoDevelop and add-ins we ship with Unity will receive active maintenance and support after being released.
     
    Novack likes this.
  6. Eths

    Eths

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Posts:
    184
    Thank you so much ^_^
     
  7. FFSteve

    FFSteve

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,

    I've also been having the issue where the UnityEngine (and other Unity references) using statements are not being resolved. Despite the fact that the reference directories are correct. This only started happening once I moved and/or reinstalled Xamarin Studio to a MonoDevelop/* directory.

    Also, opening the project with the old MonoDevelop doesn't have the same issue.
     
  8. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    This sounds a bit odd and like a bug in Xamarin Studio. I will add it to the list of issues.

    One thing you could try is to delete the folder where Xamarin Studio caches some settings and see if that helps, I sometimes experience issues that seem to be fixed by deleting this folder. I only recommend trying this if you do not have a lot of custom settings in Xamarin Studio, as you might lose those. Reinstalling the Unity Add-ins might be required after deleting the folder.

    Folder location. Remeber to close Xamarin Studio before deleting the folder.
    • OSX: <username>/Library/Caches/XamarinStudio-5.
    • Windows: <username>\AppData\Local\XamarinStudio-5.0\Cache
     
  9. FFSteve

    FFSteve

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    That worked perfect. Thanks!

    Something I noticed is that the project seems to reopen any time I double click an error or on a script in the project as opposed to updating the current instance of Xamarin. Is there a way around this?
     
  10. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    From FAQ:

    A new Xamarin Studio instance is started when clicking a script in Unity on Windows
    You can workaround this issue by starting a Xamarin Studio instance manually the first time, then all scripts that are clicked in Unity will open in this instance. This will be fixed in an upcoming release of Xamarin Studio.

    You can also set "External Script Editor Args" to "$(File);$(Line)" (quotes included) to have Xamarin Studio open the script file at the correct line when clicking build warnings and errors.
     
  11. FFSteve

    FFSteve

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    My apologies, I completely glazed over that.

    Thanks!

    Edit: I just gave this a try but it still opens in another instance of Xamarin despite me opening the first instance manually.
     
  12. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Are you on Windows and are you sure that the Xamarin Studio you manually started is the same as the one you have setup in your external script editor preferences?
     
  13. xsmile

    xsmile

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I can confirm this. Opening a script by clicking on an error message always creates a new Xamarin instance. It doesn't matter, if I start an instance manually in the beginning.

    Thanks for the plugin.
     
  14. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    I just tested it myself on Windows and I think that I might have been unclear on how to start Xamarin Studio.

    It is necessary to start Xamarin Studio without opening any files, e.g. from a program shortcut and not by clicking a solution/script.

    This is the cause of the bug in Xamarin Studio, if you open Xamarin Studio with a file (which Unity always does), then it keeps opening new instances. But if you launch it once using a program shortcut, then all scripts thereafter should open in this instance.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
    lermy3d likes this.
  15. FFSteve

    FFSteve

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Lukas,

    Thanks for replying! I've just tried uninstalling Xamarin Studio completely and re-installing. Setting up the path in Unity and the application shortcuts to ensure that they are pointing to the same exe. I opened Xamarin with the application shortcut and then tried double clicking a script in Unity but it still opens in a new instance of Xamarin instead of using the current one. I am using Windows 7 Professional 64 bit.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
    lermy3d likes this.
  16. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Sounds like there is another issue, I am unable to reproduce this on Windows 8.1 64-bit. I will investigate further and see if I am able to find the root cause.
     
    lermy3d likes this.
  17. FFSteve

    FFSteve

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Lukas,

    I don't know if this will help but I've just started a new project in Unity 5.1.1f1 and opening scripts does use the opened instance as opposed to opening new instances. However, on my old project in Unity 4.6.6f2, the scripts always open in new instances of Xamarin.
     
  18. FFSteve

    FFSteve

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Unfortunately, while one problem is solved, none of my intellisense works for Unity libraries again in Unity 5 -_-
     
  19. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks for the reporting these issues, I will have a look into them.
     
  20. Ox_

    Ox_

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Posts:
    93
    It turned out that Xamarin sees UnityEngine but has incorrect references to System.* DLLs. I pointed to Unity Mono manually in Preferences -> .NET Runtime (/Applications/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/Frameworks/Mono) and set it as a default one.

    Now Xamarin can see it in references but still highlights "errors" and there's no auto-complete for anything from Mono/UnityEngine. (I tried multiple projects and all of them have this issue.)

    By the way Xamarin also can't see namespaces of DOTween DLLs from the project.

    Xamarin-Issues.png
     
  21. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    This sounds very odd and like a bug in Xamarin Studio, I've added it to my list of issues to look into.

    Have you tried the deleting the folders I mentioned above?
     
  22. xX4m4zingXx

    xX4m4zingXx

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    When I have Xamarin studio opened like this:

    and I go to unity and click on a script, then the script gets opened in a new Xamarin studio window. Is there a way to fix this?
     
  23. TimK_personal

    TimK_personal

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    I really appreciate that you guys are doing this. MD 5.9 is a pretty substantial improvement.

    That being said, my experience is that stability is not great thus far. I wonder whether you have any insight into how we can provide you with useful information relating to crashes and hangs. For example, I'm finding if I do anything with exception catchpoints, it's likely to hang MonoDevelop. How can I get diagnostic information to pass along to help improve this (short of building and running MD myself inside XCode, which a little outside my purview at the moment)?
     
  24. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    See this post and the posts following. This a bug in Xamarin Studio that needs to be fixed.[/URL]
     
  25. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    The best way to report such bugs is through the Unity bug reporter with a reproduction steps and a Unity project. Post the case number in this thread, then I will be able to find it and assign to myself as something that needs to be fixed.
     
  26. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,406
    Lukas,
    I moved Xamarin-studio to the MonoDevelop folder (it's case sensitive on mac), deleted the cache folder then let xamarin rebuild, finally re-installed the plugins and here are bugs remaining:
    711106, 711105, 711102, 711096
    7111096 is this:
     
  27. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks for the bug reports, I will have a look into these issues.
     
  28. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    The fix for automatically generation and open the solution when setting Xamarin Studio as the external script editor and clicking on a script has been fixed in 5.1.1p4 and will also be included in the upcoming 4.6.7p2 release.

    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/patch-releases

    Side-note: I'm on vacation the next 2 weeks and will be back on the July 27th, which means I will not be responding to posts in this thread for the next 2 weeks.
     
  29. voldemarz

    voldemarz

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Posts:
    25
    This is also an issue with Dictionary<T, Transform> where T is struct and Transform is regular Unity class. Most likely value can be any type and issue caused by use of struct as key.
     
  30. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks for reporting this.
     
  31. PropositionOne

    PropositionOne

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.

    You have no idea how much I have despised the fact that Monodevelop 4.01 loses track of all code folding every time you save.
     
  32. seaders

    seaders

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Posts:
    29
    Hey lukaszunity, HUGE thanks for this, only dipped our toes in here, and it's already a massive improvement.

    I have, however just submitted a bug we're experiencing. Basically the compilation settings for C# obviously differ in the Unity Editor compared to in Xamarin. I'm not saying it's in any way good code, but if you run,

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2.     void Start ()
    3.     {
    4.         Action a = () => Debug.Log("Nothing to see here");
    5.  
    6.         ThisTakesACallback(a);
    7.  
    8.         Action b;
    9.  
    10.         b = () => {
    11.             Debug.Log(b.Method.Name);
    12.         };
    13.  
    14.         b.Invoke();
    15.     }
    16.  
    17.     void ThisTakesACallback(Action a)
    18.     {
    19.         ThisTakesAForwardedCallback(a ?? ThisIsWrongButItCompiles);
    20.     }
    21.  
    22.     void ThisTakesAForwardedCallback(Action a)
    23.     {
    24.         Debug.Log("callback: " + a.Method.Name);
    25.         a.Invoke();
    26.     }
    27.  
    28.     void ThisIsWrongButItCompiles(bool wrong=false)
    29.     {
    30.         Debug.Log("wrong: " + wrong);
    31.     }


    It compiles, and runs perfectly fine in Unity Editor, but fails on "Debug.Log(b.Method.Name);" and "ThisTakesAForwardedCallback(a ?? ThisIsWrongButItCompiles);" on Xamarin.

    I wouldn't mind the stricter settings being brought in to Unity Editor and make what's broken broken in both places, so long as there's consistency between the two.

    Thanks again for your help, the bug # is 716524.
     
  33. seaders

    seaders

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Posts:
    29
    On another thing, while you're working on this, is there any chance you can fix the long standing bug of the defines in
    Code (csharp):
    1. smcs.rsp
    not being passed through to MD (now Xamarin)?

    It's a similar enough situation as my previous comment that it causes some issues when the Unity IDE doesn't have the exact same environment as the coding IDE MD/Xamarin.
     
  34. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    seaders: I will have a look at the difference when building in XS and Unity and passing the smcs.rsp file to the build system in Xamarin Studio.

    On the Unity Roadmap we have "MonoDevelop and Unity REST Integration" planned for Unity 5.4, which includes always compiling your Unity project in MonoDevelop using the Unity build pipeline. Which means that the build results in MonoDevelop and Unity will always be the same.
     
    seaders likes this.
  35. voldemarz

    voldemarz

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Posts:
    25
    I'm getting same issue for
    • lists of interfaces - List<InterfaceType>
    • struct fields and properties of type List<ClassType>
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  36. Arx

    Arx

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    This issue still happens to me on Win7 x64, Unity 5.1.2f1 - new instances of Xamarin get opened. It does not matter whether I open "clean" Xamarin first.

    Edit: just updated to Unity 5.1.2p2, the problem persists. I have Xamarin Studio 5.9.4, with addins installed (though that didn't change anything in this matter). The new instance that gets opened does not even open the script I clicked on in Editor; I use these args: "$(File);$(Line)"
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2015
    lermy3d likes this.
  37. sanpats

    sanpats

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    343
    Using XS 5.9.4.5 with Unity 5.2.0b5 when select Assets/Open C# Project (a replacement of Sync MonoDevelop Project in 5.2) will open both XS and MD. Clicking on the C# script will correctly open only XS.

    Bug # 718055
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2015
  38. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,406
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2015
  39. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,406
    @lukaszunity, additional bugs in 467p2: 718247, 718248
    NOTE: this happens with and without asset>synch monodevelop project




    probably explains why js dependencies are broken:

     
  40. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks for the report.
     
  41. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Turns out there are like 3 different bugs in Xamarin Studio that cause this to happen. I've fixed the bugs locally and I am working on getting them into the official Xamarn Studio releases.

    Currently in Xamarin Studio 5.9.4 there is no workaround for getting the scripts to open in the same instance on Windows from Unity.
     
    lermy3d likes this.
  42. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks, I've added to the first post that you should also install the packages listed on the MonoDevelop download site.

    I'm surprised you can even run Xamarin Studio without having the Mono framework installed, as it gives you an error on OSX if you do not have it installed. Maybe you had an older version?

    You can the check the versions you have installed on OSX by typing this in terminal:

    ls -l /Library/Frameworks/Mono.framework/Versions/
     
  43. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Please check in the Xamarin Studio that you have the Boo and UnityScript language bindings add-ins installed and enabled. You do this from Add-in Manager, under Language Bindings. You will get this error dialog if you do have them installed or disabled.

    These add-ins are included in the Unity Add-ins zip file.
     
  44. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    Thanks fro the bug report, this was a regression that has been fixed and should land in one upcoming Unity 5.2 betas.
     
  45. joolsa

    joolsa

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Hi -

    I really appreciate Unity doing this, however I'm having some issues getting this working. I'm on a Mac, OSX 10.10.4, Unity 5.1.2p1, Xamarin Studio 5.9.4b5 and Mono Mono 4.0.2 ((detached/c99aa0c) (latest). The first issue seemed to be that Unity wasn't in it's default location, as I have multiple versions in stalled as per: http://docs.unity3d.com/460/Documentation/Manual/InstallingMultipleVersionsofUnity.html

    Which gave me the logs:

    System.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path "/Applications/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/PlaybackEngines/iOSSupport/Data/iosdevices.csv".
    at System.IO.FileStream..ctor (System.String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, Boolean anonymous, FileOptions options) [0x001c6] in /private/tmp/source-mono-mac-4.0.0-branch-c5sr2/bockbuild-mono-4.0.0-branch/profiles/mono-mac-xamarin/build-root/mono-4.0.2/mcs/class/corlib/System.IO/FileStream.cs:233
    at System.IO.FileStream..ctor (System.String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, System.String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy, Boolean useLongPath, Boolean checkHost) [0x00000] in /private/tmp/source-mono-mac-4.0.0-branch-c5sr2/bockbuild-mono-4.0.0-branch/profiles/mono-mac-xamarin/build-root/mono-4.0.2/mcs/class/corlib/System.IO/FileStream.cs:152
    at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.IO.FileStream:.ctor (string,System.IO.FileMode,System.IO.FileAccess,System.IO.FileShare,int,System.IO.FileOptions,string,bool,bool,bool)
    at System.IO.StreamReader..ctor (System.String path, System.Text.Encoding encoding, Boolean detectEncodingFromByteOrderMarks, Int32 bufferSize, Boolean checkHost) [0x00065] in /private/tmp/source-mono-mac-4.0.0-branch-c5sr2/bockbuild-mono-4.0.0-branch/profiles/mono-mac-xamarin/build-root/mono-4.0.2/external/referencesource/mscorlib/system/io/streamreader.cs:255
    at System.IO.StreamReader..ctor (System.String path, System.Text.Encoding encoding, Boolean detectEncodingFromByteOrderMarks, Int32 bufferSize) [0x00000] in /private/tmp/source-mono-mac-4.0.0-branch-c5sr2/bockbuild-mono-4.0.0-branch/profiles/mono-mac-xamarin/build-root/mono-4.0.2/external/referencesource/mscorlib/system/io/streamreader.cs:236
    at System.IO.StreamReader..ctor (System.String path, Boolean detectEncodingFromByteOrderMarks) [0x00000] in /private/tmp/source-mono-mac-4.0.0-branch-c5sr2/bockbuild-mono-4.0.0-branch/profiles/mono-mac-xamarin/build-root/mono-4.0.2/external/referencesource/mscorlib/system/io/streamreader.cs:207
    at System.IO.StreamReader..ctor (System.String path) [0x00000] in /private/tmp/source-mono-mac-4.0.0-branch-c5sr2/bockbuild-mono-4.0.0-branch/profiles/mono-mac-xamarin/build-root/mono-4.0.2/external/referencesource/mscorlib/system/io/streamreader.cs:184
    at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.IO.StreamReader:.ctor (string)
    at System.IO.File.OpenText (System.String path) [0x00000] in /private/tmp/source-mono-mac-4.0.0-branch-c5sr2/bockbuild-mono-4.0.0-branch/profiles/mono-mac-xamarin/build-root/mono-4.0.2/mcs/class/corlib/System.IO/File.cs:346
    at System.IO.File.ReadAllLines (System.String path) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at MonoDevelop.Debugger.Soft.Unity.iOSDevices.LoadDescriptions (System.String path) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at MonoDevelop.Debugger.Soft.Unity.iOSDevices.SetupDescriptions (System.String path) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    ERROR [2015-08-07 12:14:44Z]: Error while initializing usbmuxd
    System.Exception: dlopen: dlopen(/Applications/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/PlaybackEngines/iOSSupport/UnityEditor.iOS.Extensions.Native.dylib, 2): image not found
    at MonoDevelop.Debugger.Soft.Unity.PosixDllLoader.LoadLibrary (System.String fileName) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at MonoDevelop.Debugger.Soft.Unity.Usbmuxd.LoadDll (System.String nativeDll) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at MonoDevelop.Debugger.Soft.Unity.Usbmuxd.Setup (System.String dllPath) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at MonoDevelop.Debugger.Soft.Unity.iOSDevices.SetupDll (System.String path) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    ERROR [2015-08-07 12:15:50Z]: Could not connect to the debugger.

    I've moved Unity back to it's default location, however it still won't connect. The dialog box says "Could not connect to the debugger." and the log:

    INFO [2015-08-07 12:19:19Z]: Prebuilt Apps updated.
    WARNING [2015-08-07 12:20:39Z]: /Users/jools/Desktop/Documents/Code/MadAtom/P1/p1-git/P1Unity/P1Unity.sln (30) : Project with guid = '{E4120637-D31B-8369-1419-E5C0C2A032D4}' not found or not loaded. Ignoring
    WARNING [2015-08-07 12:20:39Z]: /Users/jools/Desktop/Documents/Code/MadAtom/P1/p1-git/P1Unity/P1Unity.sln (34) : Project with guid = '{7AD98B19-7A60-4A6C-AAC1-0A2C9CA039CE}' not found or not loaded. Ignoring
    INFO [2015-08-07 12:20:39Z]: Add-in loaded: MonoDevelop.HexEditor
    INFO [2015-08-07 12:20:41Z]: Add-in loaded: MonoDevelop.VersionControl.Subversion
    INFO [2015-08-07 12:20:41Z]: Add-in loaded: MonoDevelop.VersionControl.Subversion.Unix
    Loaded: /Applications/Unity/Unity.app/Contents/PlaybackEngines/iOSSupport/UnityEditor.iOS.Extensions.Native.dylib
    [usbmuxd] Start listen thread
    [usbmuxd] Listen thread started
    [usbmuxd] Send listen message
    INFO [2015-08-07 12:20:49Z]: ExternalToolService: No user templates, reading default templates.
    ERROR [2015-08-07 12:20:59Z]: Could not connect to the debugger.
    INFO [2015-08-07 12:23:15Z]: Xamarin.iOS not installed. Can't find mtouch.
    ERROR [2015-08-07 12:29:12Z]: Could not connect to the debugger.

    I've tried attaching to the editor both with the game running and with the game not running.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance,

    Jools
     
  46. lukaszunity

    lukaszunity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    461
    In Xamarin Studio Preferences under "Unity ➔ Debugger" you can set the Editor location, so you can have Unity installed in any location. We are working on making this clearer so you get an message box instead of just an exception in the log file.

    How are you connecting to the debugger? By using iOS Player (USB) or "Attach to Process" from the target list?

    Did you remember to enable "Development build" and "Script Debugging" when you built the iOS player?

    Does does connecting to the debugger work for you in MD 4.0.1?
     
  47. joolsa

    joolsa

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Ok, this now works for me. Great, thanks! Setting the path in the preferences helps. I've not done debugging (i.e it hasn't worked for me) in ages. I hadn't got 'Editor Attaching' set in preferences. That could do with a better name - I found out by reading the docs on Editor debugger :)

    I pretty much use Xamarin, not the shipped MonoDevelop all the time. I reckon if you aren't going to keep building the plugins for Xamarin I might end up building them myself. Which of the plugins do you actually need for debugging - is it just the Soft Debugger Support?
     
  48. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,406
    Yes! It works.

     
  49. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,406
    When Xamarin isn't open and I double click on a console error, xamarin opens the project but doesn't open the errored script or, if the script was last open when xamarin closed, the line where the error is at.
     
  50. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    5,406
    suddenly, xamarin stopped opening script.
    getting this error when I double click on a script inside the inspector and as you can see the external tool points to xamarin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity