Search Unity

Unity 5 Texture Alpha issues

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by jjbravo, May 27, 2015.

1. jjbravo

jjbravo

Hi, I'm pretty new to Unity.
    I'm importing a 3d model with some large textures with an alpha channel.
    I turn on the Alpha is Transparency on the texture and my textures gets all messed up on the material. It looks good in the texture view. And if I use the texture without adding the alpha channel as transparent, the texture looks good on the material.

Any guidance would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    JJ

Attached Files:

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Hard to tell without providing what your alpha channel looks like.
    Which image you provided looks correct?

Does your alpha look something like this?
    upload_2015-5-26_21-0-43.png

3. jjbravo

jjbravo

Thanks.
    That's the texture without the "Alpha Is Transparent" checked.

Attached is the Texture with the "Alpha Is Transparent" turned on. But when attached to the Material, it looks like the first image attached called "With Alpha Turned on.png"

Attached Files:

4. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

I will let another dev give you a proper answer.

Materials & Shaders are still a little foreign to me at this point.
    I thought it might be an alpha error, but it seems it might be a Unity setting.
    There does seem to be a lot of scattered pixel noise in that alpha.
    Sorry JJ.

5. jjbravo

jjbravo

Thanks for trying! Hopefully someone else has some input.

6. jjbravo

jjbravo

That's actually not noise but white labels/other overlay labels which is what I need from the texture.

theANMATOR2b likes this.
  7. jjbravo

jjbravo

So I was doing some testing. I created a new image with an alpha channel. I imported the picture and I get the same result.
    I must be missing something obvious. Sorry if this is something completely basic.
    Pictures:
    "Test_Trans Imported" Imported Test Texture.