Search Unity

Unity 5 - Shader to "dissolve" mesh edges?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by odival, Aug 11, 2015.

1. odival

odival

I'm not a coder (much less a shader coder) thus I'm not sure this is the best place to post this thread, so bear with me:
    I need some help. In my Unity5 game I'm using two cameras, First camera renders the actual terrain and game objects (wich has a far plane of a 1000 units) and the Second camera renders a 3d skybox of sorts, a miniature of the actual terrain (it's far plane is 3200 units, but it covers the entirety of the miniature). With this setup I'm able to fake the illusion of having a very far horizon, as in the image below:
    However, the 1st camera's far plane edge is very harsh, and doesn't blend well with the 2nd camera's background. Is there anyway to blur this edge, so it trasition seamlessly with the backdrop, as in the image below (a mockup I made in photoshop)?

Any help is apreciated! =)

*The blue line on the left image is just to outline the boundaries of the two cameras, it's not like this in the actual game.
    EDIT: Made a better explanation of the problem, and what I need.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
  2. Marco-Sperling

Marco-Sperling

Have you tried using fog to achieve similar results? With an additional depth of field blur image effect on your camera maybe?

3. odival

odival

Thx for the tip, but I'm afraid It doesn't work.The depth of field also blurred the 2nd camera's background. The fog just give a nice laser outline effect, but it's not what I need.
    I need a solution to blur or dissolve just the 1st camera far plane edge. =(

4. Dolkar

Dolkar

You're most likely going to need to make use of the alpha channel and set up some form of transparency to achieve this. You also won't be able to optimize it with stencil as at the dissolve point, both cameras need to draw.