Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

[Unity 5] Screen becomes gray for a couple of seconds after splash screen

Discussion in 'BlackBerry' started by Elkis, Mar 7, 2015.

  1. Elkis

    Elkis

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Hey guys!
    Just upgraded my game to Unity 5 and after some tweaking it works great, the PRO features are as awesome as I imagined!
    Nevertheless, I have a small issue in the BlackBerry build (tested on android and this doesn't happen): The screen becomes gray after the splash screen and stays like that for some seconds; still, the game keeps running behind the screen (I can hear the intro sequence playing).

    Do you know if this is a bug or am I missing something extra for the BlackBerry build?

    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. aiekick

    aiekick

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    hello,
    i have the same issue on BB10 and not on android.
     
  3. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Sounds like a trend. Could you submit a bug report and let me know the case #?
     
  4. Elkis

    Elkis

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Done. The case number is 679256.
     
  5. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Thanks! I'll make sure it gets looked at.
     
  6. Elkis

    Elkis

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Great, thank you!

    Please let me know if you find a workaround in the meantime.
     
  7. JipTriple

    JipTriple

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem. After installing Unity 5.0.1 a gray screen appears at my game after the splashscreen and before loading the first scene. (On a Blackberry Passport). On Unity 5.0 it does work well, but if I revert my game to Unity 5.0, all my objects in some of my scenes are gone.

    I tested this also with a clean new scene.
     
  8. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    I've been able to see the grey screen on both BlackBerry and Samsung TV. It's in my queue of things to address.
     
    JipTriple and MrEsquire like this.
  9. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    I'm commenting here as well so I can find it again later when its fixed and for updates... I have a BlackBerry game I need to release and I'd like to get rid of the gray screen as well. I'd rather not downgrade to Unity 5.0.0, but might need to.

    I love the changes, keep at it :) I wouldn't mind the gray screen (it looks like its for fading in or something) if the colour could be made changable (the rest of my game has a dark black background)
     
  10. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Any news on a fix for this?
     
  11. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Yep I was able to find out what was causing it. In 5.0 they introduced the new animated splash screen. So the grey screen was introduced by that. BlackBerry OS displays a static image only so there's no support for the animated splash screen. When I find time I'll see if I can find a way to prevent the grey screen from showing up.
     
    Lloyd_RedironLabs and MrEsquire like this.
  12. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    While your at it, you might want to address the Passports splash screen issue. The passport is 1440x1440 but it overrides the square splash screen and uses the portrait instead (everything squished).

    Neither is a high criticality from a usability standpoint. But they do have a Unity game embarrassment factor for sure.

    Mind you, I believe this was 'open sourced'? Would it help if we pull and contribute? I hate the idea of providing unpaid coding for high priced commercial apps - but if it gets things fixed sooner...
     
  13. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Ah yes, the good old Splash Screen issues, I thought we fixed this in 4.6 builds.
     
  14. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    The life of developing for the little guys I suppose :D
     
  15. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Hrm... It's possible that I forgot to bring the fix up to my 5.0 dev branch. I'll take a look.
     
  16. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    MrEsquire likes this.
  17. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    I can't reproduce the grey (or is it gray?) screen using the latest 5.0 builds. When the next 5.0 patch comes out it may be worth taking a look. I'll mark the bug as resolved for now let me know if you guys keep seeing it and then I'll re-launch my investigation.
     
  18. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    Thanks I'll take a look. BlackBerry just rejected my application and asked me to replace the gray screen with a loading screen - its the only platform I'm really building for at the moment...

    Will check and see if the patch fixes it. Thanks.
     
  19. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    Hi Alex,

    The issue is still very much present in today's release (5.1.0f3). Verified on BlackBerry Passport, running the latest official BlackBerry 10 OS's (10.3.1 & 10.3.2) - testing multiple projects.

    I can't find the option to force OpenGLES 2.0 versus 3.and vise-versa anymore, so hopefully you've been able to test this on a Z10. In Unity3D 5.0, if you used Auto or OpenGLES 3.0 - it would cause your application to crash immediately on launch on the Z10 - this didn't happen in 4.6 - but maybe this was fixed and wasn't in the release notes.
     
    Elkis and MrEsquire like this.
  20. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Okay consider my investigation re-opened. I should have time to dig into this tomorrow if I get all my tasks for today done.
     
    Elkis likes this.
  21. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    Perfect thanks Alex.

    I'm dumb and missed this article on OpenGL: http://blogs.unity3d.com/2015/05/26/dx11-features-on-mobile/

    Tonight, I'll run the build across the Passport, Q10, Z10, and see if different phones & OS's have different behaviors.

    Lloyd
     
  22. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    Update:
    Passport running 10.3.2, was able to replicate the gray screen issue.
    Z10 running 10.3.1, was able to replicate the gray screen issue. The opengl crash issue looks resolved.
    Q10 running 10.2.1, was able to replicate the gray screen issue. The opengl crash issue looks resolved.

    Edit: looks like I spoke too soon.

    @lloyd game crashes on my BlackBerry Z10STL100-1/10.3.1.2726

    Had this come in from several beta testers now. Looks like the OpenGL3 crash is isolated to the Z10 STL model 1. In older versions of Unity I could force OpenGL2, but then pro filters don't work. Anyway it looks like a special build is needed for the STL 1 using command line switches (on BlackBerry you have to support all devices with no gray screen in order to be eligible for BFB)

    I've gone ahead and created a bug report in the abyss for the crash-state here
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
    Elkis likes this.
  23. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
  24. Elkis

    Elkis

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Oh... :(
     
  25. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    I still have time in 5.1 patches to get fixes in and intend to at least give this one a shot.
     
    Elkis and MrEsquire like this.
  26. Elkis

    Elkis

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Alex, it would be terrific if you could fix the gray screen and make the builds more stable on Passport devices. That way, we could keep 5.1 as a last solid version to release BlackBerry games without issues! Please make it happen :D
     
    Lloyd_RedironLabs and MrEsquire like this.
  27. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  28. Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Lloyd_RedironLabs

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    319
    Amen.
     
  29. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    + 1
     
  30. UberschallSamsara

    UberschallSamsara

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Posts:
    4
  31. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Did you managed to do this?
    A fix before BB 5.2 Support Ends :)
     
    Elkis likes this.
  32. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Nope not yet. Hopefully soon. Really sorry about the wait.
     
  33. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    The fix for this will be in 5.1.2p2
     
    Elkis likes this.
  34. Elkis

    Elkis

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Great! Thank you Alex! :D
     
  35. Ardek666

    Ardek666

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Its 5.1.2 and when i try to open unity my screen goes grey as well.
     
  36. Elkis

    Elkis

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    83