Search Unity

Unity 5 - lighting, lightmapping and bugs

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by homerender, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. Seith

    Seith

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    715
    Beta 20 is the first one I use so I didn't know that! Interesting.
     
  2. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,453
    AFAIK it's when they converted the image effects from unity script to c# the bugs popped up on post fx.
     
  3. SpiriTx

    SpiriTx

    Graphics QA Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Kasper told that this should get fixed after they finish up implementing some stuff, hopefully it will be so

    I've checked the database and there is a bug case for this issue already.

    Thanks for all these findings!
     
    KRGraphics likes this.
  4. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
    I've encountered this light leak myself and one way I have worked around this is modeling a small bevel where the edges of the walls meet. This also happens in offline renderers too. Nothing on earth is a perfect edge... just a small bevel on geometry will help a bit.
     
  5. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Nice interiors, but I have a quick question. Why are you using Tonemapping without HDR? And shouldn't the Bloom effect come in before Tonemapping is applied, so it could use the HDR information of the frame?
     
  6. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    I'm not use tonemapping without hdr :confused:

    I have no answer for the second question o_O
     
  7. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Hi guys, i send new bugreport (case 666490)

    And i found some new bug now, but I do not know how to describe it in words... Problems with Unity and folders in explorer.

    I think my first problem in bug report and this problem with folders is linked
     
  8. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,078
    Hi! Have you tried beta 21 with final gathering enabled? This should look much better now.
     
  9. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
    Aw, man... I have to try it out... I also usually add a small bevel at the corners of my geometry... that also fixes light leaks...
     
  10. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Sorry, I left for a week. Now i tried to bake in beta 22, but unfortunately everything looks exactly the same as before.
     
  11. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    I have 2 problems with glass (transparent/fade) material:

    transparent/fade not work with DOF




    If i make for all little spheres glass material - its looks terrible. They fighting with vase material and each other on different angles:



     
  12. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    New problem. With lightmapping. I add model of robot to the scene, make it static, make automatic lightmap UV's, but its not baking! Do i need to bugreport?





     
  13. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Transparent objects don't write to depth-buffer. It's an interesting problem though, I'd wish to know if there are workarounds.
    As for the robot, I think skinned meshes can't be baked.
     
  14. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    It seems right, but it's not very good ...
     
  15. 3agle

    3agle

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    508
    If it's going to be static(baked), there's no point in it being a skinned mesh, just make it a mesh renderer, then it will bake.

    Edit: otherwise, you could use light probes to give it the baked lighting, but honestly it's just wasteful to have a static skinned mesh in a scene.
     
  16. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
    Yep. For now just set the scene with light probes for the robot. And you are making such beautiful arch viz renders.
     
  17. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Another bug with lightmap :(

    I have a coffee table near the sofa. It has a simple specular shader, marked as static but...




     
  18. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,078
    Looks like the table emits light - that is totally unexpected... Could you please file a bug report with the scene so we can have a look and fix it?
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  19. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    I fix it by create this object:



     
  20. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,078
    Please file a proper bug report so we can have a look at your scene, in the state where the table looks wrong. Thanks!
     
  21. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Case 673266
     
  22. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    @KEngelstoft What about screen flickering when using reflection probes? I think this problem began to appear less frequently, but it has remained.
     
  23. SpiriTx

    SpiriTx

    Graphics QA Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    It hasn't been fixed yet, but disabling Tonemapping or HDR while working should help out for now.
     
  24. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    But i need all of this)

     
  25. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,078
    Hi! Thank you for posting the bug number.

    We found and fixed an issue where NaN's could be generated and HDR and other screen space effects could amplify them so they would cover most of the screen, resulting in black blotches. I am not yet sure if this fix have made it into RC3 or if it will appear in the next one. You can try disabling MSAA as a workaround for now.
     
  26. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Glad to hear it!
     
  27. Zomby138

    Zomby138

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    652
    I remember having that issue way back in like beta16 or something. It was fixed in one of the betas around that time. I don't see what that has to do with this.
     
  28. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Strange. I test all betas and this problem will be in any.
     
  29. Zomby138

    Zomby138

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    652
    My point is, I think KEngelSoft is talking about a totally separate issue.
     
  30. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    I found new two bugs.

    First: All lightmaps is baked but when i change view mode to baked, directionality, albeto e.t.c all seems buggy, not normally. Its happened if i bake lightmaps, close Unity and start again. Case 673959

    Second:

    I change view mode "Baked" and turn off "Show resolution". Why all seems like waves? Compressed is off.

     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  31. Zomby138

    Zomby138

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    652
    I noticed those waves recently as well. Not sure how long they've been around but I can definitely confirm that bug.
     
  32. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    But the fact that we were given the opportunity to see lightmaps on a white material - this is my old dream, thanks to the developers)
     
  33. Gokcan

    Gokcan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    200
    What you mean here? Do we allowed to see lightmaps on white materials? I see those waves so much since my scene has flat colors on walls(especially on white surfaces).
     
  34. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Earlier in Unity 4, we can see only the resolution lightmaps. Now, in Unity 5 in the "baked" mode all materials become white. It is very convenient to adjust the lighting. When I worked with architectural visualization, I always did it in 3dsmax. Now it's easy to do and also in Unity without changing the assigned materials.
     
  35. Gokcan

    Gokcan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    200
    Why it is not enabled in real time GI?:(
     
  36. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    I don't know if it's just me, but even though i set the AO slider to zero, there's still a stage where it says Bake AO, is this normal?
     
  37. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Something changes with GI or lightmapping on 5.0.0f3. It seems better, more light. And all seems better. Good job!



     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2015
    Gokcan and shkar-noori like this.
  38. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,078
    We have a fix for this, and it should speed up baking when you don't use AO :)
     
    shkar-noori and homerender like this.
  39. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
  40. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    Great, RC4 fix maybe?
     
  41. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,671
    The performance improvement didn't make it for RC4. Fortunately patch releases will resume immediately after we ship 5.0, so we will have that included then.
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  42. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    yep, I knew we would never see RC5 :D
     
    rwetzold likes this.
  43. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    :D
     
  44. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    Anti-Aliasing and correct reflections are missing...still looks good, but it could look way more beautiful with proper reflections and Anti-Aliasing
     
    Roni92 likes this.
  45. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    AA not work in Deferred. AA as posteffect looks not very good. About reflections - i dont know how i can make more realistic reflection using Reflection Probes. Only maybe if using SSLR but Unity not have it. Need a custom shader.

    I showed these models very close, in fact this model of the second plan and nobody not will be looking so close. At a distance and in the dynamics does not look bad.
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  46. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    The models don't look bad, its the shading.. it was just a little bit of reminder for unity to let the love out for Anti-Aliasing...
     
  47. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Unfortunately when using Deferred rendering it is impossible to do AA apart АА as post effect :(
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  48. Gokcan

    Gokcan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    200
    Guys, I want to ask a question. I also suffer from AA. When I use deffered rendering in my scenes, scenes becomes really bad in terms of AA. I can easily see the differences between forward and defered. However, I am analyzing viking demo project. I see almost no difference between forward and defered. I started to think my arch viz models are not so good modeled. What I want to ask is that what is the difference between my scenes and viking demo project. SOme techniques while modeling has affect on AA? Or what else affect all these?
     
  49. Devil_Inside

    Devil_Inside

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    I don't think SSLR is going to help here. Those items reflect the part of the scene, which is not in your screen space.
     
  50. DanSuperGP

    DanSuperGP

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    383