Search Unity

  1. How has 2019.2 and the beta been for you so far? Give us feedback in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 5 - lighting, lightmapping and bugs

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by homerender, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Hi there. Sorry for my bad english. I makes some interiors in Unity 5. There is no tutorials about this theme, i try to adjust all random) This is the best what i do now, you can see my lightmap settings on the first screenshot. I love lightmapping and using it everywhere.






    I'm not very happy with the result. Basically there are some problems:

    The interior is very dark, it is necessary to use Tonemapping (Unity Pro only). Because of this, many dark areas do not look nice:




    I found that solves this problem is turning on HDR on the camera:



    But... Unity 5 have very old bug. If we using Reflection probes + Tonemapping + HDR - screen is flickering with black... I sent Bugreport. This is a very old problem, I would like that Unity Team corrected it soon. It interferes with work in the Scene View, constantly have to disable components.

    Other Lighting I have done only with the help of Sun (Directional light with 0.5 intensity) and Sky (Ambient Source is Default Skybox) and some point lights in a bathroom.

    Another my problem is many many lightmapping bugs:



    I very much hope that this will also be fixed... Its not a problem with my models, all meshes is clean and have good quality.

    Maybe these nuances will be for someone useful. And I will be very grateful to the advice of experienced people how to improve the interior lighting :)
     
  2. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,278
    Moved into Unity 5 forum as it might be more specific to your cause.
     
  3. uprashanth

    uprashanth

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    @homerender Go to Window -> Lighting -> under Baked GI -> uncheck Compressed. If you want more quality Increase baked resolution.
     
  4. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    This is bad for RAM and not help with bugs :(
     
  5. uprashanth

    uprashanth

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    What platform are you targeting? Cuz I do what you do. I do it for Mobile and PC. For mobile I bake lightmaps and for PC I use mixed mode.
     
  6. uprashanth

    uprashanth

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    Does Arealights work for you? For me they aren't working! :(
     
  7. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    PC
     
  8. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    There is bug, Area lights not working if scale less 0.1
     
  9. uprashanth

    uprashanth

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    @homerender Can I know what 3D App you use to make your models? I use sketchup. I'm planning to use 3DsMax. What would you suggest? :)
     
  10. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    If you are new in 3D modeling, I recommend learning Blender, since it's free.
     
  11. uprashanth

    uprashanth

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    @homerender Thank you. I'm not new to 3D modelling ;). I just started using sketchup. What do you use? Can you tell me what Post Process do u use after lightmapping? I use Tone mapping. And also what lights u use in your scene? Spot or Area or Both Checked your Website and tried Web Demo of a Room. It is awesome. Now I'm trying to make a scene like you. Screenshot (358).png
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2015
  12. uprashanth

    uprashanth

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    This is done in Unity 5. The previous in Unity 4.6 Screenshot (357).png
     
  13. Gokcan

    Gokcan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    198
    I have the same problem. I have summited a bug.
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/gi-problem.283394/

    You say turning on HDR solves problem. I tried it but no way, still same. However, my materials do not use albedo texture. They are just materials with albedo color. Can you please remove your albedo textures and look if problems are still there?
     
  14. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181


    I use a separate light sources, depending on the situation.

    If using HDR + Tonemappng (Adaptive Reinhard) + Reflection Probes.
     
  15. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,033
    Hi @homerender! Nice interiors!
    What is the case number for the bug on Reflection probes + Tonemapping + HDR - screen is flickering?
     
  16. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Hello! 663915
     
  17. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,033
    The amount of energy output by an Area light is depending on the Width/Height of the plane defining the light. If you have a tiny area with a low intensity, the output will be scaled below 1.f/255.f and it will not show up. Try setting a larger area or increase the intensity.
    I hope I can find the time to look into this soon and make the lights behave better.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2015
  18. SpiriTx

    SpiriTx

    Graphics QA Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Reproduced the issue and assigned to devs for fixing. Thanks for a great bug!

    I didn't get those artefacts with b20, are you still seeing them?
     
  19. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Yay! :)

    Yes, i use beta 20. I found cause of the problem - this is a curtains. If i remove it all baked good. However, I do not understand why they have caused a problem. The model has no bugs.
     
  20. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    @SpiriTx i found new problem. I make this awesome sofa))

    Unwrap is good. That is why i not check "generate lightmap UV's". But....



    GI Charting looks stretched... Why? What does it depend?



    If I put a tick "Generate lightmap UV's" GI Charting it looks even worse.
     
    KRGraphics likes this.
  21. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,033
    Hi! Your scene attached to the case you submitted doesn't contain the awesome sofa, please file a new report with the sofa scene attached.
     
    hakankaraduman likes this.
  22. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Hi! oh.. maybe i can send only model?
     
  23. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,278
    sure, please submit a working unity scene with the sofa in that has the issue confirmed for you :)

    Unity will email a case number back to you within 10 mins or so, then just leave that number here, many thanks.
     
  24. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    I sent it to @KEngelstoft in PM, its for commercial use for Asset Store :rolleyes:
     
  25. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,278
    Quick question: does your sofa mirror uvs?

    re asset store - it doesn't matter, talking about the bug reporter.... this allows you to submit things only unity staff will see.
     
  26. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    hmm.... Maybe.... I mirror model after unwrapping. this may be the reason?
     
  27. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,278
    It's all good extra information ;)
     
  28. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,033
    The charting on the sofa look ok to me when I add it. Please file a new case with a scene where the problem reproduces. Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  29. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    looks stretched and this is not my unwrap. Autounwrapping is not good.
     
  30. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,278
    Well it won't get fixed unless you can send unity the actual scene via the bug reporter. it's safe and nobody else will have your attachment,
     
  31. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Bug Case 665082

    bug report again does not work, still the same error

     
  32. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,278
    Thanks for this, Unity staff will be around to help soon :)
     
  33. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    Hi, for the moment being until we get that fixed, you can still use the old bug reporter (it's included in the installation path). But as Hippo says - we are looking into this :)
     
  34. edwardy

    edwardy

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you for the report about the problem.
    This is a bug in BugReporter. We are working on it and it will be fixed in next release of BugReporter. We have a fix, but it didn't make it into beta 21. It will be in beta 22.
    The workaround is to change TMP and TEMP system variables for your user account so it not uses non-english names. Or you can use the old reporter, which we have kept in the installation path for now.
     
  35. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    I am glad that my bug reports have been useful :)
     
  36. SpiriTx

    SpiriTx

    Graphics QA Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    So it's like this without lightmap UVs
    Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 18.15.59.png

    But if you generate them, it looks all good

    Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 18.20.11.png
     
  37. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Yes, but as you can see there is too many bugs on other parts of sofa :(
     
  38. SpiriTx

    SpiriTx

    Graphics QA Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Indeed, didn't pay too much attention to the front side at first, but you are right. Will pass it on to devs.
     
  39. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Thank you.

    There is another problem, which was also on the legacy lightmapping. Light breaks through the models. Because of this, always had to make a special external model, which does not transmit light. But it is a "ugly hack". Maybe something can be done about it?

     
  40. Gokcan

    Gokcan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    198
    I have all the problems as well @homerender mentions:) No need to submit bug again. It is impossible to go on our projects with these bugs. I believe these bugs must be on top in TODO list.
     
  41. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    @SpiriTx guys, I found another bug... It may be necessary to rename the topic in "Bugs in Unity 5"? :D

    Deferred + Linear


     
  42. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
    Off topic, these sofas look FREAKING PHENOMENAL!!! And I am glad I am seeing these posts because it is important to see the issues before we really start using lightmapping. Maybe there can be a way to allow up to select which UVs we can use for Lightmapping... have you thought about changing where your seams go, maybe in a spot where no one can see them? Also when you model a room, you can try adding a small bevel on the 90 degree corners to avoid light leaking... this also happens when in offline renders too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2015
  43. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    @Neptune_Imaging Thanks) This is updating 2.0 for my old asset https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/7054

    Nope, Unity can't do it.
     
    KRGraphics likes this.
  44. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
  45. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181

    Unwrap on this model is good on UV1, i make by myself.

     
    DanSuperGP likes this.
  46. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
    Very nice and clean. Still weird that you are getting artefacts.
     
  47. Zomby138

    Zomby138

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    652
    I would say that there is nowhere near enough padding between those UV islands. Consider how low res these lightmaps are, each pixel along the island edges is going to hit two totally different parts of the model.
     
    OP_toss and theANMATOR2b like this.
  48. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Perhaps you're right
     
  49. Seith

    Seith

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    711
    I too have met this error. It seems you can't choose DX11 as a Defocus Type when in Deferred Linear mode. That used to work perfectly in 4.6 so I think that's a bug.
     
  50. homerender

    homerender

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    In the previous beta-version seems it worked fine.