Search Unity

Unity 5 iOS Player Setting: "Behavior in Background: Custom"

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Sir-Travisty, Mar 28, 2015.

  1. Sir-Travisty

    Sir-Travisty

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    I was hoping someone knew how the new "Custom" value for the iOS Player Setting "Behavior in Background" works? All the documentation I see is for the old 4.x settings. I'm hoping this "Custom" feature allows me to override some method to do some processing in C# code while in the background. Any ideas?
     
    ocimum likes this.
  2. mfgage

    mfgage

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    did you get any answers on this? I need to keep the audio playing after lock-screen/screen-dimming for my app. Can't find a way to do this with Unity (it's so easy on iOS).
     
  3. mire

    mire

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    I'm interested in this answer as well. I'm working on an app that needs to track GPS coordinates, and it would be nice if it could work while the app is in the background. Anyone know?

    Edit: Just dug this documentation page on the iOS player settings: http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-PlayerSettingsiOS.html - the screenshot of the other settings panel shows the "Behavior in Background" field, but in the text it's listed as "Exit on Suspend" and only says it: "Specifies whether the application should quit when suspended to background on iOS versions that support multitasking."
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2015
    diegoadrada and ocimum like this.
  4. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,380
  5. Soundguy

    Soundguy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    I'm trying to know if there's a way to have Unity be called in the background on location change so the game can update the user's location in the server and send them a push notification if the reach somewhere according to some logic. Is that possible?
     
  6. diegoadrada

    diegoadrada

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    53
    I'm needing the same for track GPS coordinates, do you know if is possible with this? Thanks!
     
  7. waqas_haxhmi

    waqas_haxhmi

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Posts:
    9
    anyone know how to use it ??