Search Unity

  1. The 2021.2 beta is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2021.2 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Pro and Enterprise subscribers: find helpful & inspiring creative, tech, and business know-how in the new Unity Success Hub. Sign in to stay up to date.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Unity 5.5_b07 is no longer importing .blend files from Blender 2.78

Discussion in '5.5 Beta' started by knighthawk, Oct 15, 2016.

  1. knighthawk

    knighthawk

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Hi,

    I thought I would give Unity 5.5 a try lastnight to also give Physx3.3 a go.

    Unfortunately it seems to have broken the blender import.

    I also run, 5.3.4, 5.3.5, 5.4.0, 5.4.1, 5.4.2 of which all work fine with my current build of Blender 2.78.

    Testing with the Blender default cube and in Object mode.

    Unity Message : -

    Blender could not convert the .blend file to FBX file.
    You need to use Blender 2.45-2.49 or 2.58 and later versions for direct Blender import to work.


    Windows Crash Report :-

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: blender.exe
    Application Version: 2.7.8.0
    Application Timestamp: 57e92e00
    Fault Module Name: MSVCR120.dll
    Fault Module Version: 12.0.21005.1
    Fault Module Timestamp: 524f83ff
    Exception Code: 40000015
    Exception Offset: 0000000000074a46
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 2057
    Additional Information 1: 8f27
    Additional Information 2: 8f273a46949532b247124c19dd9bfc51
    Additional Information 3: a324
    Additional Information 4: a3244dfd9bd45cb95c13f04f04367b0a

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  2. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,529
    Hi Mike,
    Thanks for reporting this. Could you please file a bug report and reply in this thread with the case #?
     
  3. knighthawk

    knighthawk

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Thank you,

    Bug logged with the following Case # 843299

    Mike
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  4. knighthawk

    knighthawk

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Just to update.


    I have fully updated my PC and installed Unity 5.5_b08, and re-installed a clean copy of Blender 2.78.


    I have also checked the MSVCR120.dll and it is bang up to date. Still getting the same error.


    Still working fine on previous version of unity 5.4.2 backwards.


    Removed the Blender version of the DLL so it used the windows one, same error in Event Viewer.


    Faulting application name: blender.exe, version: 2.7.8.0, time stamp: 0x57e92e00

    Faulting module name: MSVCR120.dll, version: 12.0.21005.1, time stamp: 0x524f83ff

    Exception code: 0x40000015

    Fault offset: 0x0000000000074a46

    Faulting process id: 0x1848

    Faulting application start time: 0x01d22bcb7c526b9d

    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender\blender.exe

    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\MSVCR120.dll

    Report Id: ba137880-97be-11e6-a975-50e549da6014


    Tested with single monitor setup as well, same problem.


    Also Tested on another machine, I get the same errors.


    Acer Aspire Laptop 9300.


    Could it be an AMD issue.

    Capture1.JPG Capture2.JPG Capture3.JPG

    Thanks


    Mike
     
  5. knighthawk

    knighthawk

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Hi All,

    Just tested all the above on an Intel I7 and all works fine.

    Could very well be the AMD Phenom 2 architecture.

    I am upgrading soon anyway, so should be fine.

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  6. knighthawk

    knighthawk

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Reply from Unity Bug Reports.

    Well it appears this issue has something to do with Windows 7, as that is the only environment that it was reproducible here. Even so, I have sent it through to the developers for further investigation. When, or if this may be fixed, I cannot say.


    Obviously, a workaround for now would be to save elsewhere and then import into Unity, or export as a different format entirely. Or, another option is, of course, to upgrade to Windows 10, leading to the issue being irrelevant.
     
  7. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,529
    The bug precedes 5.5 and was already fixed for 5.4. We're working on a port and it should be implemented in one of the upcoming iterations. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention!
     
unityunity