Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.2 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 5.2 Android sprites black / not drawing

Discussion in 'Android' started by 2dSparrow, Sep 11, 2015.

  1. 2dSparrow

    2dSparrow

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    I recently updated to Unity version 5.2 from 5.1.2 and went to test my android build which was previously drawing textures perfectly but is now displaying all of my sprites as black. The same projects IOS export is working fine display textures perfectly. I tried to change the export settings a few times but no luck, any suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thanks.

    Screenshot_2015-09-11-22-38-18.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2015
  2. fhumans

    fhumans

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Set the texture settings to advanced and disable mip-maps.

    Also, what device are you using?
     
    CovalenceSTU likes this.
  3. J0rdy

    J0rdy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    I have exactly the same problem.
     
  4. J0rdy

    J0rdy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Why is it that we have to change the texture settings and mip-maps in Unity 5.2?
     
  5. 2dSparrow

    2dSparrow

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Fixed the display problem however the game is running noticeably slower, not sure if it's just another 5.2 "feature" or not. I have an HTC One X. Just to reiterate the build was working perfectly fine on my device before the 5.2 update.

    Also agree with J0rdy this is kind of silly.
     
  6. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    653
    What's your device? I have the same thing and QA managed to reproduce it, but it's only doing it on a few devices. Perhaps send a bug report for them to have more to work with.
     
  7. PedroGV

    PedroGV

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Posts:
    415
  8. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    653
    Didn't help.
     
  9. J0rdy

    J0rdy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    I tried it on ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T
     
  10. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    653
    @ J0rdy yeah that's my tablet as well. And it does it on that.
     
  11. spryx

    spryx

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    509
    Interesting, I have had the same issues with black sprites as well. Oddly enough, it only seems to happen about one time per ten launches. Have experienced on a HTC M7 and Samsung Galaxy Note 5.

    Check the profiler as well.... I had some crazy spiking going on when my sprites were black.
     
  12. devluz

    devluz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    55
    Hmm same problem here. Works fine on all my Samsung devices but Transformer Prime shows everything involving transparency as black.

    It seems to be very easy for me to reproduce. Moving a transparent sprite into the scene and running it in android is all I need to do. Is this bug reported?

    Edit: Went back to 5.1.2 for now
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  13. screenname_taken

    screenname_taken

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    653
    Report it to be sure. my issue isn't with transparency.
     
  14. WinterSoldier5

    WinterSoldier5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    I've just tried with upgrading to Unity 5.2.0p1, this made the issue worse not better. Now even text comes up as pink as if the shader is missing.
     
  15. fhumans

    fhumans

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Try to set the texture format to "Truecolor". Additionally, make sure that if you are loading custom shaders from scripts they are accessible (e.g. put them in the Resources folder).
     
  16. PedroGV

    PedroGV

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Posts:
    415
    Having installed v5.2.1 some textures are displayed black again.
     
  17. devluz

    devluz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    55
    I installed v5.2.1 and at least normal transparent sprites work again.I didn't have the time to test everything yet though.

    Seems we have all different results.
     
  18. WinterSoldier5

    WinterSoldier5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Yep already have them all in Truecolor and no luck. I also don't use any custom shaders.
     
  19. renanse

    renanse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    For what it is worth, I have been seeing a very similar issue in 5.3.X Android builds, particularly if I switch platforms from iOS to Android. It seems to go away if I reimport all and then do the build. With the longer build times of 5.3, this is a royal pain.
     
    Rostam24 likes this.
  20. Taishou

    Taishou

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Posts:
    21
    In Unity 5.3.4 the problem still exists. I opened a bug
     
  21. forcepusher

    forcepusher

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Posts:
    222
    I solved this issue by not using unity's built-in sprites. This might not completely solve it in all cases tho, I still had some black textures in WebGL.
     
  22. dimitroff

    dimitroff

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    105
    Any updated on this? I still have to delete the whole Library, when building our Android build, after iOS, just in case I don't get black textures.
     
  23. oriolmanya

    oriolmanya

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    For me it worked just to Reimport All Assets:
    Menu > Assets > Reimport All
     
    Mootinator likes this.
  24. Mootinator

    Mootinator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    oriolmanya you have saved me hours of scouring and checking what settings i might have fooled with! +20!!
     
  25. Aldo-V

    Aldo-V

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Same problem i also experiencing on galaxy s5 using Unity 5.4.0 f3 and some older version. Have you found solution?
     
  26. odin8958

    odin8958

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I was also getting same issue in my project it was happening with nexus device specially when i was loading any sprite soon after any add video is completing, I found out that the image i was loading after video add complete if that image is loaded first time at that moment its coming as black patch so if i am just loading those images before app goes in background it worked fine.
     
  27. quako

    quako

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    happening for me if i pause the app just after clicking the icon. The scene is referencing the sprite i want but in the screen i see sprite black.
     
unityunity