Search Unity

Unity 5.0 pre-order beta now available

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by SaraCecilia, Oct 27, 2014.

  1. BrotenTechCorp

    BrotenTechCorp

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Posts:
    153
    Ya it's weird the only project data that Unity 5 can make/import or retain in project is FOLDERS! Absolutely nothing imports is created, or compiles. Really weird.
     
  2. BrotenTechCorp

    BrotenTechCorp

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Posts:
    153
    I'll just over to Windows 10 under Bootcamp and see if Unity 5 is behaving under Win10 64bit
     
  3. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,358
    Just seems totally broken - please use bug report tool in unity, as updates are so frequent, it will be fixed quickly. But reports are needed :)
     
  4. VIC20

    VIC20

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,408
    Actually the right word is it hangs forever (not crashes) so bug reporter does not popup. I'll try to install it on a fresh system.
     
  5. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    2,960
    You don't need to wait for it to tell you to report things, you know. Just start the bug reporter separately. It's its own standalone app. I have to run it manually for most of my bug reports, because they're all rather peculiar :)
     
  6. Aurecon_Unity

    Aurecon_Unity

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    232
    Any chance Unity will release some of the example scenes / assets shown in the new movies? It would be good to play with some decent quality assets to really get a feel for the new systems.
     
  7. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    2,960
    They've mentioned they're going to have example/quickstart projects right there in the launcher, so we'll just have to wait. Preferably not long :)

    An example of how to use the new lighting would be very nice. It seems a lot of people have problems getting good results there.
     
  8. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,370
    i think that would take some time..well that depend if the asset are from unity or from third party assets store......
     
  9. toxtronyx

    toxtronyx

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Posts:
    114
    Sorry for bothering you guys again but I am really relying on that.
     
  10. prg1

    prg1

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    ReferenceResolution and PhysicalResolution is not available in unity 5? you just had fixed its in unity4.6 b21,
    i have other problem now unity5 show me errors when i use for example animation.Play() it force me to do getComponent<Animation>().Play ,and i dont have shadow
     
  11. GregMeach

    GregMeach

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    249
    I'm running a mid-2011 27" iMac w/10.10 (clean install) and Unity 5b9 imports packages both from Finder and the store. Even get this awesome warning box:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    I'm actually wondering where Unity are at with Enlighten? I submitted some bug reports on it's speed. Also it doesn't seem to really add anything to the table bar some more even light distribution and orange in some cases.

    I don't remember it being like this in the past (2012 - 2013 ish), when we compare to Unreals photon mapping setup. It'll bake a small scene in minutes with quite an impact, not hours (RAM permitting of course)...
     
  13. Roni92

    Roni92

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Posts:
    226
    Simple question about very old and serious Physx bug: mesh colliders doesn't receive OnTriggerExit and OnTriggerEnter events properly when they're trigger. This bug is very hard to workaround and currently stopping my project because of just this. It has been for more than 2 years, and there are MANY topics on this bug in the forum, also Unity team knows about this bug.
    Can anybody says if this is fixed in 5.0b ?
     
    Arkade likes this.
  14. willgoldstone

    willgoldstone

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    695
  15. willgoldstone

    willgoldstone

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    695
    I've had no issues with Yosemite running various Unity projects in beta 10 - though this is with macbook pro and last gen mac pro, have you tried reinstalling Unity from scratch / deleting Library / Temp folders (having backed up first) of your project?
     
  16. willgoldstone

    willgoldstone

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    695
    Yes! the project shown in the videos is a work in progress (hence some missing parts you'll likely have spotted, like the bulkhead doors), of a project called Unity Labs - a larger environment that comes with a character we are working on right now and plan to ship for you all to pick apart.
     
  17. willgoldstone

    willgoldstone

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    695
    In a word, yes. But let me clarify - Physx3 that 5 implements has dropped support for concave mesh triggers, BUT you can have triggers with Convex meshes. Basically triggers with the 'Convex' checkbox checked on the mesh will work. Hope that helps!
     
  18. yant

    yant

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Posts:
    284
    What Will said. With PhysX 3 moving away from supporting triggers and dynamic shapes with non-convex shapes, we had to remove support for triggers, dynamic colliders (GO with non-kinematic Rigidbody component), and terrain colliders (since terrain surface does not represent a closed convex shape).

    With concave mesh triggers no longer supported in PhysX3, we've spent time to address the known long standing trigger issues that affected the convex meshes. We're not aware of any new cases currently, so please give it a try once you get your hands on Unity 5.

    Moving from concave meshes to convex meshes has other added benefits besides better trigger behaviour. Improved performance is the one devs might be interested in most.

    -Anthony
     
  19. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,358
    Indeed I'm most, above all, for all aspects of Unity, interested in speed. For me, speed gives me more graphics, more gameplay :)
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  20. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    It be intresting to see if there is performance increases in mobile devices?, not seen much keynotes/information specific to mobile performance.
     
  21. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,358
    - I'm fairly sure metal will help with cpu on apple mobiles.
    - confident physx 3x will provide a boost but only if vita/mobiles are threaded really, else I'm not sure!
    - shadows might be a tiny bit quicker
    - transforms, and little micro optimisations?

    Ultimately you still need to be good with optimisations - ie allocations at runtime, gc... but I'm only guessing at this point.

    future: IL2CPP could add a boost
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  22. Roni92

    Roni92

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Posts:
    226
    Yes, I forgotten to add, it's convex mesh collider problem, so yes this definitely helps, my project is rescued now, thank you! :)
     
  23. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,370
    is it possible to use enlighten data for specular/reflection occlusion?
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  24. sluice

    sluice

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Posts:
    416
    • How to have the lowest file size as possible? Currently my WebGL builds are huge compared to the WebPlayer or Flash
    • How to use bundle asset and stream them efficiently? How to stream a scene ( I seem to have a trouble doing this, only on WebGL..)
    • What is 100% / partly / not yet / will never be / supported (a more exhaustive list than this one? http://blogs.unity3d.com/2014/04/29/on-the-future-of-web-publishing-in-unity/)
    • Debugging tips
    • Workflow tips (build kinda take forever at the moment, @RalphH gave good tip: check dev. mode, strip ByteCode, etc.)


      Obviously there isn't much info out yet on Unity WebGL platform and a lot has to be figure out by fiddling around (which is not necesserly a bad thing) but any help, as in more info, won't hurt! :)
     
  25. Tomza

    Tomza

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Posts:
    584
    Why am I going into Play Mode so slowly? When I click Play, I wait 35 min or more. Unity 5.0 behaves in a similar way as Unity 4.6 on my Windows 8.1 64 bit. Any ideas?
     
  26. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,038
    Would it be fair to assume that release might be not long after that then?
     
  27. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,123
    It depends on how things go, but the public beta only just became available, and the 13th is only a couple of weeks from now, so probably not.

    @Tomza: it depends on what your code is doing; it sounds like something extremely unoptimized like attempting to instantiate millions of objects.

    --Eric
     
  28. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,038
    Good points.

    For the first time ever I'm considering working production on the beta. Need to give it some thought.
     
  29. Tomza

    Tomza

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Posts:
    584
    It's true my project is big - 80 GB but there's no such a problem on my old Windows 7 32 bit, only on a new Windows 8.1 64 bit. So it can't be a problem of my code. I re-imported the assets a few times and nothing has been changed. How I can find the source of that problem? Profiler doesn't work when I click Play Mode. It starts when I am in Play mode.
     
  30. Geevz

    Geevz

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    3
  31. VIC20

    VIC20

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,408
    After installing a fresh test system without migrating from an old one it worked fine on my system (Yosemite). So I've wiped my main HD and reinstalled my whole system from the scratch, last thing was the Unity5 beta. First attempts to open or create a project all failed, but I could quickly isolate the problem: it is the network filter "Little Snitch" - when it is turned on (and no rule is set, which means manually deny or allow each network access) then Unity5 always hangs, and when it is turned off it always works fine.

    Seems it does not like to wait when it tries to connect to "IP-Adresse 23.62.61.18 Reverse DNS Name a23-62-61-18.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com" - When you allow Unity "all connections until quit" it works fine while the filter is turned on.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014
  32. ZTORION

    ZTORION

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Uhh I am really missing Resources.LoadAsync and Terrain.collectDetailPatches = false
     
  33. BrotenTechCorp

    BrotenTechCorp

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Posts:
    153
    @willgoldstone It appears to be associated with using a exFAT as the target file system for th eproject in Unity 5.0.0b9. I'm making a Support post with logs.
     
  34. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    843
    Does anyone know if Metal changes the PowerVR preference for alpha test (cutout) over blended alpha?
     
  35. Aras

    Aras

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    4,536
    It doesn't. Metal is all about CPU-side things. It does not change the GPU architecture or how the GPU works.
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  36. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    843
    That's a shame, but hey ho. Thanks Aras.
     
  37. Metron

    Metron

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    961
    What is the reason for preorder customers not getting the latest beta version?
     
    elbows, Fuzzy and MrEsquire like this.
  38. superpig

    superpig

    Quis aedificabit ipsos aedificatores? Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,167
    What do you mean?
     
  39. Mauri

    Mauri

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,494
    I think he means the "Pre-order customers have access to Beta 9, while Beta 11 is already available in Closed Beta" thing.
     
    Metron likes this.
  40. Metron

    Metron

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    961
    What Mauri said. Being myself in business since almost 20 years, I don't see a valid reason to hold back 2 versions from beta testers (especially if the answer to some questions is "this is different in b10" or "already solved in b11").

    So, my question: why?
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  41. djweinbaum

    djweinbaum

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Posts:
    523
    I guess the frustrating part about this is how much work and time it takes to reproduce, encapsulate, and report a bug, and not know if the bug your reporting has already been fixed. Since my time is precious to me, I'd rather not take a chance on reporting a bug on something two versions behind.
     
    Fuzzy and Metron like this.
  42. Aras

    Aras

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    4,536
    Infrastructure. We still haven't smoothed out the process of publishing release notes & precaching the builds to CDN. So publishing each build right now is quite a bit of manual work. Working on making it more smooth & hence with much less delay.
     
  43. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    2,960
    I've had crashes and issues with beta 9, but knowing there is a beta 11+ I've not bothered to report these.
     
  44. Metron

    Metron

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    961
    Given that you actually have the beta (b10+b11), you also have some sort of release notes. It can not (and should not) be hard to slap together a version to hand out to those who pre-ordered. You surely don't make a version per beta tester...

    So, to me, this is no valid reason... if you don't have the time to provide the latest beta to pre-orders, drop the pre-order beta because you surely haven't the time to filter out the bug reports in regards to b9 which are doubles to already fixed bugs.

    I'm sorry, if this sounds harsh, but it's about perception...
     
  45. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    @Aras there is a bug in Unity x32 bit on Windows x32 version, when i create any type of primitive with the new shader, it gives unexpected results, I think its because that the x64 version of the shader compiler is ran instead of the x32 version, 644520 is the case number
     
  46. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    I agree with some of your words, but I think some of the more active unity staff on the forums cannot do much to correct such issues and I think someone highter up making decisions..a promise has been made to unity 5 customers thay they get a pre beta and unity has to stick to there word...this solves one issue...

    In terms of release notes its a shame one has to use google each time, but lets be fair to Aras his only one who has officially posted changelog notes here on the forums so credit for that, probably not had time to collect latest,maybe some more insight is needed on future beta testing, after Unity 5 final maybe Unity think new plan
     
  47. Metron

    Metron

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    961
    Don't get me wrong... I'm not attacking Aras nor am I trying to tell him it's his fault. It was meant as a general comment to Unity as a company.

    Aras is one of the most active developers here on the forum which is very much appreciated!
     
    MrEsquire, djweinbaum and shkar-noori like this.
  48. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
  49. Metron

    Metron

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    961
    Thanks :)
     
  50. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,233
    Thanks to everyone at Unity who dealt swiftly with our gripes about not having access to beta 11. When Unity is very responsive like this, it makes me very positive about the product, the future and spending more of my money on this lovely stuff :)
     
    Metron likes this.