Search Unity

Unity 5.0 beta 21 available

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by SaraCecilia, Jan 26, 2015.

  1. SaraCecilia

    SaraCecilia

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Posts:
    675
    adventurefan, Phelioz and Reanimate_L like this.
  2. Tapgames

    Tapgames

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    242
    Testing final gather right now! :) YAY!
     
  3. sqallpl

    sqallpl

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Is final gather changing anything for realtime GI or is it important only for baked GI ?
     
    Gokcan likes this.
  4. KEngelstoft

    KEngelstoft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    1,080
    Final gather is only relevant for baked GI.
     
    sqallpl likes this.
  5. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,331
    Does it work on terrain now without stalling?
     
    avvahnin likes this.
  6. GfK

    GfK

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    102
  7. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    4,779
    Doesn't for me
     
  8. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    4,779
    Anyone else getting errors in Monodevelop on this version? It's almost unusable, I'm getting this now:

    System.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path "/Applications/Unity/MonoDevelop.app/Contents/Frameworks/Mono.framework/Versions/2.10.11/lib/mono/2.0/mscorlib.dll".

    at System.IO.FileStream..ctor (System.String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, Boolean anonymous, FileOptions options) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

    Looking in the folder, it seems like the path is incorrect, should be 2.10.12

    I'll post a bug, but if anyone has a workaround that would be nice. :)

    edit:

    posted the bug, but I worked around it by duplicating the 2.10.12 folder and naming the copy 2.10.11
     
    lsDavo likes this.
  9. yuliyF

    yuliyF

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Posts:
    139
    trying to build project under WebGL - have an error:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Exception: IL2CPP compile failed.
    2. NativeCompiler.RunProgram (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo startInfo) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/NativeCompiler.cs:62)
    3. NativeCompiler.Execute (System.String arguments, System.String compilerPath) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/NativeCompiler.cs:26)
    4. UnityEditor.WebGL.Il2Cpp.EmscriptenCompiler.LinkObjects (IEnumerable`1 sources, System.String outfile)
    5. UnityEditor.WebGL.Il2Cpp.EmscriptenCompiler.MultiThreadedCompile (System.String outfile, IEnumerable`1 sources, IEnumerable`1 includePaths)
    6. UnityEditor.WebGL.Il2Cpp.EmscriptenCompiler.CompileDynamicLibrary (System.String outFile, IEnumerable`1 sources, IEnumerable`1 includePaths, IEnumerable`1 libraries, IEnumerable`1 libraryPaths)
    7. UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder.Run () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:315)
    8. UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPUtils.RunIl2Cpp (System.String stagingAreaData, IIl2CppPlatformProvider platformProvider, System.Action`1 modifyOutputBeforeCompile, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry runtimeClassRegistry) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:225)
    9. UnityEditor.WebGL.WebGlBuildPostprocessor.PostProcess (BuildPostProcessArgs args)
    10. UnityEditor.PostprocessBuildPlayer.Postprocess (BuildTarget target, System.String installPath, System.String companyName, System.String productName, Int32 width, Int32 height, System.String downloadWebplayerUrl, System.String manualDownloadWebplayerUrl, BuildOptions options, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/PostprocessBuildPlayer.cs:316)
    11. UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()
    It's problem of IEnumerable - ? Cann't use it?
     
  10. Onsterion

    Onsterion

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Posts:
    210
    It's working! the clothes now works on build! Great Job Unity team!
     
  11. seattlebluesky

    seattlebluesky

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    On Mac OS X my Beta 21 installation doesn't have this issue. In /Applications/Unity the Mono version is installed as 2.10.12. Perhaps your installation had an issue with failing to copy files? I'd consider manually cleaning out /Applications/Unity/ and re-installing Beta 21.
     
  12. RegularSlinky

    RegularSlinky

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    102
    It does for me :D. So happy. Thanks, Unity.
     
  13. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
    :( Kinda disappointed that mixed mode doesn't work... I have character models and they are not casting shadows like they are supposed to, and what is this? I was hoping to see the level albedo, and so forth... is this new? Just when I was getting used to the viewport showing it.

    Screenshot 2015-01-26 18.10.24.png

    Will mixed mode work in the final version of Unity? It will feel awkward if I have baked shadows but none for the characers, unless I cleverly layer everything and have two lights in the same spot. One set to baked and the other to realtime.

    Also, when I set my models to bake shadows, and the lights are set to hard shadows, my shadows are very soft... :( I might be running out space in the lightmap or not enough detail to work with. I can't get the baked shadows I need :(. Also I am getting an error that reads: Lightmapped Renderer has no UV Mesh
     
  14. Per

    Per

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    456
    I'm pretty sure that would be a bug, just report it. There would be no point in including a feature which doesn't do anything after all.
     
  15. seattlebluesky

    seattlebluesky

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Posts:
    170
  16. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,331
    Objects with transparency (SpeedTree) still don't work correctly in b21. It was broken, then it was fixed, now it is broken again (reported with b20, Case 666222).
     
  17. SharkFace

    SharkFace

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Anyone else getting horrendous frame rates on Oculus DK2 (lib 4.4)? Was working fine for me in beta 20 but can't get it much above 20 fps now - even in a new project with only a plane and a directional light?!
     
  18. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,331
    Ok, it doesn't stall, but the black bands are still visible. Case 658123.
     
  19. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
    Here is another nasty little artifact when reflection probes are rendered with final gather... Screenshot 2015-01-26 21.01.15.png

    And I am also getting these errors...

    Failed executing external process for 'Bake Indirect' job. Exit code: '-1073741819'.

    'Bake Indirect' job failed with error code: 4294967295 ('Unknown error.').
     
  20. sameer-mirza

    sameer-mirza

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    36
    I'm trying to modify the source for the Standard Shader. Downloaded the Built-in shaders for b21 but I get these errors in StandardShaderGUI.cs with no changes yet made.

    Assets/Test/builtin_shaders-5.0.0b21/Editor/StandardShaderGUI.cs(205,39): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.ShaderUtil.GetMaterialProperties(UnityEngine.Object[])' is inaccessible due to its protection level

    (Filename: Assets/Test/builtin_shaders-5.0.0b21/Editor/StandardShaderGUI.cs Line: 205)

    Assets/Test/builtin_shaders-5.0.0b21/Editor/StandardShaderGUI.cs(205,9): error CS1502: The best overloaded method match for `UnityEditor.StandardShaderGUI.DetermineWorkflow(UnityEditor.MaterialProperty[])' has some invalid arguments

    (Filename: Assets/Test/builtin_shaders-5.0.0b21/Editor/StandardShaderGUI.cs Line: 205)

    Assets/Test/builtin_shaders-5.0.0b21/Editor/StandardShaderGUI.cs(205,9): error CS1503: Argument `#1' cannot convert `object' expression to type `UnityEditor.MaterialProperty[]'

    (Filename: Assets/Test/builtin_shaders-5.0.0b21/Editor/StandardShaderGUI.cs Line: 205)​


    Can anyone tell me what's going on, please?
     
  21. sameer-mirza

    sameer-mirza

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    36
    Weirdly enough changing this line:

    DetermineWorkflow( ShaderUtil.GetMaterialProperties(new Material[] { material }) );​

    to this:

    DetermineWorkflow( MaterialEditor.GetMaterialProperties(new Material[] { material }) );​

    removed the errors :/
     
  22. Sylmerria

    Sylmerria

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    237
    one wierd problem since I upgrade from B18

    If Unity have not focus editor (not game) doesn't continue to run. Two exemples :

    1. If I play and I have not the focus, my game runs ( good because I check Run in background option ) but profiler stop. All work fine when Unity recover focus.
    2. When I do compile and run. Compile start because Unity has focus but if I go to my browser during compilation, compilation ends but not lunch player until Unity recover focus.
     
  23. Roni92

    Roni92

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Posts:
    226
    I dont know if anyone is aware of this... but we have working DYNAMIC REAL TIME spot and point lights with GI !!!.
    I mean, light still penetrates through geometry(no shadowing), but I tested it yesterday and effect is just jaw-dropping( now you can light whole room with light as small as mobile phone screen or candles, just like in RL ). Seriously Unity, I can see now this real-time GI is really piece of advanced technology, congratulations on it, cant wait to see final effect ;)
     
  24. sqallpl

    sqallpl

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    I was sure that they are working already since previous betas but just without shadows. Am I wrong?
     
  25. Tapgames

    Tapgames

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    242
    Reflection probes give me some trouble with this build. I have six of them and all baked nicely but after build to executable only one probe is baked and all other probes have this message "Reflection probe not baked yet".
    If you search for the baked probes in the project window its all there and perfectly baked.
     
  26. Skittlebrau

    Skittlebrau

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    I've had this happen a bunch (in previous builds as well). The only workaround I've found is to do "clear baked data" from the lighting UI and re-bake from scratch.
     
  27. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,331
    Screenshots / video?
     
  28. zjinks

    zjinks

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    I am having issues with baking lights with final gather rays above 16 or 32. Only have AO turned to 0.5 and directional specular turned on, but otherwise no other settings changed. I only have about 8 area lights, handful of light probes, and one reflection cube. When I try to bake with final gather on at default setting of 1024 rays, the bake hangs. And like I said, I have to cut the ray count down to 16 or 32 rays in order for it to finish the bake. No errors, doesn't crash, just does not progress after a certain point. I have tried clearing the cache and deleting the light map data, but I can't get it to give me any other results. I am running on a new fully loaded Macbook Pro. With final gather turned off the bake finishes fine.
     
  29. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,975
  30. Elecman

    Elecman

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1,331
    Some pretty cool memory management of Enlighten:

    memory.jpg

    I would love to file a bug report, but my project is several Gb and the bug reporter always fails with an Unknown Error. Too bad.

    Edit:
    Upload worked! Case 667540.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
    KEngelstoft likes this.
  31. schmosef

    schmosef

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Is it just me or is the asset store window broken for anyone else in this beta?

    The window just displays white, it does not load the asset store.

    I reverted to the v20 beta and it's working again.
     
  32. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,299
    Works ok for me on v21, windows and mac.
     
  33. biscito

    biscito

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    small bug with unityads,

    Assets/Standard Assets/UnityAds/Scripts/Advertisements/DeviceInfo/DeviceInfoIos.cs(14,21): error CS0117: `UnityEngine.iPhone' does not contain a definition for `advertisingIdentifier'

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public override string getAdvertisingIdentifier() {
    2.       return iPhone.advertisingIdentifier;
    3.     }
     
  34. biscito

    biscito

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    83
  35. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    4,779
    The asset store is wonky on the mac for every version. Constantly turning white, not painting correctly, etc. Happens in every version - you just have to scroll around and hope it paints. I thought it was just me, until I had some visitors from Australia and saw it happening to them also.
     
  36. schmosef

    schmosef

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Interesting. Thanks for that info.

    I'm using Windows 8.1 x64.

    I'll try again when I have some time.
     
  37. PictonicStudio

    PictonicStudio

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    17
  38. goat

    goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    5,177
    That's true with 4.6.2 too on Mac and to a lesser degree on Windows though Windows acts like the entire asset store page won't refresh while Mac just acts like individual line items on the page won't refresh.
     
  39. radimoto

    radimoto

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    257
    I'm having the same issues with the Asset Store turning white on my Mac. It is extremely frustrating...
     
  40. Shbli

    Shbli

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    126
    I highly suggest you guys to add the offline installer it the download page, It's not easy to find the offline installer, by luck I found this post.

    I'm facing issues with online installer, at the verification stage, I receive an error that it's not verified. Installing on different partition, as well on Mac-book.
     
  41. radiantboy

    radiantboy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    848
    When I build the lighting stuff my pc literally turns off. This happens almost everytime when I try with precomputed and baked at standard settings. Ive tried with very very low resolutions it doesnt turn off then but it gets stuck on 7/11 light transport every time (left it for days). Im now about to try only precomputed GI. I have 16 gigs and my pc doesnt feel hot and has a beefy PSU, so something mad is going on :) Wont get to try Unity5 for another week or so but from what I did try it was really quite amazing apart from the lighting issues, Id like some meaningful errors etc. But im sure you guys are working hard on it.
     
  42. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    Could you please catch up with the Unity 4.6 UI?
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  43. Gokcan

    Gokcan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    200
    New beta this week?
     
  44. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    I think its ready just needs Unity posting.
     
    shkar-noori likes this.
  45. Freezy

    Freezy

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Posts:
    232
    5b21 windows 8.1

    After reinstalling it after a complete Unity wipe, asset store now finally does not explode (reveal all hidden windows for all running applications is my best guess) upon loading Unity asset bundles, but the calibration scene throws this:

    Unknown package ID 25422
    UnityEditor.AssetStoreContext:OpenPackage(String)

    tried downloading and restarting Unity in all kinds of combinations.
    perhaps Unity Asset package should be replaced with regular zip extraction (optionally add some hooks like config options in a human readable setup.xml).


    Manually dragging the asset into unity for decompressing again makes windows explode with all kinds of windows.
     
  46. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    I know what you mean, but will Beta 22 contain all 4.6.2 is the main question or they missed the deadline and the changes will be added in Beta 23.
     
  47. shkar-noori

    shkar-noori

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    It's not in b22, I was talking about b23.
     
  48. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,372
    i guessing b22 still closed beta isn't?
     
  49. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    I think its been ready for a few days, dunno why the delay
     
  50. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,372
    Ah i see. thanks for the the info.
    I'll wait