Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 3D within windows Application Enviroment.

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Tapion817, Mar 25, 2014.

1. Tapion817

Tapion817

Good evening everyone,

I am a new developer and I am currently working on a Windows application. I have to integrate a window within the application that will show a 3D model and is controlled by the Windows application. I am a huge fan of the Unity engine and have worked on it as a hobby of mine. I am just wondering if it is possible to have an instance of a compiled Unity executable within my Windows application environment. So when I run the program, the Unity project will be loaded within the software. Here is a diagram to show what I mean. I don't need to know how to integrate it, just need to know if such integration is possible. Thank you.

$Windows Application Example.jpg

2. Tomas1856

Tomas1856

Unity Technologies

3. Tan-Tan

Tan-Tan

Thanks. I know in theory its possible, but I was hoping it would work with Unity simply because I've worked with it before and I'm quite fond of the engine.

4. Tan-Tan

Tan-Tan

When you say its possible, do you mean there is a possible way currently like a workaround? I don't need a deep explanation, just a general idea would be useful. Thanks.

5. mgear

mgear

Could you embed webplayer html instead (using webbrowser component, or what is it called these days : ),
    then maybe even can interact with it using javascript?

6. Tomas1856

Tomas1856

Unity Technologies

Sorry for not being clear...Sadly there's no workaround, there has to be some tweaking in internal engine code.

7. Tapion817

Tapion817

Lame. Guess I'll have to use another engine then. :/

8. mgear

mgear

9. Tapion817

Tapion817

That seems pretty viable. I'll test some stuff out then, thanks.

10. wakespirit

wakespirit

Dear all,