Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 3 Beta Release Notes

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by antenna-tree, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nm8shun

    nm8shun

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Posts:
    476
    So are y'all mac or PC based?
     
  2. siliwangi

    siliwangi

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    303
    where is the beta6 changelog?
    [edit]
    NVM it's updated,to get the beta6 link you can get it when beta5 checking for update,click the "check for the new version",it will open a link.
     
  3. Robert G

    Robert G

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    I getting numerous errors after updating to six, they were all referring to the scripts in the
    "Standard Assets\Character Controllers" folder.
    Removing these scripts of course solved it.

    Regards, Robert
     
  4. Robert G

    Robert G

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    With Beta 6 not anymore, I'm afraid.
    Double clicking a script does open MonoDevelop but not the script.

    Regards, Robert
     
  5. flim

    flim

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Posts:
    326
    I found U3 beta 6 without any issue with MonoDevelop.

    No crash, double-click the script in Unity then MonoDevelop launch and open the script, double-click another script and the same MonoDevelop instance open the script without issue.
     
  6. kosirm

    kosirm

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    3rd person controller is great, but PLEASE add WoW style camera movement (mouse based) in addition to super-mario style character/camera movement (key based).
    Milan
     
  7. Robert G

    Robert G

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Ok, don't know why, but its working again.
    Great!
     
  8. llavigne

    llavigne

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    The crash happens when you launch Unity from MD in debug mode
     
  9. jcarpay

    jcarpay

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    561
    Aras confirmed this doesn't work with Unity3. Isn't it a bit odd to *remove* key features from Pro in a new release?? Having no point/spot light shadows in ortho mode is a huge step backwards. I'm really interested in the reason behind all this and if there's a chance we see this fixed for the final release.

    Case 368087
     
  10. Itchy-Games

    Itchy-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Posts:
    221
    well, i have a big issue whit skinned meshes.

    in this first image, the skinned meshes on Unity 2.6.1:



    and this the warnings that give me once imported to Unity 3:



    and the image of the skinned meshes before Unity 3 Import:



    these models I buyed in 3DRT (íve send them too this issues for his knowledgement).

    how can I/We solve these import problems?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. LordsWarrior

    LordsWarrior

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    58
    -NEVERMIND- :?
     
  12. Doguri

    Doguri

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    You need Reimport All
     
  13. jtbentley

    jtbentley

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,397
    I feel it would be nice if they posted the latest Beta notes at the same time as the new release...
     
  14. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,287
    The release notes contain:

    Unity 3.0.0 b2
    o Improvements:
    oo Editor
    ooo Better memory handling when importing assets, switching scenes, building player.

    I believe this documents the bug you reported. I cannot provide any insight into the async issue unless someone can give me a bug report that describes the problem. Async loading is of course complicated, so I would not be surprised if we did have bugs there, but we need reproducible cases if we are to fix problems.

    Thanks,
    Graham
     
  15. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,287
    beta7 release notes are now posted online at the address AntennaTree gave at the start of this thread.
     
  16. duke

    duke

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    763
    b7 first po ...oh

    awesome! :)
     
  17. malasieno

    malasieno

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,
    i've just installed v3 beta7 and i think i found a strange behavior regarding objects connected via hinge joint and/or configurable joint.

    RIGIDBODY+CONFIGURABLEJOINT--->RIGIDBODY+HINGEJOINT

    ConfigurableJoint seems to act like a very weak spring even though there is no spring option activated

    I'm developing an iphone project (near to completion) and everything worked fine with previous betas and in v1.7 iphone.

    I don't know if it is a bug or if i miss something
    :)
     
  18. r618

    r618

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,306
    The joints are behaving weirdly - a rigidbody with spring joint attached just moves around some weird anchor, I've just submitted a bugreport

    I suggest you do the same

    ed: case 372782
     
  19. Broken-Toy

    Broken-Toy

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Posts:
    455
    Yes, the joints seem to be locked to the world's origin (0,0,0) in the editor (look for the little orange arrow).
     
  20. llavigne

    llavigne

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    b7 is much slower than b5 in mono debug mode
     
  21. Peter G

    Peter G

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Posts:
    610
    I'm also getting strange behavior with configurable joints. They're just "flying" everywhere it seems like. Already filed some bug reports.

    Case 370507

    Case 371455 (I had some more files to send Ricardo, and they were too big to email, so he had me send them in another report that linked itself to 370507.)

    Edit: Problems still exist in b7.
     
  22. impla007

    impla007

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Posts:
    57
    Got problems with Hinge joints.
    I have just imported a scene made with B6 to B7 changed nothing and Hinge joint is flying elsewhere...
     
  23. sonicviz

    sonicviz

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Any news on when the beta will enable web deploy testing?
    Currently on b7, but really would like to test this for a demo #tokyohackerspace is submitting for upcoming Tokyo Urban Internet of Things workshop http://www.webofthings.com/urban-iot/2010/
     
  24. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    8,777
    More than likely, not until Unity3 is properly released. And that, more than likely, will be at Unite 2010.
     
  25. HiggyB

    HiggyB

    Unity Product Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    6,183
    And you are more than likely wrong on that release time frame. :) It will be out well before Unite (which isn't until early November). But you are right on web players, we don't want folks creating nor posting those until the player is final so you'll just have to wait, sorry!
     
  26. sonicviz

    sonicviz

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    kk, ty
     
  27. MikeHergaarden

    MikeHergaarden

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,027
    Looking forward to RC1's notes if anyone has time to upload them.
     
  28. bournifle

    bournifle

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    I've downloaded Unity 3 f1 for MacOSX, but when I try to open the dmg, I've got the following error message:

    "unity_update-3.0.0f1.dmg : invalid checksum"

    I've tried several times, with Chrome and Firefox... Am I the only one to have this problem ?
     
  29. holger53

    holger53

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Had to try downloding several times before I got the complete file (Windows version)
     
  30. JamesMobot

    JamesMobot

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Posts:
    170
    Just downloaded and tested.
    Works fine and runs my current project.

    I did notice there were two mac versions.
    I download the one that that included the example project if that makes a difference.

    Safari:
    Version 5.0.1 (6533.17.8)

    Pooter:
    MacBookPro7,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
     
  31. Moonjump

    Moonjump

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    2,572
    I downloaded the Mac version without the example project and it worked for me. I used Safari.

    Only problem is I'm seeing major reductions in frame-rate when testing my game on the Mac with Unity 3f1. My first level has gone down from 1300-1400 fps to 800-900 (it is an iPhone project, so the frame rate is important).
     
  32. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,324
    If you had problems downloading before please try again as we have done a few things server side to fix this.

    I will get the release notes up tonight or tomorrow morning for all of the pre-order customers.
     
  33. NitroPye

    NitroPye

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Unity 3.0.0f1 on the same day as iOS 4.2 beta. This should prove an interesting day.
     
  34. impla007

    impla007

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Posts:
    57
    I have downloaded 3.0.F1 with the demo project..

    But where is the demo project ??
     
  35. Aras

    Aras

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    I'd say those FPS numbers are way too high to draw any conclusions from. It's a difference of 0.76 milliseconds/frame and 1.1 millisecond/frame, i.e. 0.3 milliseconds.

    Additionally, if you're looking at FPS numbers of the Game View Stats window, we made them be more accurate. So it's likely running at exactly the same speed (actually... probably faster, we did optimize quite a bit in RC1), just the FPS display displays something that is closer to truth than in previous builds.
     
  36. loopyllama

    loopyllama

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    71
    Thanks for the updates Unity Team!

    We look forward to making some nice games with all of your hard work!
     
  37. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    I too had a few downloads of the mac version give invalid checksums, but a fesh download recently worked.

    Does anyone have the release notes for 3.0.0f1?
     
  38. Moonjump

    Moonjump

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    2,572
    Thanks Aras,

    Things seem to be running as smoothly as ever at 60fps on an iPhone 3G, and the iPhone keyboard seems to pop up with slightly less of a delay, so it does indeed mean a change in frame rate reporting, rather than a reduction in actual frame rate.
     
  39. impla007

    impla007

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Posts:
    57
    I have downloaded 3.0.F1 with the demo project..

    But where is the demo project ??
     
  40. xandeck

    xandeck

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    563
    It is in your documents folder of your Windows user folder (if you on Windows, of course).
     
  41. appels

    appels

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Posts:
    2,687
    if your on vista -> C:\Users\Public\Documents
     
  42. jtbentley

    jtbentley

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,397
    Why are the release notes never updated at the same time? :)
     
  43. flim

    flim

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Posts:
    326
    What is the meaning of f? Is it same as RC?
     
  44. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    The newest release is in fact RC1 (and potentially the only one if no further major bug is found)
     
  45. zumwalt

    zumwalt

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Posts:
    2,287
    ODBC still doesn't work to write/update/delete records in Access from Unity, there are other issues, like OnLevelWasLoaded doesn't always trigger, small bugs here and there, but they are in a rush to get this to market for the big show, so things like this will have to be a patch after release. I have even found now since this release, that the masterserver register host doesn't always send the registeration, so you have to close the game and go back in then it will send it, so that is even intermittent. Nothing is ever perfect and they have to go live some day.
     
  46. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    nothing is ever perfect, right.

    But if you look at the bootcamp example and see the totally ugly popup problems with detail objects and missing objects like the ground in the wood building by the river then I'm unsure if they really need to get into GarageGames shoes by releasing stuff that has to await 1+ bugfix releases to stop being totally borked for production usage.

    its not like the iphone side is suffering enough problems to still not make me upgrade anything, again (had 3 customer projects on the beta and had to backport all 3 again)

    I'm currently not sure where this all is heading and where this newfound handling actually comes from that favors hype of broken + eye candy over a solid working engine which got UT where they are ...
    After all Brett Seyler joined UT and he should know better than anyone else which way round the crap spiral is turning as he was a high up at GarageGames before switching to GGs main competitor

    And time alone can't be it, after all UT has postphoned basically every single iphone targeted and relevant feature to 3.1 (gui that is finally multitouch capable at all, gamekit, 2d system, core motion, ...)
     
  47. Quietus2

    Quietus2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2,058
    Don't scare me now. I was a TGEA early adopter.

    UT needs to release something rock solid. Not push bug fixes down the pipe just to get it out the door before Unite. If that means pushing the release back until december, then it pushes the release back until december.


    Don't pull the bird out of the oven until it's fully cooked.
     
  48. andeeeee

    andeeeee

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8,768
    Yes, it basically stands for "final" or something along those lines. (Oddly, we always refer to it as RC internally, so I don't know why it is done differently in the app.)
     
  49. Ookoohko

    Ookoohko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    Hi,

    Just upgraded to 3.0.0.f1 and for some reason my game now runs upside down in 1st gen ipod touch :)

    The splash screen orientation is correct but everything else has flipped 180 degrees? :)

    Is this a known issue?

    edit: nevermind, looks like "default orientation" flag has reset itself...

    br,
    Sami
     
  50. impla007

    impla007

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Posts:
    57
    @appels and @xandeck Thanks, I never went there ...

    For mac user, demos project are in /users/shared/unity


    Thanks to the Unity Team :D it is GREAT !!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.