Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 3 and Unity 4

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Mikie, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. Mikie

    Mikie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    367
    Is it OK to have Unity 4 Pre and Unity 3.5 installed on the same computer?
     
  2. ddfire

    ddfire

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Posts:
    53
    yes it is ok.
     
  3. Mikie

    Mikie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    367
    Thanks, I just about have it downloaded.
     
  4. pabu

    pabu

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    What the FAQ forgets to mention is that the OSX installer of the 4.0 beta overwrites the production release. I'll go out on a limb and wager that this is not what most Unity users would want at this stage. Thanks UT for doing the right thing and fixing this so that the next beta installer either let's me choose where to install by default or at least installs in "/Appllications/Unity Beta" rather than of "/Applications/Unity".

    Cheers,
    pabu
     
  5. pabu

    pabu

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    I would report this as a bug if the bug reporting tool in 4.0 beta actually worked - *FacePalm*
     
  6. pabu

    pabu

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    And now I did by running the bug reporting tool from outside the editor ;)
     
  7. superpig

    superpig

    Quis aedificabit ipsos aedificatores? Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,287
    You can avoid the installer overwriting your existing version by renaming your existing version before you install.
     
  8. pabu

    pabu

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Yes, either tens of thousands of users do this (as a result of searching the forums since it is not in the FAQ or finding out the "hard" way) or one guy/gal at UT changes a single line in the installation builder. While being at it, he/she could perhaps even convince someone at UT to spend $99 at apple.com and sign the application for OSX. Either that, or all Unity users running OSX with default settings can change their system settings to be able to install.

    Cheers,
    pabu
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  9. gfoot

    gfoot

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Posts:
    550
    The release notes imply that this should already have been done:

     
  10. pabu

    pabu

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    30
    Yepp, I saw that also and wondered if I dreamt that I had to change Gate Keeper settings :D
     
  11. triff

    triff

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    I tried renaming the 3.5 folder before installing 4 but 4 (b7) then crashes on making a new project, I'll give it another shot but pretty sure I'll get the same result, Anyone else had this?
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  12. darshie1976

    darshie1976

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Posts:
    924
    I have installed beta in a whole different volume....my V3 of Unity was wiped out

    Does this means that you gotta choose a different location for the Unity folder AND also change the name of the folder, where you originally have it?

    No big deal to install again V3, but just to be sure....does Unity installer write anything in other places (like System or Library), where having 2 installations may cause the end of the world as we know it? :)

    I am on OSX btw.
     
  13. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,240
    Just change the name of the folder. There's nothing stopping you from having any number of different versions installed at once.

    --Eric
     
  14. darshie1976

    darshie1976

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Posts:
    924
    Thanks Eric

    This means that no matter where do you decide to put Unity 4, if you don't change the folder name of the previous version, it will be removed.
     
  15. Funder75

    Funder75

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    One thing is that it is ok to have several versions installed, but do you need to buy a new 3.x license if you upgraded to version 4?

    It's unclear what they exactly mean in the FAQ:
    "A Unity 4 license installed on a computer allows you to have any earlier version of Unity installed on the same computer with as many features that were available at that time. Please contact support for more information."
    From: http://unity3d.com/unity/faq

    We have contacted the support a week ago, but are still waiting for an answer.
     
  16. darshie1976

    darshie1976

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Posts:
    924
    Not sure what you mean by "updated to Unity4".

    If you had Unity 3 before, and you get Unity 4 you can use both (many people purchased the iOS or other packages, so they may want to stick with the V3 release to avoid to spend again the money to purchase the extra packages). If you buy Unity 4 Pro, you don't need Unity3 license.

    All that the FAQ says is that you can have both together on the computer (just keep an eye where do you install, or you overwrite the old version with the new).

     
  17. Funder75

    Funder75

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    We do several projects in corporation with other companies that is not about to upgrade to version 4. Therefore we will have to keep those projects to version 3.x.

    What I'm asking is, if an upgraded License (from 3 to 4) still works for Unity 3?

    /Dan

     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
  18. darshie1976

    darshie1976

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Posts:
    924
    Then you are fine; I also use 3.x for projects that requires it, but for new ones I have also v4

     
  19. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,105
    I am also unclear as to what you mean, do you have a case number so I could look up your support ticket.

    A license is backwards compatible, so you if bought a 4.x pro license you can download the 3.x editor and use your 4.x license with it, if that's what you mean.

    [Edit] I didn't refresh the page, so didn't the ^ replies, doh.
     
  20. Funder75

    Funder75

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Yep, that is exactly what I mean. Thanks.
     
  21. Nesko

    Nesko

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    I tested to install Unity 4 and keep the old 3.5.x (Windows 7)
    The result is:
    1. There is only one instance of Unity in the list of the installed programs. So automatic/smooth uninstallation of the previous version will be imposible in the future.
    2. Both programs seems like they are using same user profile so if you had opened Unity 4 project next time you are starting Unity 3 it will crash. Couldn't find the work around this so Unity 3 can't be open any more. This is my deduction by the behaviour and could be wrong interpretation of the problems.
    I work at the University as technical stuff and have almost no knowledge about using Unity so please don't assume any "you should know" attitude.
    I just followed the instruction I've got forwarded from the Unity sales about installing Unity 4 along with 3 and it didn't work as expected (more correctly it didn't work at all).
    The question is what to do with Unity 3 crashing.
    Did you fix (in Unity 4) problem with been forced tweaking registry to allow non-admin users to use Unity?
     
unityunity