Search Unity

Unity 3.5 UI

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by pvloon, Dec 14, 2011.

1. pvloon

pvloon

Hello,

Let's for the sake of this discussion assume Unity 3.5 will include the new UI system. My question is: Do you think we our old code will get the upgrade? I assume it will generate the same output in the new (hopefully much faster) system. Or do you think they will make it separate and keep this UI system in place?

I'm asking this because I'm deciding what to do with the UI, I hate to post-pone building my UI just because 3.5 is coming, I need to know if I can get started on it now or not.

Let me hear your thougts :)

Best regards,
    Arthur

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

No, it will be a different system. In the same way that OnGUI is a different system than GUIText/GUITexture, but GUIElements weren't removed when OnGUI was implemented.

--Eric

3. pvloon

pvloon

I see (sorry, I'm pretty new to Unity). That's annoying. Would it still be worth it to write GUI code now although I would like to switch to the 3.5 GUI at some point?

4. andorov

andorov

You have to consider that 3.5 might not even ship with GUI stuff. If your app is going to be launched in the next 1-6 months, I'd probably just look for a tested and working GUI solution rather than pin my hopes on 3.5 GUI.

5. pvloon

pvloon

That is a very good point. It is a pretty small app, it should definitely be released withing 1-6 months. I will get going with the GUI. Thank you!

6. SteveJ

SteveJ

Given that 3.5 is supposed to be out within the next 15 days or so, that 1-6 month estimate is a bit irrelevant. I'm just now reaching a point where I have to make a decision on the GUI in my current project, and given the current timeframe, I am genuinely just waiting now to see whether or not this thing is going to happen.

7. andorov

andorov