Search Unity

Unity 3.4 launched!

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by AngryAnt, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. Per

    Per

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    460
    Thanks for the update! I see that even the splash was changed :D (though I had no issues personally with the FPS character), hopefully that'll be the end of that diversion. Looking forward to trying this all out, looks a solid update with a great bugfix list.
     
  2. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Pretty dissapointed there wasn't a bikini hippo bursting out of the water, but still very happy with the update, well done unity!
     
  3. Ashkan_gc

    Ashkan_gc

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,124
    it's an awesome release. specially rendering pipeline fixes and surely alegorithmic are great!!!
    it will help us to make a game as small as possible for the web.

    thank you guys!
     
  4. magoghm

    magoghm

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    49
    I installed Unity 3.4 and tested with the project I'm working on which is targeted at low end computers (notebooks), and was very happy to see an improvement of almost 50% in framerate!

    Unfortunately, I haven't been able to profile it to find out why it is faster. On the profiler window the only option available in "Active Profiler" is "Editor" and I haven't been able to get it to show my test computer. Remote profiling worked pretty well in 3.3 and I haven't been able to make it work under 3.4. Anyone had the same problem?
     
  5. twitchfactor

    twitchfactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Well, I just encountered my first BSD on the Mac. Even though it wasn't a blue screen, I've never seen the "Mac Has Encountered An Unexpected Error And Must Be Rebooted" window before.

    I encountered it running around in the Angry Bots demo (which I swear was darker at GDC).

    Here's hoping that's not a common occurrence.
     
  6. vortex69

    vortex69

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    92
    For me Unity 3.4 crashes every time I go to the asset store, anyone else having this problem? (Windows 7 x64)
     
  7. returnString

    returnString

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Posts:
    248
    Yup this is happening to me too, same platform.
     
  8. Bugfoot

    Bugfoot

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    533
    Love it! Great work UT. Now I'm trying to stop drooling in anticipation for v3.5.
     
  9. pauloaguiar

    pauloaguiar

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    700
    In the version 3.3, works fine. Now no more:(

    I have an problem my granade don´t work anymore.
    Appears this errors:

    InvalidCastException: Cannot cast from source type to destination type.
    AFrag.FireOneShot () (at Assets/YouTubeTutorial/A67Frag/AFrag.js:91)
    AFrag.Fire () (at Assets/YouTubeTutorial/A67Frag/AFrag.js:39)
    AFrag.Update () (at Assets/YouTubeTutorial/A67Frag/AFrag.js:25)

    I can figureout the problem!!!

    My script:

    Code (csharp):
    1. var grenadeFrag : Rigidbody;
    2. var FireZone : Transform;
    3. var bulletSpeed : float = 2000;
    4. var totalBullets = 1;
    5. var clips = 5;
    6. var AmmoTexture : Texture2D;
    7. var clipsTexture : Texture2D;
    8. var GunIcon : Texture2D;
    9.  
    10. var ReloadTime = 5;
    11. var ReloadSound : AudioClip;
    12. var FireSound : AudioClip;
    13. var EmptySound : AudioClip;
    14. private var reloading : boolean = false;
    15.  
    16. function Update()
    17. {
    18.     Fire();
    19. }
    20. function Fire ()
    21. {    
    22.  
    23.     if (Input.GetButtonUp("Fire1")  !reloading)
    24.  {
    25.      if(totalBullets > 0)
    26.   {
    27.    //animation.Play("startFire");
    28.    //animation.Play("endFire");
    29.    animation.Play("end fire", PlayMode.StopAll);
    30.    animation["end fire"].speed = 1.0;
    31.    FireOneShot ();
    32.    //Instantiate(explo, FireZone.position, transform.rotation);  
    33.  
    34.         }
    35.   else
    36.   {
    37.  
    38.    animation.CrossFade("idle");
    39.  
    40.   }
    41.   if (totalBullets <=0)
    42.   {
    43.    if (EmptySound)
    44.    {
    45.     animation.CrossFade("putaway");
    46.     audio.PlayOneShot(EmptySound);      
    47.    }
    48.  
    49.   }
    50.  
    51.     }
    52.  
    53.     if (Input.GetButtonDown("Reload")  !reloading)
    54.  {
    55.      Reload();
    56.  }
    57. }
    58. function Reload()
    59. {
    60.  //if (reloading)
    61.  //return;
    62.  
    63.  if(totalBullets <= 0)
    64.  {
    65.   if (clips >0)
    66.   {
    67.    reloading = true;
    68.    audio.PlayOneShot(ReloadSound);    
    69.    //animation.Play("putaway");  
    70.    yield WaitForSeconds(ReloadTime);
    71.    totalBullets = 1;    
    72.    clips -=1;
    73.    reloading = false;
    74.   }
    75.  
    76.  }
    77.  
    78. }
    79. function FireOneShot ()
    80. {  
    81.  Instantiate(grenadeFrag, FireZone.position, FireZone.rotation);
    82.  var bullet = Instantiate(grenadeFrag, FireZone.position, FireZone.rotation);
    83.  bullet.rigidbody.AddForce(transform.forward * -bulletSpeed);  
    84.  
    85.  if (FireSound)
    86.  {
    87.   audio.PlayOneShot(FireSound);
    88.  }
    89.  totalBullets -=1;  
    90. }
    91. function OnGUI()
    92. {
    93.     GUI.Box(Rect(0,Screen.height - 60, 30, 30), AmmoTexture);
    94.     GUI.Box(Rect(30,Screen.height - 60, 30, 30),"" + totalBullets);
    95.     GUI.Box(Rect(60,Screen.height - 60, 30, 30), clipsTexture);
    96.     GUI.Box(Rect(90,Screen.height - 60, 30, 30),"" + clips);
    97.  GUI.Box(Rect(130,Screen.height - 60, 60, 40), GunIcon);
    98. }

    Problem solved.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  10. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    8,194
    Yay!

    Just played through Angry Bots great game, liked the ending as well very....

    Now I just need to take it apart and work out how it was all done!

    Does it build for Android and iPhone?
     
  11. ole

    ole

    Unity programmer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Posts:
    56
    yes, for both
     
  12. bigkahuna

    bigkahuna

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,434
    Same here. Bug report submitted. Suggest you do the same so they can see it's a reproducible bug. Bummers, otherwise this has been a very solid release for me.
     
  13. RichardP

    RichardP

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Having issues with asset store under OSX 10.6.8, doesn't crash - but store is not displayed. Right clicking in the asset store window displays "localised string not found". I've posted a more detailed message to the support forum.
     
  14. nopcode

    nopcode

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Posts:
    67
    So, can we now expect to see the full Bootcmap project available, not just the limited little tiny bit that used to be in 3.3?
    The Angry Birds, I mean Bots, demo is different, but not suitable to show off what Unity can really do.
     
  15. I am da bawss

    I am da bawss

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,574
    Doesn't happen to me. But I only tested it on the OSX (10.6.8)
     
  16. magoghm

    magoghm

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    49
    I found out what my problem was. I had forgotten to upgrade to the new development webplayer plugin on the test machine. After upgrading I didn't have any more problems connecting to the remote profiler.

    From what I can see, most of the framerate improvement comes from faster rendering times. The number of draw calls hasn't changed so I guess we now have a lower overhead per draw call.
     
  17. vortex69

    vortex69

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    92
    It suddenly started working. Guess maybe the Asset store was overloaded and Unity stupidly decided to crash due to that, or something along those lines. Or maybe they fixed whatever the problem was.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  18. I am da bawss

    I am da bawss

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,574
    Yeh, I second that. I wish UT would release all the demo projects they featured on their front page since Unity 3 released. It seems there are very few demo projects released since Unity v3.0 came out - so far only AngryBot and BootCamp.

    I would love to see the Substance Camper and Image Effect Demos (and vaguely remember a "City" demo in early Unity 3 promotion) avaliable for download as Project. It would really help people to understand the new features and to play around with the projects. Unity 2 had a lot of demo projects to download, but Unity 3 seems a bit lacking.
     
  19. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,324
    I understand the desire to have us release every demo we make as an example project, but some of them are either too complicated or simply too messy to package up in a useful way for public consumption. However, there are a couple projects in the works that will be released soon. As far as Unity 2.x having more example projects just remember that it was around for 3 years vs 3.x's 1 so far ;-)
     
  20. HolBol

    HolBol

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Posts:
    2,887
    Ok, the release is great. It's a big shame there's no new indie water- we're stuck with the same old doesn't-fit-anywhere material, and water 4 won't work with free like water 3 did partially. Hmmm.

    I'm still getting the stuttering effect. It seems to have gotten bigger though.
     
  21. bigkahuna

    bigkahuna

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,434
    Hmm... same thing happened here. I still think a crash report is a good idea. The editor -shouldn't- crash. If the server is busy it should tell you that. I suspect that it might have something to do with opening the Asset Store for the first time, but I really don't know.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  22. saymoo

    saymoo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    850
    Two things i would have thought UT had changed for the 3.4 roadmap (especially when they want to become, the best player in the gaming tech market):

    Note: i still get the feeling that the free edition is more or less being disciminated/put away by UT, as a inferior/noobish product compared to the PRO. (since in many areas they ignore this free product in documentation and features)

    in example:

    - In free webplayer the watermark is still there. (that means twice the unity logo upon start, one for the initial loading (cannot be changed, thus forced), second the watermark (also forced) all together equals to something like 8 seconds of unity logo in view! absurd, and unfair, since the standalone applications only show the Unity logo upon initializing (4 seconds), and no watermark after that. So, either have the watermark and changeable initializing screen, or remove the watermark and keep the unchangable initializing screen. It's one of the two not both!

    - the more i fiddle with the webplayer building, and researching on the net about this topic, like forums/blogs (including reading experiences others have with unity and webplayer builds)
    I really do wonder: When are assetbundles possible with free? i woudl have thought UT had understood the way it isn't allowed is basically saying: "you can build to webplayer, but you can only use small scenes/maps, if you use bigger ones, your users needs either a very fast connection, or they have to wait ages for the player to load the scenes. You either support webplayer (fully) or you do not at all. (if you use a car, you have the wheels aswel ;))
    So, as you can see in many cases this is REQUIRED by webplayer builds to experience a fluent gaming experience anno 2011. I don't understand why this isn't allowed in free, it's not that special feature wise.

    Unity as a whole (pro including) is a nice piece of software, no doubt. Although as mentioned, i think UT needs to become more serious about both their little sister product (free) and big sister product (PRO) equally. The differences are too wide appart (becoming to look silly in business perpectives). The gap needs to be closed more. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  23. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Yeah its called buying pro, they need some reasons for you to purchase pro :)


    People using unity js, please, please read the changelog. Understand the differences and why there are now errors. Do get into the habit of reading whats actually changed when you upgrade a dev platform.
     
  24. DanielQuick

    DanielQuick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Posts:
    3,137
    If everything was available in Free, nobody would buy Pro.

    Simple as that.
     
  25. Stephan-B

    Stephan-B

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Posts:
    2,269
    Sweet!

    Looking forward to exploring all the new stuff.
     
  26. saymoo

    saymoo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    850
    I understand the theory behind the two licenses. And it's fine to not have all these non essential features (e.g. render to texture, occlusion culling, profiling etc) in the free version.
    I'm talking about the inclusion of the bare essentials.
    What i'm trying to say... If UT puts in a feature, all parts of that feature should be accessible, otherwise the feature is a placebo feature ( it's too crippled to become really productive/usable)
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  27. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    The bare essentials are there. you can make the same game in webplayer except it won't load as fast.

    Yeah how dare they put shaders in and you can't have realtime reflections because RTT isn't available. Gosh. How dare they put lights in at all because shadows aren't available. Oh my. How dare they put webplayer in and its not quite as fast.

    And so on. Get over it man.
     
  28. saymoo

    saymoo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    850
    And what about that watermark thing? (i brought up) ;)
     
  29. StefanoCecere

    StefanoCecere

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    the amazing AngryBots demo comes with 3.4
     
  30. Liatti

    Liatti

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Posts:
    63
    About substances: there's gonna be more that 550 substances available in the coming hours on the asset store, and some will be free. We are thinking indeed about making a "free sample package" so that people can test it.

    The Airstream project will be also available for free to download on the asset store, as a tutorial for using substance in real time.
     
  31. Dusho

    Dusho

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    saymoo has a point with big differences between FREE and PRO. If developer posts his game or demo made in free unity version without shadows, any post processing, etc. target group will just notice Unity logo and crappy graphics. And unless there is somewhere explanation that it was made in free version and only PRO version allows all the nice features, people will just move on thinking there is still long way to make is look like Unreal or Crytek engine.
    Mandatory logo in free version would be enough as a limitation (also limitation you could make freeware only).
    There really isn't point showing uglier version of Unity to the world.
     
  32. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    unity 3.4 finally got the long long standing unityscript compiler bugs fixed in relation to access limitation handling and its strict is now also really strict not decoration strict, so you need to cast where you want to get it to or it won't be of the desired target type but the base type.

    bling guessing due to the lack of line number its the bullet.rigidbody line as bullet is of type Unityengine.Object, not UnityEngine.GameObject unless you correctly cast it on the instantiate line or don't declare it as "dynamic var" but with var bullet : GameObject
     
  33. ProjectOne

    ProjectOne

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Posts:
    442
    where is AngryBots after you install 3.4?
    3.4 installed on top of 3.3 no problem here, I am looking at Unity folders but cannot locate the AngryBots demo

    Oh I can see it now, in the shared/unity folder, never mind.... oh it is in javascript, Yack! :) (Jk)
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  34. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    They aren't essential. They are eye candy and eye candy is only essention is the gameplay itself is bad and you try to make up for the bad gameplay (excluding stealth FPS). Good gameplay sells even without it, look at atmosphir, its a blockbuster basically and the visuals don't need Pro at all.

    People claiming that the lack of visuals prevents them from designing and creating a great game are just searching for excuses on why they lack skill, dedication or creativity to create a great game first at all. Eye candy stopped selling games many years ago unless you have 10 Million USD to go with AAA eye candy and a 0.5M advertisement budget to hype the crap as EA and Ubisoft do
     
  35. Zerk

    Zerk

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Im having the same issue. Any ideas on this yet?
     
  36. saymoo

    saymoo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    850
    You didn't read my post(s) carefully. Your comment is going indepth upon things i said, where not essential. You just repeated my post with different wording ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  37. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    *fail* :(

    Though definition of essential depends on the person.
    The only essential feature the free version is missing out of my view is Occlusion Culling, nothing else is essential to a unfunded game by hobbiests (the $100'000 turnover limit limits it to this type of users essentially), aside of naturally VCS but VCS is a feature thats designed at professionals doing it as their work and I doubt it will land on the free license for quite some time - it was already mentioned that the SVN and Perforce integration on the roadmap will be AS licensee only and I expect the plaintext instead of binary being bound to VCS enabled on the project (as it otherwise would essentially voiding the VCS limitation)
     
  38. pauloaguiar

    pauloaguiar

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    700

    Yep I fixed the problem whit the Frag Granade;)
    Problem in:
    var grenadeFrag : Rigidbody;

    modify to

    var grenadeFrag : Transform;

    tks.

    The rest of my game scripts is working fine until now:)

    I have an question for the unity team, or advanced users group:

    In the version 3.5 the pathfinder system is on free version or just for pro version or both??
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
  39. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Nope, they just think the developer sucks. They have most likely already seen a few stunning unity games. Angrybots will look pretty much the same on indie.
     
  40. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,401
    Probably won't be decided until sometime not too long before release.

    --Eric
     
  41. pauloaguiar

    pauloaguiar

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    700
    Most free indie engines comes whit soft shadows or basic shadows, i don´t see the reason to put only in PRO. That is just me:)

    And Assent Store to upload files sucks. For my openion the DX studio engines have easy upload files library, and organized.
     
  42. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    True but most of those engines take away 90% of the productivity in the editor, any expandability etc, which would castrate unity to 10 times less usable than losing eye candy.

    and unity has basic shadows, its called projector ;)
     
  43. larvantholos

    larvantholos

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Unity free does have basic shadows, just no real time shadows. You may not be aware, but you can use a basic version of beast, to also bake in shadows from your editor. Real time shadows can help with some visual appeal, but honestly a lot of the neat looking shadows we associate with better looking assets are baked light maps, and that is something you can do in unity, or any 3d modeling app you may be using.
     
  44. pauloaguiar

    pauloaguiar

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    700
    Yep that is true:)

    Now i just wait for the next release 3.5:) Until now i going finishing my work:)
     
  45. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    144
    I tried out the AngryBots game. Is it possible to change from 3rd person view to 1st person view? Is there supposed to be 64-bit version of Unity 3D? Will the car tutorial run on Unity 3D 3.4?
     
  46. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,794
    Wasn't FRACT made with Unity Indie?
     
  47. JRavey

    JRavey

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Posts:
    2,377
    The development screenshots appear to confirm that.
     
  48. pkid

    pkid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Posts:
    201
    Can substances be used on the terrain? I can't seem to get it to use a substance for terrain painting. That is really too bad if substances can't be used for dirt or grass textures.
     
  49. niosop2

    niosop2

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,059
    I don't believe so because the terrain system uses textures, not materials. But, you can export the texture that you create by setting the Substance parameters and use the texture.

    Or, it may be possible to directly use the generated texture in the terrain pallet, but I haven't tried it.
     
  50. pkid

    pkid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Posts:
    201
    That is unfortunate if true. It would defeat the whole purpose of using substances to save space for streaming games, at least as far as ground textures go.