Search Unity

Unity 2D Setting Background Image

Discussion in '2D' started by nkhajanchi.mg14, Mar 28, 2014.

1. nkhajanchi.mg14

nkhajanchi.mg14

Hi Community,

I am new to Unity and trying to learn 2D gaming for mobile platform (came from Flash/AS3 background). I need to set background image for my 2d game and its like my image size is 960(w)x1280(h).

What I need is that if device resolution is smaller than image than bg image should be centred and cut the extra part keeping 1:1 ratio.

If device resolution is bigger than image, in that case image should be stretched in RATIO, of course width or height whatever goes bigger will be cut out off display.

I tried using Skybox but it is stretching/shrinking my bg image in case of resolution which is different than my bg image's ratio.

I am looking for some automated way so that unity can handle this itself. But if there is no automated way than any manual width/height solution will also work.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

2. Dave-xP

Dave-xP

1) drag your image file into scene view to create a sprite
    2) set the scale to (x960 y1280 z0) and the position somwhere in the background
    3) use the scale tool to make it small again. (but keep the ratio)

Last edited: Mar 28, 2014
    Popliteus and davijack like this.
  3. DalerHakimov

DalerHakimov

Well, Unity does scale it automatically for any resolution.. Why would you worry about that? Did you at least try to run your background at different devices with different resolution??
    You need to set your camera properly.. Whatever you see in your camera, that you should have in output for any other devices.. The only thing would be a GUI, which you have to position depending on screenResolution, like getting the screenHeight and Width.. but for the gameplay I wouldn't worry, so far I didn't have any problems with cuttings in my first game...

4. nkhajanchi.mg14

nkhajanchi.mg14