Search Unity

Unity 2D - Need Help with Timer/Finish Line

Discussion in '2D' started by ArtNinJackson, Jan 13, 2020.

1. ArtNinJackson

ArtNinJackson

Howdy!

I'm pretty new to Unity and I'm trying to learn a very specific solution to a problem that I'm having. I want to build a game where the player must run time trials.

I have a working script that displays the timer, but I'm having trouble rigging a "finish line" up. I followed some tutorials but they don't seem to be helping (specifically this one:
    ). In the video his timer seems to stop as soon as it connects with the box, but for me, no such thing happens.

I know there is a difference between Unity in 2D and 3D, so maybe using a 3D box mesh here wouldn't be the best idea. I'm not sure. I'll include my scripts. Any help in this matter is appreciated! I'm also using Unity 2019.1.4f1, if that helps.

Attached Files:

2. Cornysam

Cornysam

So there may be a couple things here that are an issue. First, this is a 2D forum so if you are doing 3D, you should probably post in the Physics or Scripting forums. If you are using 2D sprites, then your function "OnTriggerEnter" in the FinishLine script should be "OnTriggerEnter2D(Collider2D other)" if you are using a BoxCollider2D or any other 2D collider.

Also, in the Timer script, you have a function called "Finish" but you never end up calling it. The issue here is that in Update you are checking whether the bool "finished" is true, but it will never be true until you call the Finish() function.

Another thing, you dont appear to be stopping the timer when Finish() is called. So when you check for finished to be true, even if you do what i advise above, nothing will have because you just have it return.

Try those suggestions and also add some Debug.Logs in your code so you can debug it easily.