Search Unity

Resolved Unity 2D Isometric Grid Based Movement Key Overlapping

Discussion in '2D' started by StiryMixy, May 5, 2021.

1. StiryMixy

StiryMixy

Hello, I'm fairly new to Unity. I'm trying to code a grid based movement system in an isometric tilemap, and for the most part it works, except for a little wrinkle:

Project Image:
    I was able to successfully code it in a way that it moves 1 tile on 1 press of a movement key (WASD), and moves continuously through multiple tiles upon a long press of any movement key (WASD) and stops on the center of any tile that it ends up on upon release of the long pressed movement key.

Code:
    The problem with the code is movement key overlapping (as I call it);
    • if I keep pressing "W", the player will keep moving up continuously,
    • but if I then press and keep pressing "A" concurrently with the "W" key, the player will not change course and still goes up.
    Image:
    In another scenario;
    • if I keep pressing "D", the player will keep moving right continuously,
    • but if I then press and keep pressing "A" concurrently with the "D" key, the player will change course and will move left in accordance with pressing "A" despite still holding "D",
    • and if I release "A" but still hold "D", the player will then change back to its original course of moving right instead of left.
    This scenario persists with other possible combination of "D" & "the rest" keys such as;
    • "D" and "S" pair, and
    • "D" and "W" pair.
    Image:
    So therein lies the problem of inconsistency in character movement, wherein sometimes I am able to change course regardless if I'm holding 2 buttons, but sometimes I cannot.

I want to get rid of this problem by coding it in a way that player direction will change with any possible combination of keys, regardless if it was long pressed & overlapping or not (prioritizing the last long pressed key), evoking a sense of fluidity in controlling the character.