Search Unity

Official Unity 2021 LTS Is Now Available

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by LeonhardP, Apr 5, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IOU_RAY

    IOU_RAY

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Posts:
    127
    Needed that laugh.

    Sadly I think it's just extremely poor management. A proper leadership can make an incompetent group malleable enough towards producing good work.

    When they went public with stock I knew it was going to get really bad. Management's priorities are likely geared towards plans from people thinking they understand business models yet have no clue about game development or who their customers actually are.
     
  2. R1PFake

    R1PFake

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    540
    I have a new problem with Unity and the attached VS debugger

    Actions:
    - Click in scene view
    - Hold right mouse button down and move the mouse to enable the "Flythrough mode" https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/SceneViewNavigation.html#flythrough


    Without attached debugger:
    -> Camera rotates around, as expected

    With Visual Studio debugger attached:
    -> Camera / Input seems laggy, sometimes it doesn't rotate at all and sometimes it "jumps" around a bit

    Did anyone else notice this?
    @sailro do you maybe have a explanation / solution?
     
    SideSwipe9th likes this.
  3. R1PFake

    R1PFake

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    540
    Im not sure if this is a Unity 2021 or Visual Stuido 2022 problem, but did anyone else experience this issue:

    The Visual Studio debugger (watch) doesn't "find" the generic argument type of a generic method when you set a breakpoint inside a generic method<T> it says "Can't find T".

    Adding typeof(T) inside the watch or immediate window doesn't work either, shows the same result "Can't find T" which is nonsense, because the breakpoint is inside the generic method, so T must exist, otherwise the code wouldn't work.

    The debugger will show the correct current type of T when the same code is executed inside a "normal" C# console application with a breakpoint inside the same method.

    Maybe it's just a project / solution setting that was messed up during the change to Unity 2021?

    The code itself still works the fine, it's only a debugger issue, so currently a workaround is to make a dummy variable inside the generic method and assign the type var dummy = typeof(T); then drag dummy variable in the watch and it will show the type. But that's a very annoying workaround.
     
    stroibot likes this.
  4. stroibot

    stroibot

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Posts:
    91
    Waiting for answer. It's so frustrating to debug when I can't use Unity\s methods + IEnumerate
     
  5. IgorBoyko

    IgorBoyko

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Posts:
    90
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,675
    We fixed the resolution note. Please check again :).
     
    IgorBoyko and DragonCoder like this.
  7. linkon900

    linkon900

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    You guys are haliriously nuts got me bamboozled
     
  8. DragonCoder

    DragonCoder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    1,696
    Yeah honestly, generally a quick comment with the reason when something is marked "won't fix", would be appreciated - and would have avoided a confusing situation here automatically :)
     
    IgorBoyko likes this.
  9. P_e_t_a_c_h_e_k

    P_e_t_a_c_h_e_k

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Posts:
    26
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2022
  10. IslandLabsKReguieg

    IslandLabsKReguieg

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Yaaay my first mention in this forum here and it got fixed immediately in the next release.
    upload_2022-6-8_14-9-11.png
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  11. MiTschMR

    MiTschMR

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Posts:
    487
    I have just today realized (due to an iOS build failing in XCode) that Unity 2021.3 LTS no longer has the "Auto Graphics API" checkbox for the iOS build target in Project Settings --> Player. The build worked fine in 2020.3.18f1, but after doing an upgrade to the latest LTS, it no longer works. I wonder why it is mentioned in the documentation and the screenshot (see here) if it isn't there anymore... One of the libraries uses OpenGLES as dependencies that now won't get added because default is only Metal and there is no possibility to change it. The only workaround for that is to manually include it in the XCode project via Frameworks and Libraries and selecting "OpenGLES.framework".
     
  12. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,624
    This is a bit more complicated 8)
    https://unity3d.com/unity/whats-new/2020.2.0
    We just left gles framework in the project, and somewhere in 2021 it was also removed. So yes, the result you see is kinda expected and you would need to add gles framework yourself.
    But manually tweaking xcode project is not the only option you have. You can tweak this in postprocess script, or, even easier, manually add gles framework in plugin inspector, like in the screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

    Noisecrime and MiTschMR like this.
  13. MiTschMR

    MiTschMR

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Posts:
    487
    I can confirm that this fixed the issue, thank you very much @Alexey !
     
  14. ZaneLou2020

    ZaneLou2020

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Posts:
    13
    Can't reference AnimationClip.
    I have a AnimationClipGroup, it is a ScriptableObject, it has List<NameAnimationClip> clips, NameAnimationClip has a AnimationClip field, when I add NameAnimationClip, i can't set it in UI. thanks
     
  15. nelisonOnta

    nelisonOnta

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    What's an LTS release? LTS is the release for creators who value maximum stability and support for their next project. This is our default release, and it's primarily recommended for creators past the preproduction phase of development who are about to lock in production on a specific version of Unity.
     
    iMer likes this.
  16. keeponshading

    keeponshading

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    937
    Since 2021.3.0 LTS and following releases up to 2021.3.4 i generated 3 456 567 456 Shaderfiles during build adressables and main build on HDRP. DX11 and DX12
    Is there any progress?
     
  17. optimise

    optimise

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2,129
    Failed to build Android runtime build at Unity 2021.3.6f1. It's working properly at Unity 2021.3.5f1.

    New Crash Or Exception Received FileNotFoundException: Failed to find $C:/Program Files/Unity/Hub/Editor/2021.3.6f1/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/AndroidPlayer/Tools\GradleTemplates\mainTemplate.gradle
     
  18. iMobCoding

    iMobCoding

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Posts:
    165
    Hobodi likes this.
  19. andrewpey

    andrewpey

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2022
  20. PanthenEye

    PanthenEye

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    2,068
    Consistently the worst LTS experience in recent memory. Every update fixes something critical but breaks something else just as important. They're even backporting new bugs to 2020LTS. Strongly considering downgrading to 2020.3.34LTS, if at all possible.
     
  21. PeachyPixels

    PeachyPixels

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    I was contemplating updating my two games from 2020 (LTS) to 2021 (LTS) but judging by these posts, maybe it's best to hold off.

    Looks like 2020 is supported until mid-2023, so I'll tackle the update to 2021 later this year when it has hopefully matured.
     
  22. DragonCoder

    DragonCoder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    1,696
    Would it cost much to try out?
    Keep in mind that all the users who it went flawlessly or with less than a day of amends, do not feel the urge to come here and write that :)
     
    PeachyPixels likes this.
  23. PeachyPixels

    PeachyPixels

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Posts:
    711
    That's a fair point :)

    I do agree somewhat. It may not cost money, but it's going to cost time. Time that is in short supply right now (I'm currently working on my third game, marketing my first & second and working on some website promotional articles & videos)

    It'll take time to update (at-least) even one game. Time to test most \ all levels & game play modes. Time to test all key features & sub-systems. Time to-do that across all three platforms the games support. Time to work out if there are any show stopping IDE bugs that need working around or fixing.

    I wouldn't normally test to that level when updating within an LTS stream, but when moving from one LTS stream to another it's a given.

    In the time I've worked with Unity (only four years) I've made three moves between LTS streams. There was little negative forum feedback (from what I remember) and none of the moves coincided with production releases.

    So I'm factoring all that in.

    2020 is stable and supported for another year, so moving to 2021 (LTS) towards the end of the year might just save me many days of time & frustration :)
     
  24. UnoSensei19

    UnoSensei19

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2022
    Posts:
    4
    upload_2022-8-12_13-36-15.png
    2021.3.8f1
     
  25. TheAnbari

    TheAnbari

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hold on busy for 3 day!
     
  26. sergioschiavo

    sergioschiavo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    28
    Is it just for me, or the last LTS (2021.3.9f1) is crashing like crazy? SThis is happening since I've upgrade from previous LTS interation. Every 30 minutes I get a crash. It's driving me nuts! LTS was supposed to be more reliable o_O
     
  27. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,675
    Could you share a dump from such a crash by any chance?
     
  28. Qleenie

    Qleenie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Posts:
    868
    I am getting immediate and persistent crash while entering play mode of a bigger scene of our project since upgrading from 2021.3.9 to 2021.3.11. Never had a crash before with that scene. Lots of usage of compute shaders, if this matters. Filed a bug report: IN-18255

    Message in Editor log:
    Assertion failed on expression: 'm_BuffersToBind[shaderType][bind].buffer == NULL'
    Crash!!!

    Update: To get extra sure, downgrading to 2021.3.9 -> no crash. So this seems to be caused by changes of either 2021.3.10 or 2021.3.11.

    Update2: Saw some traces of an older bug on the internet, which talks about using line renderer producing the message above. As a hint, I am using the new hair system which also uses line renderer. This might or might not be related.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2022
    jamima likes this.
  29. jaxx0rr

    jaxx0rr

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    23
    can you please add something to the auto-updates screen
    when I click download new version can you warn me that if I download that my project will not work in it?
     
    Unifikation and dri_richard like this.
  30. Qleenie

    Qleenie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Posts:
    868
    My bug report mentioned above was closed with the comment responded. The response was a generic list of things like “update gpu drivers” etc.
    but as mentioned, crash only occurs with 2021.3.11. Downgrading to 2021.3.9 is resolving the issue. So I highly doubt that it is a driver issue on my end.
     
    Unifikation, dri_richard and jamima like this.
  31. timerace

    timerace

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Posts:
    27
    Hello,

    Is there any plans to add fsr 2.1 support for 2021.3 hdrp?

    Thanks
     
  32. Tortuap

    Tortuap

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    137
    The Release Notes of 2021.3.12 has a lots of duplicated notes coming from Release Notes of 2021.3.11
    • Editor: Fixed case where Editor would crash when a selected renderer was deleted. (UUM-3249)
    • Editor: Fixed crash when opening scenes in builds that had missing Prefab sources. (UUM-2546)
    • Editor: Fixed dragging prefab with ctrl on linux. (UUM-1601)
    • Editor: Fixed inspector and documentation to reflect intended behavior. (UUM-2392)
    • Editor: Fixed SceneVisibilityManager exceptions when using shortcuts with no Hierarchy window. (1425103)
    • Editor: Fixed the "Auto-hide gizmos" preference in the Scene View page to persist value when reopening the editor. (UUM-7848)
    What's wrong ?
     
    IOU_RAY likes this.
  33. IOU_RAY

    IOU_RAY

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Posts:
    127
    They fix it three times before it's half fixed apparently.
     
  34. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    upload_2022-11-13_16-18-27.png

    in 2021.3.13 i changed the static options on an object to disable occluder and some other stuff for a window, and I've been caught on this for 10 20 minutes.

    This is the last section of the unity log that seems relevant. I haven't killed unity yet cause I'm not 100% sure when I last saved.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. [Worker31] Start importing Assets/_Project/_Materials/Textures/Substance/Cotton Jersey Sweatshirt - normal.png using Guid(cc7f8dc0ac0a6e341afc96c022bba951) Importer(815301076,1909f56bfc062723c751e8b465ee728b)
    2. [Worker25] Start importing Assets/_Project/_Materials/Textures/Substance/Cotton Jersey Sweatshirt - ambientOcclusion.png using Guid(bb95db61ad5349047938eacd190ddc98) Importer(815301076,1909f56bfc062723c751e8b465ee728b)
    3. [Worker25]  -> (artifact id: 'ff44f2e59a7934740337b6be72607ee7') in 0.012774 seconds
    4. [Worker31]  -> (artifact id: 'd759a9699263f4585528e21f602711c6') in 0.033930 seconds
    5. Asset Pipeline Refresh: Total: 0.026 seconds - Initiated by RefreshV2(AllowForceSynchronousImport)
    6. Asset Pipeline Refresh: Total: 0.024 seconds - Initiated by RefreshV2(AllowForceSynchronousImport)
    7. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    8. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    9. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    10. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    11. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    12. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    13. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    14. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    15. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    16. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    17. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    18. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    19. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    20. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    21. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    22. Registering precompiled user dll's ...
    23. Registered in 0.022700 seconds.
    24. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/ApartmentWindow1.prefab using Guid(f1f42264d9eebc84ebd23823b4551349) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: '9095d901a626219dd72e9d2f9f0ac60b') in 0.018361 seconds
    25. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/ApartmentOutside.prefab using Guid(f669115eeb0be054785a67dd5ba83bbd) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: '5bb8705bb1d28e507f19efc3bc8455b8') in 0.014575 seconds
    26. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/DistantApartmentBuilding.prefab using Guid(e013bafcc6384f14d8d84fc4c2574a38) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: 'd80b6afda02abf75cbecb6bc30244591') in 0.015392 seconds
    27. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/DistantApartment.prefab using Guid(2a5cf33d2d1a61c459f2b582a6b4a3c6) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: '741bea47d2dd57beb9001fbd4a3307aa') in 0.023659 seconds
    28. Refreshing native plugins compatible for Editor in 5.45 ms, found 52 plugins.
    29. Preloading 0 native plugins for Editor in 0.00 ms.
    30. Asset Pipeline Refresh: Total: 0.604 seconds - Initiated by StopAssetImportingV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions)
    31.    Summary:
    32.        Imports: total=4 (actual=4, local cache=0, cache server=0)
    33.        Asset DB Process Time: managed=0 ms, native=305 ms
    34.        Asset DB Callback time: managed=32 ms, native=266 ms
    35.        Scripting: domain reloads=0, domain reload time=0 ms, compile time=0 ms, other=0 ms
    36.        Project Asset Count: scripts=16933, non-scripts=30265
    37.        Asset File Changes: new=0, changed=1, moved=0, deleted=0
    38.        Scan Filter Count: 8
    39.    InvokeBeforeRefreshCallbacks: 0.000ms
    40.    ApplyChangesToAssetFolders: 0.059ms
    41.    Scan: 2.190ms
    42.    OnSourceAssetsModified: 0.065ms
    43.    InitializeImportedAssetsSnapshot: 65.902ms
    44.    GetAllGuidsForCategorization: 2.441ms
    45.    CategorizeAssets: 22.936ms
    46.    ImportOutOfDateAssets: 197.728ms (0.665ms without children)
    47.        ImportManagerImport: 175.105ms (101.606ms without children)
    48.            ImportInProcess: 73.449ms
    49.            UpdateCategorizedAssets: 0.049ms
    50.        ReloadImportedAssets: 9.301ms
    51.        EnsureUptoDateAssetsAreRegisteredWithGuidPM: 7.902ms
    52.        InitializingProgressBar: 0.004ms
    53.        PostProcessAllAssetNotificationsAddChangedAssets: 2.669ms
    54.        OnDemandSchedulerStart: 2.082ms
    55.    ReloadSourceAssets: 4.580ms
    56.    UnloadImportedAssets: 3.925ms
    57.    PostProcessAllAssets: 41.265ms
    58.    Hotreload: 256.983ms
    59.    GatherAllCurrentPrimaryArtifactRevisions: 2.247ms
    60.    UnloadStreamsBegin: 0.209ms
    61.    LoadedImportedAssetsSnapshotReleaseGCHandles: 4.021ms
    62.    GetLoadedSourceAssetsIDs: 27.387ms
    63.    GetLoadedSourceAssetsSnapshot: 5.141ms
    64.    PersistCurrentRevisions: 1.944ms
    65.    UnloadStreamsEnd: 0.064ms
    66.    Untracked: 6.616ms
    67. Asset Pipeline Refresh: Total: 0.004 seconds - Initiated by StopAssetImportingV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions)
    68. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    69. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    70. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    71. Asset Pipeline Refresh: Total: 0.004 seconds - Initiated by StopAssetImportingV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions)
    72. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    73. <RI> Initialized touch support.
    74. Registering precompiled user dll's ...
    75. Registered in 0.022362 seconds.
    76. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/ApartmentWindow1.prefab using Guid(f1f42264d9eebc84ebd23823b4551349) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: 'dbaae73735161fa53a2acbf41abb639c') in 0.015058 seconds
    77. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/ApartmentOutside.prefab using Guid(f669115eeb0be054785a67dd5ba83bbd) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: 'cb2bc48658798892f3a7ca18301b72c1') in 0.013473 seconds
    78. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/DistantApartmentBuilding.prefab using Guid(e013bafcc6384f14d8d84fc4c2574a38) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: '158d5846280f3045a0999422cc145a88') in 0.012625 seconds
    79. Start importing Assets/_Project/_Models/Objects/Apartment/ApartmentBuilding/Prefabs/DistantApartment.prefab using Guid(2a5cf33d2d1a61c459f2b582a6b4a3c6) Importer(-1,00000000000000000000000000000000)  -> (artifact id: '567613321cb0059ff0c9c53d6c0c0ab0') in 0.020091 seconds
    80. Refreshing native plugins compatible for Editor in 5.44 ms, found 52 plugins.
    81. Preloading 0 native plugins for Editor in 0.00 ms.
    82. Asset Pipeline Refresh: Total: 0.514 seconds - Initiated by StopAssetImportingV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions)
    83.     Summary:
    84.         Imports: total=4 (actual=4, local cache=0, cache server=0)
    85.         Asset DB Process Time: managed=0 ms, native=289 ms
    86.         Asset DB Callback time: managed=21 ms, native=202 ms
    87.         Scripting: domain reloads=0, domain reload time=0 ms, compile time=0 ms, other=0 ms
    88.         Project Asset Count: scripts=16933, non-scripts=30265
    89.         Asset File Changes: new=0, changed=1, moved=0, deleted=0
    90.         Scan Filter Count: 8
    91.     InvokeBeforeRefreshCallbacks: 0.000ms
    92.     ApplyChangesToAssetFolders: 0.174ms
    93.     Scan: 2.249ms
    94.     OnSourceAssetsModified: 0.051ms
    95.     InitializeImportedAssetsSnapshot: 65.011ms
    96.     GetAllGuidsForCategorization: 1.880ms
    97.     CategorizeAssets: 21.543ms
    98.     ImportOutOfDateAssets: 185.904ms (-0.680ms without children)
    99.         ImportManagerImport: 163.732ms (100.922ms without children)
    100.             ImportInProcess: 62.685ms
    101.             UpdateCategorizedAssets: 0.126ms
    102.         ReloadImportedAssets: 10.670ms
    103.         EnsureUptoDateAssetsAreRegisteredWithGuidPM: 7.668ms
    104.         InitializingProgressBar: 0.004ms
    105.         PostProcessAllAssetNotificationsAddChangedAssets: 2.712ms
    106.         OnDemandSchedulerStart: 1.798ms
    107.     ReloadSourceAssets: 4.396ms
    108.     UnloadImportedAssets: 4.249ms
    109.     PostProcessAllAssets: 30.296ms
    110.     Hotreload: 193.520ms
    111.     GatherAllCurrentPrimaryArtifactRevisions: 2.033ms
    112.     UnloadStreamsBegin: 0.101ms
    113.     LoadedImportedAssetsSnapshotReleaseGCHandles: 3.661ms
    114.     GetLoadedSourceAssetsIDs: 31.706ms
    115.     GetLoadedSourceAssetsSnapshot: 5.031ms
    116.     PersistCurrentRevisions: 1.695ms
    117.     UnloadStreamsEnd: 0.057ms
    118.     Untracked: -9.362ms
    Edit: After killing Unity there is no further logs.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2022
  35. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    I'm having a problem where my realtime reflection probes are rendering completely black, all of them.

    upload_2022-11-16_2-56-5.png

    This persists through reimport and reload. And i have no idea whats causing it all i did was bake lights. and they worked earlier.

    Baking them doesn't work either.

    EDIT: turns out this is related to an SSGI asset i was testing.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2022
  36. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    I am consistently having this problem randomly. it's never a minute hold up, it's basically a crash. it's in 2021.3.14 too.

    I could click literally anything, and basically unity is in a soft crash. I don't remember having this problem in Unity 2021.3.5.

    Like i pretty much have to kill and reload unity every 30 minutes to an hour. This is not a hardware issue, I have EVERY hardware advantage that should make anything take this long impossible.

    I've done full reimports, and there's no consistent pattern.

    upload_2022-11-23_4-0-24.png

    I haven't taken the time to see if it ever stops doing this.
     
  37. justtime

    justtime

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    424
    Hi there! I am transferring a project from 2020 LTS to 2021 LTS. I see a picture in the log on startup. Basically everything is working as before. Is it worth bothering with these errors?
     
  38. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    4 hours, I did a little work this morning, this popped up as i was simply rotating the camera so i decided to just leave it while I do some black friday shopping.

    Came home, still there.

    upload_2022-11-25_13-55-38.png

    Again the log doesn't give any valuable information.

    here's a download of it.
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/6dl6tau8zst98u1/Editor.log?dl=0
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2022
    PutridEx likes this.
  39. vertexx

    vertexx

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    379
    Looked at that 68 meg log. Basically it is saying "Go Back To Previous Unity Versions if you want to be a creator who values maximum stability and support for their next project." !!
     
  40. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    I swear whatever this is it's on a timer, if I leave unity open in the background for like an hour I'm guaranteed to get the problem after a click or two.

    I know this has been a problem for a while but not to this degree.
     
  41. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    Downgraded to 2021.3.12 and got a variant of the problem. I'll keep downgrading by version until the problem goes away I guess?
    upload_2022-11-27_6-28-29.png
     
  42. DragonCoder

    DragonCoder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    1,696
    Another way to go about it would be to strip the project step by step until you find the culprit. Or do you happen to have another project where this occurs and can compare whether you have any plugins or own packages in common?
     
  43. julian-moschuering

    julian-moschuering

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Posts:
    529
    2021.3.14f1 is crashing during ComputeShader compilation when creating an empty HDRP project. Manually reimporting all ComputeShader works.
    Crash dump attached.

    Are you aware of this issue?

    Code (CSharp):
    1. >    Unity.exe!JoinImpl<class core::basic_string<char,class core::StringStorageDefault<char> > >(struct dynamic_array<class core::basic_string<char,class core::StringStorageDefault<char> >,0> const &,class core::basic_string_ref<char>)    Unknown
    2.      Unity.exe!core::JoinArray(struct dynamic_array<class core::basic_string<char,class core::StringStorageDefault<char> >,0> const &,class core::basic_string_ref<char>)    Unknown
    3.      Unity.exe!ComputeShaderKernelKey(class core::basic_string<char,class core::StringStorageDefault<char> > const &,unsigned int const *,class core::basic_string<char,class core::StringStorageDefault<char> > const &,int,enum ShaderCompilerPlatform,class fixed_bitset<33,unsigned int> const &,struct dynamic_array<class core::basic_string<char,class core::StringStorageDefault<char> >,0> const &,int,enum ShaderCompilationFlags,bool,struct Hash128 *)    Unknown
    4.      Unity.exe!CompileKernelVariantJobForEach()    Unknown
    5.      Unity.exe!JobQueue::Exec(struct JobInfo *,__int64,int,bool)    Unknown
    6.      Unity.exe!JobQueue::Steal(class JobGroup *,struct JobInfo *,__int64,int,bool,bool)    Unknown
    7.      Unity.exe!JobQueue::ExecuteJobFromQueue(bool,bool &)    Unknown
    8.      Unity.exe!JobQueue::ProcessJobs(struct JobQueue::ThreadInfo *,void *)    Unknown
    9.      Unity.exe!JobQueue::WorkLoop(void *)    Unknown
    10.      Unity.exe!Thread::RunThreadWrapper(void *)    Unknown
    11.      kernel32.dll!00007ffaeddd244d()    Unknown
    12.      ntdll.dll!00007ffaef7cdfb8()    Unknown
    13.  
     

    Attached Files:

  44. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    So it turns out my issues were likely related to some kind of corrupted data that couldn't be fixed with Reimport. I redownloaded my entire project from the repo and the issue is gone.

    I don't know how or what corrupted data could have caused such a thing, but that seems to be the problem. It had nothing to do with the unity install itself.

    I think there should be a max time for that window to be up in case there's a failure like this. Cause clearly it's not capable of identifying the problem.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2022
    DragonCoder likes this.
  45. PanthenEye

    PanthenEye

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    2,068
    Data corruption seems to be the theme of this LTS release cycle from my anecdotal exprience.
     
  46. DragonCoder

    DragonCoder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    1,696
    What files do you have in the gitignore?
    The library directory, I assume?
     
  47. chemicalcrux

    chemicalcrux

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Posts:
    720
    I updated from 2021.3.9f1 to 2021.3.14f1. A few minutes after starting the editor -- I don't see any obvious trigger, although I have been working in the VFX and shader graphs a lot -- it slows to a crawl in edit mode.

    upload_2022-11-30_10-8-36.png

    Methinks it's only supposed to be doing this once, not every frame :)

    I found someone on Reddit talking about this about a month ago. We're both using M1 Macbooks, so that sounds like a common cause. I'm not seeing any (relevant) errors in the console.

    I'm going to downgrade to 9f1 and see if the issue goes away.

    EDIT: the upgrade wasn't it! It might be something to do with visual effects instead, given that I just started using those in the project today. Will keep poking around...
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2022
  48. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    yeah the library is not on the repo, i think i use a mostly standard gitnore.
     
  49. sacb0y

    sacb0y

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Posts:
    874
    I was seeing some strange behavior in the editor too, I haven't tested the game again but i was getting a ton of editor loop.

    Perhaps your problem is similar to mine?
     
  50. Abenthum

    Abenthum

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Still crashes with 2021.3.15f1 when creating an empty HDRP project.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.