Search Unity

Unity 2020 integration of Asset Store download and Package Manager

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by syscrusher, Aug 20, 2020.

1. syscrusher

syscrusher

Good day, Unity team!

I've just begun working in Unity 2020 for a new project, and am experiencing the Asset Store + Package Manager integration for the first time. Thank you for making this happen! The old "browser-like" download system was seriously broken, and the Package Manager works so very much better. I've been asking for this for several years (as have many others, I know), so now that it is a reality I wanted to express my appreciation.

For me so far, the new system works extremely well, and in particular the display of the asset list for a large library is astoundingly faster than the old system (on my usual ISP connection, it's nearly an order-of-magnitude improvement). There are only two minor tweaks I would like to recommend for the future, but these are fine-tuning something good rather than fixing something broken. :)
    • Please consider exposing the category filters as a full tree, matching the web UI, instead of just the top-level categories. This is especially significant for art assets, where there are so many different types and one is very likely to want to browse rather than already knowing the name of an asset (e.g., "I'm building an archviz scene and need some office furniture, so I want to browse the several 3D furniture assets I've purchased and select one or two that go with the building's architectural style.")
    • It is very helpful that one can filter for deprecated, unlabeled, or hidden assets, but please consider the two listed below. (Edited: These proposed filters can be somewhat accomplished with the sorting options, but I still think dedicated filter flags would be useful, especially alongside a "download all" action.)