Search Unity

Unity 2020.1 Lightmap and LODs - how does it work? How to fix them?

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by John_Leorid, Sep 3, 2020.

1. John_Leorid

John_Leorid

I think, within the last month, I hit the "Generate Lightning" button more often than the semicolon key - and I am a programmer ... (who has to do lightmapping now because we are just two guys working on this game and the leveldesigner is busy doing .. well .. leveldesign things)
    While the genrated lightmap gives pretty decent results overall, it works horribly on LODs.

Usually LODs, with the dithering fade HDRP provides, are completely invisible (awesome job, Unity Team! it works absolutely smooth) but once I bake the Lightmap, all LODs have a different brightness.
    LOD0 : grey
    LOD1: almost white
    LOD2: black

I tried lightprobes, changing the lightmap scale, using models with correct UV2, read a lot, placed lightprobes everywhere, added reflection probes, tuned the lightning settings up and down, created Custom Lightmap Parameters and tweaked them ... it seems impossible to fix this issue.

The one big question (besides how to fix this) is: Why calculating the lightmap for LOD >0 at all?
    It shouldn't matter if UV2 is setup correctly, the texels with the required lightning informations are already there .. it should be possible to simply find the nearest 3-4 texels on LOD0 and copy their information onto lower LODs, why would you start shooting new rays if the LOD-Models are basically at the same place?
    This would also gurantee that lower LODs don't change their brightness so drastically and reduce computation time extremly..

But ok, my main question is how to fix the Lightmaps on lower LOD levels?

Also ... some of the Docs say that lower LODs don't get any lightmaps at all and just use lightprobes but I think that are outdated informations.